We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Strand Hotel Delfini

Save Saved
You added Strand Hotel Delfini to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Strand Hotel Delfini
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nuova Cartaromana 68, I-80077 Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 65 hotels in Ischia
Naples, Italy
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Situated in Carta Romana the Strand Hotel Delfini has one of the most beautiful views of Ischia.
Very beautifull room with a wonderfull view of the castle.
Excellent food in the restauraunt
Excellent service

I will go back as soon as i can

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    485
    204
    41
    47
    54
See reviews for
134
488
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The hotel is a bit far from Ischia Porte.You can take bus no. 7 or 13 from the bus stand which will drop you at the gate of the hotel. You have to buy tickets (1.9 Euro for 90 mins) before boarding the bus. The standard rooms are in deplorable condition so opt for only Deluxe Rooms preferably on 2 or 3 floor to get a good view of the sea. Do not expect hotel staff to carry your luggage. Other than that the service is good. They upgraded us to Deluxe Room for one day as we were very unhappy with our standard room (Room No. 17) as it was smelly & damp and did not have any view.
Breakfast is average. On second day of our stay the breakfast served was mostly the leftovers from the previous day and nothing was replenished. The buffets are expensive and not worth.
The best part of the hotel apart from ttheir location, is their THERMAL WATER SPA which is free of cost.

Room Tip: Book only Deluxe Rooms preferably on the 2 and 3 floor for amazing view. Avoid room 17 & 20 inca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

None of the help ever said hi..beautiful views but such a cold feeling at the hotel. For 5 days they never fixed our air conditioning..they lied everyday with excuses and refused to move us from our highest paid suit. Every time there was a wedding with lots of noise..they took furniture from our Rommel for the wedding and never brought it back. Sorry to say this hotel has the worst service on the island..do not stay here's....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Our stay was not bad but we would not go back. Here is why:
1. Hotel website and description of packages raised our expectations but what we found was different and not as advertised.
2. The rooms are smaller than they look on the site.
3. The service is quite bad, certainly for American standards.
4. The package described products and services that were not available at the hotel but at another resort off-site. I actually had to insist with the proprietor in order to receive a free shuttle service to the harbour, which was included in the package.
Good points for:
1. Excellent food in the restaurant.
2. Great location right by the sea (uncommon in Ischia)
4. Overall quiet.

As I said, we would not go back but we could recommend it to budget tourist who come across a discounted offer, as long as they understand that all the spa treatments offered in the package are not available at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view on the main building, not the building below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We have just returned from our 2 week honeymoon (Sept 2011). We had 2 nights in Rome and 6 nights in Sorrento before arriving at Hotel Delfini for 4 nights. At the other 2 hotels the staff went out of their way to look after us and the service was exceptional. And then we arrived at hotel Delfini.

The staff were the most unfriendly, unhelpful, rude people we have ever come across. The only information we were given at check in was how much extra we could pay for lunch and dinner at the hotel. No info on anything about the hotel, where it was, how we get to the main parts of ischia... and certainly NO MENTION about our honeymoon.

The staff had no English, which made it extremely difficult. Even when we did feel like complaining we couldn't. In fact, we were barely spoken to after we had checked in.

The few staff there were on 2 of the 4 days were openly arguing by the pool and in the restaurant at breakfast. The "lifeguard/swimming porter" shouted across us and stormed off. Not the relaxing environment we had in mind for our stay.

We were also outraged that there was no way of getting a drink/snack by the pool or "beach". You had to get dressed and sit in restaurant and pay 18 euros per person for a very basic buffet salad lunch. The lack of customer service was just unbelievable.

The restaurant as said before, was crammed full of tables and very untidy. The breakfast was very poor- cold scrambled eggs and stale rolls. They would even clear away the food while you were still trying to eat it. We only ate lunch there one day and that was also extremely poor.

When we were not lying by the pool we spent as much time out of the hotel as possible as we did not feel welcome. It was also very noticeable that the Italian guests of the hotel were looked after very well. We saw their bags being carried up/down all the stairs on check in/check out. We barely got a goodbye when we checked out.

The only positive thing I have to say about this hotel is that our room was very nice. We had a big jacuzzi bath and a fantastic shower, with a balcony overlooking the sea.

The mini bar was never re stocked though, which was a pain.

On our return I have been onto the hotel's website and not a SINGLE word on there is true. There is certainly no shuttle service. In fact, reading the website made me really really angry!!

I would not recommend that anyone stay in this hotel. The only part of our honeymoon where we didn't feel happy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capricorno432, Scotto rappresentate della direzione at Strand Hotel Delfini, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
Dear Guest, sorry that your stay is not 'state of his gradimento.Sicuramente take note of some of his advice to improve further the quality of our very servizi.Mortifica his opinion the work of our staff and our staff is always attentive to the needs of struttura.L of our guests 'hotel and has been widely recognized, and' certificate for the quality of services offered by an entity with proven experience in the world. Our headquarters and 'chosen every year as a location to shoot films, all because of its haunting beauty naturale.La kitchen and' mentioned on the main newspapers as excellent, obtaining important awards and premi.Non I want to add more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woudenberg, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

we stayed in Delfini from august 31 - september 6, 2011.
upon arrival at 17.00 hrs there was no room available. Had to wait 90 minutes. Very limited explanation given. No excuses. Only 1 person good english speaking, but he was not always available. No drink-foodservice at beach. No towels at beach/pool. Former pool bar closed and in deplorable state. One person runs restaurant. One person for (small) bar service. Breakfast buffet-table (fm 07.30 pm) disorderly, restauranttable(s) mostly untidy. Bathroom: armature and toilet-seat loose. When bath filled to rim, foam became brown (??!!...)
Room: no glasses, fridge half filled, no new supply.
Check-out: wanted bill payment evening before we left because of early departure. Was not necessary.....* Result: at 06.30 am check with many mistakes and no possiblitiy to check the check. That same responsable employee (*) started at 08.30......

General: reception/administration is open space behind counter, 10 m2, with sometimes 4 persons working (daytime). Only barkeeper, restaurant guy and roomcleaning can be recognized by their uniform. Very confusing who is resonsible for what, who has authority, where to go to with your complaints.
One restaurant room open during lunch- and breakfasttime, crammed with tables. In our room were all loose articles removed, even closetdoors (if they ever were there). Internet site must be years old (very nice) and not reflecting the actual situation. Beachpier a.o. of multiplex boards, green upholstery removed. No real beach and no shuttle service. Very misleading site. Understaffed hotel witch definitely cannot have 4 stars.

Conclusion: after arrival we felt like moving to another place but because of the short holiday (6 nights) we did not. We paid the bill (which was not correct) otherwise we would have not made ferry/plane, be we are very disappointed and feel ripped off.

Johan and Katja Stokkers, Woudenberg, the Netherlands

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capricorno432, Scotto in qualità di direttore replica at Strand Hotel Delfini, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
Dear Guest, sorry that your stay is not 'state of his gradimento.Sicuramente take note of some of his advice to improve further the quality of our very servizi.Mortifica his opinion the work of our staff and our staff is always attentive to the needs of struttura.L of our guests 'hotel and has been widely recognized, and' certificate for the quality of services offered by an entity with proven experience in the world. Our headquarters and 'chosen every year as a location to shoot films, all because of its haunting beauty naturale.La kitchen and' mentioned on the main newspapers as excellent, obtaining important awards and premi.Non I want to add more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

when you get one of the following 6 rooms (#15,16,20,22,26,29) than you get a filthy, poorly equipped (in part broken) at best 3 star instead of the booked 4L star room. Those rooms are outside the main building (no access security), considering that some of them have no window, you are forced to keep your door open if you want some fresh air or a view (viewing and entering the room goes through the same door), a very inconvenient reality. The rooms are partially on the pool maintenance level which provides an intense chlorine smell. You have mould in your bathroom, stained bedclothes, a fridge that is heating, a broken tap…… and the sun beds were stored just in front of our room.
‘you got this room for a very cheap price via internet’ was the response from the management after our complaint . Eventually we and our friends got new rooms, which had a better standard, still not 4L. rooms are dirty, a broken door handle, shower malfunction………. and on the check out day a broken elevator (no help with the language) and only cold water.
The strandhotel Delfini has NO strand!!! You have wood tiling, or some sand behind a wall, instead; a non operational ‘strandbar’; no strand bath towels; no ‘strand’ or pool service.
Lipstick on cups, stained cutlery, dirty plates, and eventually a very poor breakfast buffet, are an everyday experience.
Eventually on our last evening an italien marriage party took place with a very high noise level till 0230am.
The hotel is on a very nice location, but needs a main renovation and a professional management.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capricorno432, Scotto in qualità di rappresentate della direzione replica at Strand Hotel Delfini, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
Dear Guest, sorry that your stay is not 'state of his gradimento.Sicuramente take note of some of his advice to improve further the quality of our very servizi.Mortifica his opinion the work of our staff and our staff is always attentive to the needs of struttura.L of our guests 'hotel and has been widely recognized, and' certificate for the quality of services offered by an entity with proven experience in the world. Our headquarters and 'chosen every year as a location to shoot films, all because of its haunting beauty naturale.La kitchen and' mentioned on the main newspapers as excellent, obtaining important awards and premi.Non I want to add more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Strand Hotel Delfini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Hotel Delfini

Address: Via Nuova Cartaromana 68, I-80077 Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ischia
#15 Luxury Hotel in Ischia
#16 Romantic Hotel in Ischia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Hotel Delfini 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most exclusive spots on the whole island of Ischia awaits you for a holiday amid the wonders of the nature surrounding us, without having to do without the comforts of a more central area.The Hotel Delfini is like a jewel set between greenery and sea, overlooking the Cartaromana bay with its famous natural thermal pools, Sant’Anna rocks, the fifteenth century Guevara Tower and the Aragonese Castle’s ancient manor house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Strand Hotel Delfini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Hotel Ischia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strand Hotel Delfini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.