We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Continental Mare Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Continental Mare Hotel to your Saves list
Continental Mare Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Baldassarre Cossa 25, 80077 Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 63 Hotels in Ischia
Essex, UK
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

We grew to like this hotel more and more over our 5 night stay. Like an earlier reviewer, we had room 119 and loved the huge terrace overlooking the sea. We were greeted at reception and told "you have a lovely room" and that is really what you want to hear after a long journey.

Before requesting this room (or 117/118), consider that there are 54 steps up to the 3rd floor of this building, with no lift. When you get there though, the view is well worth the climb. I would suggest choosing your room carefully as some appeared to have small terraces opening onto public walkways. Probably try for a sea or pool view if you can.

All in all, you do probably want to be reasonably fit to stay here. The larger of the thermal pools is set back up the hill and if you want to explore by Bus you need to get back up the hill to the bus stop. The lower pool is smaller and delightfully warm.

The walk into town through the gardens is only 10 minutes but ends with a 30% descent into the port. We managed the climb back up but there is the option to return by bus.

Much has been said about the requirement to order dinner choices at breakfast. Although this seemed odd at first, the advantages are that the evening meal is served very efficiently whether you turn up at 7.30 or 9.00. Also you don't find yourself having to choose for dinner what you also had at lunch.

Our room was clean and well maintained, reception was pleasant and the grounds are lovely. Against this we found breakfast a little disappointing and agreed with a previous reviewer who said that items in the buffet are not always replaced when they run out. The bar snacks at lunchtime were also disappointing.

Continental Mare has a lovely atmosphere and seemed popular with Italians. It was nice to have drinks charged to the room without ever being asked for a credit card first. Some may well argue that it a little short of 4 star standards but it was relaxed and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    53
    22
    13
    9
See reviews for
16
93
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

My wife and I really enjoyed our fortnight at the Continental Mare. Our room was in a little cottage a bit up the hill from the original 30s house and the separate building that housed the reception, bar and restaurant. Very quiet, all we could hear was the slapping of waves a long way below, together with the beautiful chirping and trilling of the local finches. Our room was perched up on the cliff and had a balcony with fantastic views across the Bay of Naples. It really had the WOW! factor.
All the staff were friendly and helpful, although some understood English better than others (when asked at breakfast on the first morning if we wanted coffee, we said "later please"; what turned up almost immediately was a huge jug of hot milk - the waiter must have thought we said "latte please").
The food was good and varied without being outstanding, but it is quite important to get in early: many buffet items at breakfast and dinner are not topped up when they run out.
Our room was cleaned and towels were changed every day, with sheets being changed every two or three days. The air con worked fine, but without instructions it did take us a while to get the hang of it.
The two pools are good. The lower (almost too warm) one is quite small, does not have much of a view, and gets quite busy. The upper one (quite warm enough) is less crowded and has a great view over the Bay.
Going down to Ischia by road is not much fun and quite a long way. The alternative footpath from the hotel gardens is much better, and gets you straight to the port, with tiny lizards dodging off the path all the way down.
We loved both Ischia Porto (newer) and Ischia Ponte (older), and also got around the island a bit, using two-week bus passes (25 euros each - but cabs cost 15 euros just to get from Ischia Porto to the hotel!). Well worth it, even though the buses are crowded at peak times. Also well worth getting to know all the bus routes.
The island is very green - partly because of the green volcanic rock that it is made from, but also because it does get its share of rain. We had a monumental Mediterranean night time storm half way through, and that must have "helped the garden" quite a bit. Every tiniest bit of land is cultivated, so all the hotel's fruit and veg are as fresh as you could want.
Day trip to Negombo spa was fantastic, with pools fed by hot springs coming straight out of the rock. La Mortella gardens are also a must.
We loved our fortnight and would certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

Excellent week spent in Ischia, a beautiful lush Island to see by bus found the taxi's over priced. The staff food clenliness and views at the hotel were outstanding. THe thermal pools were a great asset too. Cant wait to return. Give it a whirl.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

I have just spent a week at the Continental Mare in Ischia with my parents (69 and 74).

This hotel is beautiful with great views. We had very good rooms at the top of the main 'villa' style building - the stairs were steep and tiring but the views at the top well worth it and as we had both room 117 and 119 we had an enormous terrace between us.

We were half board and enjoyed a very good standard of food with a large buffet at breakfast with everything you could want and a choice of dishes for each evening meal. Other guests ordered dishes not from the set menu sometimes at a cost I think but everyone was catered for. The wines etc are not cheap (12 - 21 Euros - 25 for Prosecco) but no different than other hotels; we liked the Ischia Bianco from Pietratorchia.

The staff at the hotel were very helpful and friendly. My mother had locked her case and had no key(!) and we immediately had someone to break the padlock for her. I wanted to change rooms to b nearer to them and after the first night was moved next door to them (the room was occupied on the first night).

We got discounted entrance to Negombo (which is heaven with 22 thermal pools, private beach and massage) bought with cash from the hotel reception. They helped with information on buses too we bought a 7 day pass fom the bus garage.

All the staff including waiters, barman, porter, cleaners, gardener, reception and Manager were friendly jolly and helpful.

The only down side is the steep slope up to the main road if catching a bus (there is a short cut to the port from the hotel gardens). The walk is fine not a long distance and not a problem for those who are fit but for my parents it was a bit tiring - they did it but anyone less mobile would find this hotel quite difficult.

The two pools were good - the smaller one is warmer with a fountain over it, the larger one is cooler and up in the hill. The larger one had some damage the day we arrived but this was repaired by the next day.

Do visit La Mortella gardens if you go they are beautiful and the tea room is lovely. Negombo as I said before is stunning - so wish I was there now.

I cannot praise the Continental Mare enough for their help, kindness and professionalism during our stay.

Grazie!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

Just arrived back from a relaxing 2 week stay. The hotel was clean, friendly & spacious and the room was excellent, we would suggest that you pay the extra for a sea view as these rooms looked to be nicer.

The food in the restaurant at nights was good, but having to order in the morning became repetitive towards the end of the stay and we tended to forget what we'd ordered. We would suggest you occasionally exchange the evening meal for the lunchtime buffet and eat at 'Gennaros' in the port (around a 20 minute walk) or at the 'Mirage Hotel / Restaurant' (around a 15 min walk up the hill), both will cost upwards of 80 euros for 2 without wine. This will break up the monotony of eating in the restaurant.

The location of the hotel is great and the walk down to the port was fine, although the walk back can be a bit tiring, however the bus takes less than 5 mins, we wouldn't advise catching a taxi as these tend to be very expebnsive (15-20 euros from the port).

Both the pools, the grounds and the communal areas within the hotel were spotless and at times we had the larger pool to ourselves for the whole day.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

hotel amazing but beware if you eat the lunch when you arrive you will be charged 50 euros for 2 people check your hotel bill early. Cheap wine in local supermarket, Food and service at hotel excellant, amazing views would recommend

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

We stayed here for 7 nights for our honeymoon during the 1st week of June. We had a lovely room with a panoramic view from our balcony across the bay of naples. We were delighted with the hotel. Our room was very clean and spacious and both the room itself & bathroom were cleaned everyday. The hotel was quiet during the day as most guests were on excursions so frequently we had the whole swimming pool to ourselves. This was utter bliss. The hotel as a whole had an informal friendly atmosphere but without losing the quality of a good hotel. The staff gave the impression that they all got on very well and were always smiling and helpful.(particularly the barmand 'Genaro' ).
The food at the hotel really was delicious and every night we ate something different and always tasty - the views from the restaurant are lovely.
The only negative point to this hotel is that if anyone is less able to get around they may struggle as there are a lot of steps.. Also - the hotel drinks can be a little pricey; the hotel puts drinks and extra's on your room throughout the week so take care to keep track of your bill as it could be a bit of a shock at the end of the week!
All in all though we had an amazing honeymoon and we cannot recomend this hotel enough and would certainly return there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Continental Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Mare Hotel

Address: Via Baldassarre Cossa 25, 80077 Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ischia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ischia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Continental Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Continental Mare is situated on the hillside below the main coastal road approximately two kilometres from Ischia Town and from the resort of Casmicciola; frequent local buses run along this road. The hotel is set in extensive, lush gardens‚ with stunning views over the Gulf of Naples and Italy’s coastline. The island of Ischia is the incarnation of natural beauty and is the perfect place to relax and rejuvenate with one of the many spa treatments available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Continental Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Mare Ischia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Continental Mare Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.