We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous 5 star experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Durrueli

Best prices from these 7 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Villa Durrueli to your Saves list
Villa Durrueli
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Traversa Vincenzo Mirabella, 27, 80077 Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Ischia
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous 5 star experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed here last week with my Mum. We had a superior room so it was large with a large balcony and it had a sunlounger and table and chairs on it with fantastic views of the castle and sea.
The staff are extremely professional at all times on reception, at the bar and in the restaurant.
We stayed on a half board basis and I would recommend this as the hotel restaurant is 5 star quality. The food is fantastic and the staff will do anything for you and provide an excellent service. There are 3 choices of starter and main each night and there was always something different and to suit all tastes. There are or'derves every night which you could help yourself to before your starter with bread and eat as much as you wanted. These were amazing.
The one thing I would point out is that the wine in the restaurant isn't cheap and you will pay about 25 euros a bottle but the wine is lovely! Breakfast is also good, choice of cereals, toast, gorgeous pastries, ham/cheese if you want this and also yoghurts.
There is wifi in reception areas.
We went in the spa once, this was lovely but the weather was so lovely we wanted to spend all our time outside. There are also 2 hot tubs by the pool area which are nice to sit in.
The pool area is clean, the bar will bring your drinks to you which we thought was very good.
There was no fighting for sunloungers, you could always get one. The pool area was quite quiet at times, not sure if time of the year or just because it is a smaller hotel.
I would recommend staying here if you are a couple really wanting to get away from it all. I went with my Mum but we still enjoyed it and didn't feel isolated. There weren't alot of English people there, mainly Italian and some German but we liked this and the age range was mainly middle -older couples. It is not for groups of young people and might not suit some younger couples.
The hotel is in a great location, 5 minutes from the castle, right near the bus stop and not far to the port. It is located at the end of a quiet road so even though central it is extremely quiet.
The beds in the room were a little hard but we got used to this and it wasn't that bad.
Would definitely recommend Ischia- best Island I've been to

Room Tip: choose superior if you can afford as bigger. ask for room with sea/castle view on top floor. anythin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durrueli, Direttore at Villa Durrueli, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

thanks once again to sharing your impression about your long stay at Hotel Villa Durrueli Resort & Spa. The extremely professionality of all our staff is the result of a constant work done day by day, by our side; this is the real reason we are very proud to be a part of Hotel Villa Durrueli Resort & Spa!

I hope to see you again next year and I send my

Best Regards,

Filippo Cervera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    131
    36
    17
    10
See reviews for
64
310
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Villa Durreli and we will be returning, the location, food and most important, the staff ensured that we had the most relaxing holiday we have ever had. Every member of staff went out of their way to ensure we were happy and comfortable, special mention must go to Stefania, Mario (Thank you for the Mandolin CD) and Raphaeli (Maitre de) who made our last night so special. The Chef provided a delicious choice of food every night, a mix of local specialities, fresh pasta, fresh fish and a very tempting dessert. Whilst our room was a little small it did provide us with an very good view of the Castell Arogonese and the bay, it was also spotlessly clean. Free use of the Spa topped off an excellent week.

Room Tip: High floors on the pool side offer the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durrueli, Direttore at Villa Durrueli, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

first of all, thanks to sharing your so kind review regarding your long stay at Hotel Villa Durrueli Resort. Your so nice and genuine words make us feel good and for this reason we are oriented doing our work better.

Best Regards,

Filippo Cervera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

just returned from a 2 week stay we loved everything about our holiday . Mina the thompsons rep met us at Naples and looked after all her guests in an amazing way, the best rep we have ever met She is an absolute gem and a real asset to thompsons so helpful,kind and a great knowledge of her native island.. The hotel and all the sfaff amazing. Special mentions to Mario the bar manager ,Raphael the restaurant manager ,Marco &,Sara .The food was great, fantastic chef, every night was special especially our last night what a desert thanks Raphael.The hotel rooms and pool area were spotless and what a treat no guests reserving sun beds.We will be returning to the hotel next year we had a fantastic holiday thanks to all the staff. cathy & mike liverpool

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durrueli, Direttore at Villa Durrueli, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

first of all I'd like to send our thanksgiving to share your review. In effects we try to propose an excellent service in all our hotel departments, especially in food & beverage, our greatest strength. All our staff and business partners, are strictly engaged to offer a great welcome to our customers, this is the real reason of our outcome.

Thanking once again to choose Hotel Villa Durrueli Resort for your vacation in Ischia, I hope to see you again next year!

Best Regards,

Filippo Cervera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Having previously stayed in two five star hotels in Ischia and having debated whether to go back to one of those for our sixth visit we eventually opted to take a cheaper weeks holiday at the Villa Durrueli as a spring break from the awful weather in the UK.

Looking at previous reviews we weren't quite sure what to expect but thought that as friends had given the hotel due praise it should at least be acceptable. Tastes differ as can be seen by the TA reviews so we still had a degree of uncertainty that we had chosen well.

One thing friends advised was that we should book one of the refurbished top floor rooms which we duly did and were allocated one with a fine sea view.

Everyone to their own as they say and, unlike some previous reviewers, we found the room to be attractively furnished. We also found the bed to be extremely comfortable. On two occasions there was an absence of hot water for showering but that was forgiven as the overall enjoyment was good.

The areas surrounding the hotel were generally acceptable although a mainly unused roof terrace, rooftop sitting area and a closed roof bar could do with a bit of TLC and creativity making it an obvious option for relaxation other than the pool area.

The food was excellent but it should be noted, for those with tastes more suited to comfort eating than food of a high culinary standard, that the dishes might not be what they are expecting, The food was more 'Nouvelle Cuisine' than 'comfort' but having said that there was never a feeling of being underfed, more a feeling that we had just eaten in a very classy restaurant.

Dinner consisted of an excellent buffet first course(reduced in selection on one evening probably because of reduced numbers of diners) followed by a second course, typically soup, pastas, risottos etc and then by a main course usually one fish choice and two meat choices, all done with typical Italian simplicity. Sweets were mainly cake based, fruit based or ice cream and all food was presented with great style.

Breakfast was a wide assortment of breads, Croissants, cereals, meats , cheeses , jams etc and as a concession to those wanting a hot breakfast, sausages, scrambled egg and bacon were available. The hot food was always only warmish but was perfectly edible . It seemed that as the lid of the server containing the items could not be easily raised it tended to be left in the uncovered position and hence the heat was not retained.

Breakfast was accompanied by fruit juices, tea and coffee. Comments have been made previously regarding the coffee and I would rate this as no more and no less enjoyable than coffees found at many other hotels I've stayed in. The orange juice and corn flakes immediately got my 'pass' vote.

The staff were all very hospitable and welcoming.

Whilst the days were warm the evenings chilled a bit and I can appreciate that the garden bar might not be immediately attractive at this time of the year ( May) but in June July and August it would make for an pleasant place to have an after dinner drink.

Where did the previous five star stays score over this hotel, well it would have been nice to have a comfortable lounge with an adjacent bar for after dinner relaxation but apart from that we came away thinking very seriously about choosing this hotel for our late summer holiday as well.

In summary then, we had a comfortable clean environment in a very good location and found it to be a hotel with a sense of calm around the swimming pool. Overall a great experience for a holiday at this time of the year. Coupled with that Ischia is one of the most beautiful islands you will ever visit with the typical Italian traffic chaos which somehow adds to rather than detracts from the character of the area.

Our holiday was arranged by 'Thomson Holidays' and Mina once again looked after us with her infectious enthusiasm during our stay on the island.

Room Tip: High level rear rooms have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durrueli, Direttore at Villa Durrueli, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Customer,

your review especially affects our feeling, and I'm personally proud that you vacation was fine!

I hope to see you as soon as possible.

Best Regards,

Filippo Cervera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We commenced out trip to Italy with a 2 night stay at Villa Durrueli. We received a warm welcome from the reception staff, whom throughout our 2 day stay were ever so helpful. We did not eat dinner in the Hotel, however breakfast was amazing, and staff were so helpful. A good hearty breakfast was served.. which included scrambled egg and bacon, which we got no where else on our 1 week trip to Italy. The bar in this hotel was not very inviting. This was the only area of the hotel to offer WIFI and it just wasnt very cosy, like most reception areas.

Room Tip: We did not have a sea view room, however we were looking out to a nice park.... Our room was beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durrueli, Direttore at Villa Durrueli, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you to sharing your review. I am very happy that your vacation was so good!

I hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Filippo Cervera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Villa Durrueli at the tail end of our holiday and it didn't quite live up to the promise on the website and in Trip Advisor reviews. There were positives -- a large clean room, excellent pool and spa facilities and friendly staff. But the negatives outweighed the positives. Breakfast was disappointing - coffee was dreadful, fruit came from a tin (we think) and eggs and sausages were tepid and had sitting there fir hours. There was only internet access in the reception area, not in the rooms as promised. This might sound like nitpicking but given the four star rating and the price bracket, we had expected a lot more. Our Trip Advisor ranking is probably too generous - it probably deserved 2.5 (if that was possible) rather than 3.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durrueli, Direttore at Villa Durrueli, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

first of all I'd like to thank you to sharing your reviews. I really don't understand where are written " WIFI in the room " beacuse in all web sites is highlighted " WIFI in the lobby, and internet services available via LAN cable in the room " . About breakfast service I'd like to inform you that all the amenities are strictly controlled step by step before, and canned fruits is obviously, a product, I personally found in all 4 stars hotel also in UK, with the difference that we have in to our buffet breakfast, daily season fresh fruit.

Best Regards,

Filippo Cervera
General Manager


Ma gli aspetti negativi compensati dai lati positivi. La colazione è stata deludente - caffè era terribile, frutta proveniente da una scatola (credo) e uova e salsicce erano tiepidi e aveva lì seduti fir ore. C'era solo l'accesso a internet nell'area della reception, non nelle camere come promesso. Ciò può sembrare come fare i difficili ma dato le quattro stelle e la fascia di prezzo, ci aspettavamo molto di più.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Definitely a great place to stay in Ischia. It's half way between the main shopping street & Castle; both being easily walkable.

The staff are fabulous ; very friendly & helpful. The restaurant is divine; you won't need lunch after the amazing breakfast spread, and you don't want to fill up before dinner.

There is a great spa, free Wifi and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. A winner on all fronts.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durrueli, Direttore at Villa Durrueli, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

first of all I'd like to thank you to sharing your experience at Hotel Villa Durrueli Resort & Spa in Ischia Island. Of course our Restaurant style is excellent and I personally thank you again. A range of menu items are perfect to eat at our little dining room.

Best Regards,

Filippo Cervera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Durrueli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Durrueli

Address: Traversa Vincenzo Mirabella, 27, 80077 Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ischia
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ischia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ischia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ischia
#11 Family Hotel in Ischia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Durrueli 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to La Mandra Beach and the ancient fishing village of Ischia Ponte, Hotel Villa Durrueli Resort offers a thermal swimming pool and a spa center. The grounds are full of exotic plants and flowers. The Resort overlooks the pine forest and has a fantastic view of Ischia's Castello Aragonese. Guests can relax on the sun terrace, take a dip in the large, thermal pool or in one of the smaller pools with hydro-massage and aromatherapy. Rooms are complete with all modern comforts, including free high-speed Internet access and wifi. Some rooms have a balcony or furnished terrace and an LCD TV. The spa center was opened in 2007 and includes an indoor pool, Turkish bath, and a variety of massages and beauty treatments. Meals at Villa Durrueli's restaurant are often accompanied by music from the piano. The dining menu includes fresh fish dishes, local specialties and a generous buffet of starters and vegetables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Durrueli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Durrueli Hotel Ischia
Durrueli Hotel Ischia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Durrueli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.