We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Continental Terme” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Continental Ischia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Continental Ischia to your Saves list
Hotel Continental Ischia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via M. Mazzella, 70, 80077 Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 64 Hotels in Ischia
SHEFFIELD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Love the Continental Terme”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2008

Did MDJA Salisbury stay at the same hotel as us, we stayed 19th September to 29th September 2007.

We did not encounter the problems they had in the restaurant with children. The staff are professional, friendly and welcoming.

The menu is excellent with 3 choices of each course all cooked and served to perfection.

We also stayed there in July 2007, unfortunately I tripped in Ponte and broke my shoulder. The medical care I received both at the Hospital In Lacco Ameno and at the hotel by the resident doctor was fist class.

When the Concierge and the front desk staff heard about my accident they came individually to the room to ask how I was and if they could do anything to help.

The restaurant staff were fantastic they brought meals to our room and made sure that we were extremel;y well cared for.

With regard to the wearing of swimming caps not only is this hygienic but also to prevent hair clogging the fine filters used in ther spa pools. The wearing of caps is in the information pack supplied in the room.

We returned in Sept. so that I could receive physiotherapy as prescribed by the hotel doctor and to use the spa pools, this has helped my recovery.

We have been going to the Continental Terme since August 2001.

My family and I have travelled extensively both in Europe and America and the Continental Terme can stand by the side of any hotel and possibly better than some.

We are returning to the Continental Terme in July and are very much looking forward to another wonderful holiday on this beautiful Island, with its very friendly and welcoming people from the ferry staff, taxi drivers and restaurant staff, give them a smile and they will respond.

Kirk, Sheffield, South Yorkshire, England

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    117
    60
    33
    11
See reviews for
66
103
11
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
salisbury
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2007

We found the Hotel Continental Terme to be a disappointment - the cost and star rating suggested something far more than what we experienced. The facts in no particular order;

1. Swimming pools - Hotel rules require bathers to wear swimming caps, but they are not provided. You can buy them from the hotel Spa, but the Spa is closed on Sundays; so if you arrive on Sundays you can't go swimming! Top tip - you can use the cheap disposable shower caps from your rooms (although this adds to the low grade feel of the place).

2. Evening meal - akin to a school dinner: huge room, tables packed together, children running around, a disinterested 'waiter' will give you the choice of 2 main courses that will be brought tepid from the kitchen 'hotplate' even before you've finished your self-served starter (only salad). Top tip - if you have to book half-board as we did, go for the lunch instead of dinner (excellent selection of seafood, fewer guests).

3. Rooms - We were given a twin when we had booked a double (the explanation was that there are no doubles in the hotel).

4. Sunloungers - Hotel rules forbid the use of room towels on sunloungers, so you have to use your own (if you bought some!).

5. Staff - a mix; front desk staff were disinterested and unhelpful, but room was always clean. Restaurant staff were generally poor (or at best had a totally different idea from the rest of the world of what a waiter should be, e.g. don't leave your plate unattended for a minute even if it has food still on it, or else it will be cleaned away). Concierage was rude and borderline fraudulent (a similar experience to SC of Rutland, except that when we tried to pay on credit card, there was suddenly a handling charge that he claimed the hotel imposed, but the hotel knew nothing about).

Overall, a disappointment, and certainly not value for money.

  • Liked — Little
  • Disliked — Most things
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2007

We stayed here for 3 nights of our honeymoon after seeing favourable reviews on trip advisor. It was a disappointment from start to finish. The food was like school dinners(we had to book half board during August but ate elsewhere after first day), the service was terrible (both in the dining hall and hotel itself) but worst of all was the atitude of the staff in the hotel. e.g. We booked a double room (for a honeymoon!) and were given a small twin but when asked if we could have a double were just told to push the beds together. Not very comfortable. To top it all off we had booked a transfer from Naples airport when we booked the hotel. However when we tried to pay for this we were told that this was booked through the concierge (who was a separate company to the hotel?!) and would not be able to be put on the room but had to be paid cash in hand. This was a bit of a shock as was the last place we stayed so we had not enough cash left for this. When we asked to put it on the room they said we could do it as an exception but would be charged a 10% surcharge for the priviledge. When asked if i could complain to the manager they said Ok but there was a queue and it could be a few hours. We had a plane to catch! I could go on about how the hotel was awful (loud warbling singing until late at night, pools which you were not allowed in without swimming hats, etc. etc.) but we just spent most of our time elsewhere so as not to let it ruin what was otherwise a wonderful holiday. In short, Do NOT stay here if you want adequate service, decent food, a good nights sleep ... or anything which you would expect of a hotel which you are paying a considerable amount of money for.

  • Liked — Getting away from it
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2006

Well, we went off a combination of reviews here, guidebooks, and the hotel website. I was fine some respects, dissapointing in some, and great in only one.

I'll start with the good. Our room was a medium double (i think). The room size was average Hotel room size - fine. But the balcony was - huge. Rooms 246 & 247 have these balconies, along with a few others. There was room for two chairs, a table and two sun loungers plus extra space. That was cool.

Everything else was ok or dissapointing.
Breakfast - first they didn't tell us where or when at check in & we forgot to ask (we got in late after a long day). Then when we woke up we looked at the menu we saw it went to 10:30. We hurried up and cut it close getting there after spending a few minutes figuring out where it was. We though we made it - only to be told the restaurant breakfast is until 10:00, room service breakfast until 10:30. Luckily, they let us order and went back to our room and had breakfast - not exactly what we ordered. The next day we made it just before 10. The hotel was obviously crowded and you could see they weren't extremely happy about those of use who arrived at the closing bell. The room was very loud w/ kids all over the place (a wedding the night before). My wife opended one of those foil wrapped cream cheese things - moldy. That kind of spoiled it - but it already wasn't great. No more breakfast at the hotel for us.

Pools - we didn't use them. Looked ok. We opted for Negombo instead - really cool.

Staff: front desk was fine - not very welcoming. The concierge was very helpful - but restaurant recommendations were hit and miss - not neccessarily his fault.

The spa areas were in the lower level and as I believe was suggested by an earlier review seemed kind of musty, as did the elevator at times.

Rooms: I already said it was fine and the balcony huge. The shower was also great. THe climate control was non-existant. At least in the main building there is no real individual room control. You have have fan with three settings which depending on the season, blows room air, heat or A/C. A/C was turned off (apparently from Sept 21st on). Which meant, are room was not too comfortable during the day or at the beginning of the night b/c it was quite warm during our early october stay.

Overall - not recommended - I'm sure you can find better.

  • Liked — A huge balcony and great shower.
  • Disliked — Musty spa area, moldy cheese, no A/C late in the season.
  • Tips/Secrets — Rms 246-7 or another hotel.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2006

We were transferred here from another hotel at the last minute and our initial reaction was "Wow! Posh!". On the whole we had a good experience, room was nice & big, cleaned well and good aircon. There are three pools (including one thermal) & an excellent waterfall pool. The food was very good and service good in restaurant. There were things like shops, beauty treatments etc that we weren't interested in, nor could we afford, but if you like that sort of thing. There seemed to be really nice rooms with balconies overlooking the pools, but we were tucked away at the back.
On the downside, the beach and town is a good 20-30 minute walk (buses are available but are usually packed), and I suggest you take excursions to other beaches as the local ones are frankly a bit poor. Try Miramor or the Poseidon complex.
There was a distinct lack of Brits and there was a language barrier. We befriended some Italians (young couples) who were very nice & helpful but the hotel is geared towards crusty Italians & Germans. Whilst there they had a bank holiday gala, a feast and disco prepared (inclusively) for the guests. However, be warned! The elderly guests at the hotel pushed and shoved their way to the buffet, taking absolutely tons of food leaving nothing for the more polite amongst us.
The bar service was poor. On the three occasions we went, we waited to be served but no-one came so went to the bar, which I am accustomed to. The barman got a bit huffy when didn't leave a tip...why would I? IN the evening, the bar became a mecca for the elderly as a 'pub singer' entertained the masses. We went out.
The concierge spoke English and gave good info, but other staff weren't so conversant, but we coped.
On the whole a pleasant experience.

  • Liked — The pools
  • Disliked — Mostly geared towards Italians & Germans; lack of Brits to talk to
  • Tips/Secrets — Push your way into buffet queues.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2006

The hotel is nice but we were given no support from the staff. They answered questions and were nice, but gave us no welcome pack or information about the hotel until we asked for it. They didn't even mention that caps were required for the swimming pools. We didn't use the spa facilities as they were never explained to us. No information about the transport or how to get around. No information about ferries to other islands. Got tired of constantly asking questions! Room was okay but no effort to smarten it up. Not one picture on the wall and painting left unfinished. Also it's in a difficult position in relation to the town - too far to work for a restaurant so you need a bus or taxi which can be a pain. I would stay closer to one of the harbour areas. Restaurant is overpriced.

A nice hotel on the surface but the management needs to get a grip of it. Customer service needs to be emphasised. Complacent. A hotel in decline.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Customer service not good / location
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
1 review
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2005

If you are lucky enough to have booked this hotel then you are going to have a great holiday.
The hotel is very light and airy and very clean.
The hotel is designed to be low level there are no builings above three storeys, this layout makes the hotel feel very spacioius.
The facilities are excellent and the food fantastic.
Once a week the evening meal moves away from the dinning room and a buffet style meal is provided, the choice was amazing and the standard very high.

The entertainemt was limited to evenings in the piano bar but if you want something more lively then the town was only a short taxi ride away.

The staff are very welcoming, efficient and nothing was ever too much trouble.

The hotel is not in the centre of the main port or shopping area and it is on a busy main road, however you are never aware of any noise from the traffic once inside the hotel and should you wish to visit the town then it is 15 minute walk or a short taxi ride.

My husband and I only went for 1 week but we really did feel we had had a great relaxing top notch holiday and we are already looking to return to the same hotel for 2 weeks next time.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Continental Ischia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Ischia

Address: Via M. Mazzella, 70, 80077 Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Ischia
#15 Spa Hotel in Ischia
#16 Luxury Hotel in Ischia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Ischia 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Continental Ischia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Terme Hotel
Continental Terme Ischia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Continental Ischia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.