We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A room with a view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Il Monastero

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ischia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Albergo Il Monastero
Save
You added Albergo Il Monastero to your Saves list
Castello Aragonese, 80070 Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 64 Hotels in Ischia
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A room with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

First impressions as we arrived at the castle really did say it all. It's spectacular setting overlooking Ischia from the sea is second to none - there's no way you could possibly better this - and for the price it was most definitely value for money. The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble, and they gave good advice and suggestions.

The lift up to the castle itself (walking up with luggage is not an option unless you're mad) is a little bit daunting - it's a tiny lift built well within the depths of the castle and is apparently prone to occasionally) breaking down (or so we were told).

The rooms are very basic, but if i'm really honest, you're not here for luxury or opulence - it's all about the view and the location, and you get that in spades. Saying that, our room was very clean and spacious, with air conditioning.

We only stayed one night - and to be honest that was enough for us. It's a bit of a trek to get to and from. After spending the evening in Ischia, we couldn't get in through the gate to the lift, so were essentially 'forced' to walk up the steps back to the castle. Be warned - there is NO lighting up the stairway - essentially a hazard if you had to leave in an emergency - and we had to use a torch on my iPhone.

The breakfast left quite a bit to be desired , but we found a similar situation across Italy.

But otherwise we had a fantastic stay and I would have no hesitation recommending it to a friend or family member. Ischia island is fantastic, so much to do and see - and would recommend it over Capri.

Room Tip: - Book early!! This hotel books up VERY quickly. We had a basic room but it did come with a view - c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    34
    3
    4
    4
See reviews for
13
138
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the Albergo Il Monastero and could not have been happier with our choice. The location cannot be described, the most amazing views and beautiful scenery. The staff was beyond helpful and the rooms were clean. The hotel is very serene and peaceful, perfect for a retreat. Our room was spotlessly clean and very basic, no television, not the most comfortable mattress, small bathroom, etc. But none of that mattered because wherever you were, be it in your room, the restaurant, the grounds, you had the most amazing views. We spent our days driving around the island and going to a thermal spa and then had dinner 1 night at the hotel. The ravioli was out of this world! I would recommend this to anyone traveling to Ischia for a unique and beautifully relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in the middle of June, one of first stops on a planned 5 week trip. Truly a special place because of the location, the views, the history and the quality staff. Had a private terrace which afforded a place to sit and soak up the view during the day, and the night lights of Ischia. Bathroom tiny with toilet almost in shower stall but who cares when you are in such a unique place. Makes it an adventure, and something not to be missed. Lots of steps from door to hotel to rooms, so you will need to be able to climb stairs.

Guilio set us up with a boat trip around the island, a rental car to go to the spa, and he was always willing to assist in whatever needed. Dinner at hotel delicious, ate eggplant which I thought I didn't like until then. It was a wonderful place to start our vacation. Don't miss it....

Room Tip: ask for a room with a private terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This hotel was unique, from the lift through the rock to get to the hotel, to the breathtaking views of the island from the terrace and rooms, to the impressive service and the beautiful food at the restaurant. We loved everything about this hotel but it was the fabulous service we received every day from the staff that made it special. The room was basic, no hairdryer for instance, but this didn't matter because everything else was so good. Make sure you explore the Castello Aragonese where the hotel is situated, the hotel is perfectly located to stroll into Ischia Ponte to explore its restaurants in the evening, make sure you ask about the discount hotel guests at a couple of the island's thermal spa resorts, we loved Negombo which was a short bus ride away and don't miss having an evening meal on the hotel's terrace with its amazing views -we had an outstanding meal there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura Hills, California
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My wife and I had a once in a life time experience staying at this magical castle. When we arrive we thought that this couldn't have been what we book on the internet - it seemed so unbeliveably great.

The views from hotel are breathtaking. The staff are very helpful and attentive. The restaurant is one of the best meals I had in Italy. Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer. My wife loved watching the seagulls soaring below the window in our room.

Walking around the castle was really an experience.

They were very helpful in directing us to the bus to the La Mortella Garden and they held our bags while we went.

It is worth the trip to Ischia just to stay here and the island is beautiful.

I watch the movie "The Talented Mr Ripley" after getting back home and there were several shots of this incredible castle/hotel in it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

It is a magical, peaceful, UNIQUE place. Like a dream. Food is fantastic. Location is fantastic. Surrounding area is fantastic. Wonderful island to explore. Price is very fair. On the realist side, there are stairs to climb-but it will be the best stair climing you'll ever take, getting to the island from the mainland of Naples can be an adventure in itself (take advise from websites on understanding locals and transit routes etc.). Been twice, once in 1997, a second in 2009 (not aug 2011, the latest this site allows). Can't wait to go back!! If you love history, architecture, culture, churches, spas, food, the ocean, Italy, shopping...what are you waiting for? The only place I would recommend 100%.

Room Tip: We had the double with a view, but the rooms just below had walk out to common terrace, and I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Staying at Il Monastero has to be one of the loveliest experiences I have ever had. I went with my husband on our honeymoon, and from being greeted to saying goodbye the staff made us feel so welcome and were extremely friendly and very polite. Nothing was too much trouble, and Giulio took so much time to tell us where things were on the island and how to use the local bus service (which we got used to in the end)! Thank you so much, Giulio, and all the staff, for making our stay so special and being so wonderful.
The location is absolutely breathtaking and so beautiful. I couldn't believe that we were actually staying in a castle!! I'd spent a long time looking at pictures of it all on their website, but when I actually got there it was even more overwhelming. The views are incredible, and being able to dine in the restaurant and have breakfast in the same part of the terrace every morning was amazing to say the least. The food was absolutely delicious. We had two meals in the restaurant - saving one as our 'final meal of our stay' dinner as it was such a special place. The chef is wonderful, and the dishes beautifully prepared. The breakfast was lovely as well - try the Breakfast Cake - it's amazing! The waiters are so helpful and polite, and very discreet - and were very encouraging and patient even when I was trying out my bad italian!
The castle is filled with so much history, it is an absolute joy to spend an afternoon - or a whole day - wandering around, and knowing that you're staying there makes it even more special. The room we stayed in had a french window leading out onto the terrace, and was very peaceful - we couldn't hear any noise from the restaurant at night. It was wonderful being able to walk out of our room onto the terrace in the morning for breakfast as it was very beautiful and very handy! Our room was spotlessly clean, had a very efficient air con unit and was tastefully presented - it would have felt wrong to have had any other style in such a historic place. It has been pointed out that the rooms aren't equipped with TVs, or any UK-style extras, however, when the location is as beautiful as it is and there being so much to do on the island I'm not sure why you'd really want to watch TV, and we really didn't miss anything at all. Ischia is nicknamed 'The Green Island', and with all of the boat trips and exploring we did, it was easy to see how it got this moniker.
It truly is an escape from everything. The hotel is so peaceful and calm, and the island itself is stunning. If you want to relax and get away from everything in a breathtakingly beautiful, unique hotel then I can't think of anywhere better.

ps - watch out for the cheeky seagull - he's curious, but loveable!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Il Monastero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Il Monastero

Address: Castello Aragonese, 80070 Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ischia
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Albergo Il Monastero Ischia
Albergo Il Monastero Hotel Ischia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Il Monastero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.