We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gardenia Mare

Gardenia Mare
Via Nuova Cartaromana, 68, 80077 Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
+39 081 991107
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 67 Restaurants in Ischia
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Chowder, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: WINTER CLOSURE. Reopens in May. There is a small sandy bay peeking the Aragonese Castle, where time passes slowly and enjoyable. You can pamper yourself at the beach or choose the lawn, swimming among the rocks of St. Anne and explore the beautiful seabed. You can relax amidst the scents of the garden and enjoy delicious Mediterranean cuisine of our chef, in the evening, for an intimate dinner and enveloping. The Gardenia every moment of the day is pure pleasure.
Assisi, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I could just say that, but I guess you want to know why. Gardenia is on the seafront in a hidden bay between the Aragonese Castle peninsula on one side and the Sant'Anna cliff filled with Mediterranean plants and bougainvillea flowers on the other. The access to the sea is either via a small sandy beach or the rocky end, but don't fear there is a small ladder to introduce you delicately to the blue waters of a very clean and calm spot. Also, highlight, there are floating chairs on which you can sunbathe dipping in now and then. As if this wasn't enough the bar and restaurant are lovely. The wicker and white décor is perfect for relaxing while looking down on the wonderful sea view and having one of the best fish lunches you can think of. The dishes on offer are fresh and perfectly served, with a creative twist to add to your day, like a sward fish carpaccio dressed with green apples julienne or the lemon and chilly marinated sardines. Take the taxi boat to get there and back, even if probably you will not want to leave.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardeniamare, Direttore at Gardenia Mare, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Google Translation
Gentile LisaGSiss,
grazie per la sua recensione. Contiamo davvero di riaverla tra i nostri graditi ospiti. Intanto buon sole dal Gardenia Mare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    23
    6
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roma
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Gardenia Mare has all the ingredients for a perfect summer day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Gardenia Mare: the restaurant has a great selection of fish dishes, the service was excellent and also the view from the terrace is magnificent: with a glance you can embrace the view of the bay that spreads out from the Castle.

It also have all the other ingredients of the perfect summer day: the sea is clean, the beach (sandy but with rocks in front) is well equipped, the view is beautiful and the restaurant is excellent.

If you want to get there, you can also easily reach it from the sea, taking a 10 minute breathtaking boat ride at Ischia Porto.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardeniamare, Direttore at Gardenia Mare, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Google Translation
Gentile haiku81,
grazie per la sua gradita recensione. Contiamo di riaverla presto tra i nostri ospiti. Intanto buon sole dal Gardenia Mare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful little find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We spent a beautiful day at Gardenia Mare on the wonderful island of Ischia last weekend. The beach is in a jawdroppingly gorgeous little cove that only pictures can do justice to. The restaurant too was fantastic, we had a fabulous array of seafood starters (and a few servings of their memorable homemade parmigiana) plus some pasta first courses that were all great (especially the spaghetti con le vongole). Our host rang first to book a few sunbeds as places are limited so I'd suggest doing the same. I'm told there are also rooms available if you need to stay overnight. Strongly recommended, a little gem.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardeniamare, Direttore at Gardenia Mare, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Google Translation
Gentile Deepster2,
siamo davvero contenti che si sia trovato bene da noi. contiamo di riaverla presto nostro gradito ospite. A presto e buon sole dal Gardenia Mare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gardenia Mare also viewed

 
Ischia, Isola d'Ischia
Ischia, Isola d'Ischia
 

Been to Gardenia Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gardenia Mare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.