We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first vacation together” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Moresco Hotel

Save Saved
You added Il Moresco Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Moresco Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Emanuele Gianturco 16, 80077 Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 66 hotels in Ischia
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Our first vacation together”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was our first real vacation together as a couple, a few years back. I also found out just how good my now wife is at finding fantastic places to go to, and great places to stay. For me it was great to be back in inlands of Italy, I have always enjoyed the summer here.

The hotel was just great, service, food, room, and don`t foget the therm pool, my wife spent so much time in it, I gave her the nick name of "Otter Butt"

The staff at the front desk gave us all the directions of good places to go, and set us up for a boat ride around the island.

All in all, a great time, with always fond memories, of Bruno and Rafahel

Room Tip: For vactaion in Euorpe in general, we like to go during the last week in June, first week in July. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    19
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
26
84
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Revere, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Last minute, unexpected trip to Ischia was such a pleasant surprise. We booked the hotel two days before we did not know what to expect. The hotel was amazing, beautiful, clean and the staff very accomodating, The hotel architecture made you feel as though you were in Morocco. The white building against the torquise blue pools were stunning. There were three thermal pools; outside pool 86 degrees, the cave pool was 90 degrees and the indoor pool was 94 degrees, just what my body needed. The room was massive with a huge bathroom and a 'bathtub'... what a luxury in Italy!
The room rate included a lavish breakfast including Proseco, for those that like mimosa's for breakfast. For lunch we went to the restaurant next to their beach and it was delicious. We took advantage of the delicious seafood and had fried shrimp, calamati for appetizer with fresh spaghetti and clams for entree.. along with their own wine... and the beautiful view.. can't get much better than that.
For dinner, we were not that hungry, so we just ate outside by the pool. Bruno and Rafael took good care of us... they made us pizza with fresh mozzarella and fresh sliced tomato- it was so good we had it the next night also.
A slight disappointment was no sea view... and it was not directly on a beach. You had to walk a short way down the street to their 'private' beach which consisted of lounge chairs on a wooden structure with a small beach next to them. Not exactly the beautiful beaches that Ischia is known for. To get to the natural thermal springs you have to either drive to San Angelo and take a water taxi to the springs or I believe you could take a water taxi directly to the springs but it wasn't clear how to do that or how much it would cost. We did take a taxi around the island. The island is huge so it took 4 hours and cost 130 euro. The hotel reserved the taxi and promised an english speaking driver but unfortunately his english was about as good as my Italian... not good. We were glad we saw the island thought.
The boat ride from Sorrento was 20 Euro each, one way so the total cost for two would be 80 Euro. The ride is approx. 45 minutes each way.
We will definitely go back to this jewel....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

A sad, exhausting summer left us in need of a week's complete R&R in the most comfortable, most welcoming of surroundings. We found it here. 5 star service allied to that personal touch typical of a long-serving, loyal team; as another reviewer noted, this place quickly gets under your skin.

Distinctive architecture a world away from hotel-central, beautifully tended grounds with countless quiet corners, lovely rooms (our comfort room: spacious, well furnished, comfy bed, balcony) with housekeeping to match, and - best of all - the most fabulous thermal pools, a cave-like "grotte" provoking unbidden squeals of delight from grown adults!

Fantastic, fantastic food, top-flight service and wine recommendations to match. The dining room feels like it - more hotel dining room than intimate restaurant (nothing a little soft lighting wouldn't sort) but every evening was a real sense of occasion. An absolute treat from start to finish.

Lots of repeat guests whilst we were here. We'll be joining them.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Booked Il Moresco Hotel for our first 2 nights of our honeymoon and they upgraded us to a junior suite. Wow, 100 sqm private roof terrace. We spent our first afternoon and evening there wasting lots of money on room service.

Upon check-in we got a guided tour of the hotel and facilities as you'd expect from 5 star hotel. We're not normally a fan of the fussiness of a 5 star hotel but it was very nice at the start of the honeymoon.

The hotel had "3" pools... an outdoor pool, a "pool" in the rock cave (warmer) and an indoor pool (warmest). There is a small gym which is OK but nothing serious (x-trainer is directly under a bright light so you'll definitely sweat but weights aren't that heavy). There is also a private beach that's typical for Ischia but nothing impressive (bit of black sand but nothing tropical).

Breakfast has a good variety and even includes prosecco. Not normally a big drinker in the morning but made the exception on the honeymoon.

Final point is the hotel had the best bar of soap I've ever seen in a hotel. It wasn't the little dinky bars you normally get that take about 11 seconds to fully use but a nice thick chunk of soap. Almost felt bad wasting it using it at the hotel and not taking home as a souvenir (which I'd never do as that's stealing and stealing is wrong).

Room Tip: Junior suite with private roof terrace rocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruskin, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

What can I say about the hotel. Really a 5 stars hotel. Very comfortable (in the Moorish style). Rooms are spacious, bright and with majolica floor from Vietri, with balconies or terrace. Clean service is perfect, cleaned twice a day. There are in the lobby beautiful chandeliers hand made with Murano stained glass and interior design style Luigi VI. I booked room with breakfast and dinner, kitchen is just delicious. Eat everything - seafood, meat, local rabbit and especially the sweets. The beach is outside the hotel, but very close - 2min walk. The beach is clean, cozy and nice, though small. Sun beds, umbrellas and towels are free of charge, the man works on the beach immediately offered us a tour of the island by boat and he said us it was a service of the hotel, but the only strange thing was that when we paid we could not pay at the hotel but directly to the sailor’s boat. The hotel is located in Porto Ischia in the green zone (although the whole island is green space). My Russian speaking assistant said that this hotel (with Hotel Excelsior) are considered the best in Ischia Porto. The staff in the hotel is very professional , polite and very lovely. Waiter even tried to speak Russian, well know English and German. So what I recommend. I recommend watching all of their own. First it is not so expensive, and secondly be able to see more. Yes! Flight charters do not fly to Naples. I bought a ticket to Rome and by train drove to Naples, and then moved from Naples harbor by boat to Ischia. Wonderful experience. In the same holiday I visited Naples city and Rome too. In Naples city I turned myself and I spended one day around the city. All the historical part is located near the port (this is the Royal Palace, Gallery Umberto, etc.). Do not be lazy, take a taxi and take a trip to see Pompei, on the way back to Naples stop to see the famous Vesuvius vulcano crater. Simply fantastic! Two day I booked a room in Rome city, it is not so difficult to arrive in Rome, by Eurostar train from Naples.The new and modern trains have a big and soft comfortable chairs. Tickets must be stamped before departure at the train station (do not forget, and that there will be problems with the conductor). It is better to be warned beforehand about the map of Naples and Rome. It is easier to search the main attractions. A day in Rome I saw the Coliseum, Roman Forum, St. Mark's Cathedral, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Square and the Vatican. Yes, even made a small shop, where the street leading from the Spanish Square are shops Ferre, Armani, Bulgari, etc. etc. I was affascinated of this beautiful city in fact my mouth was not closed until the departure day! There is a lot more to say about this amazing country. And the food! and coffee!! and the best in the world of sweets!! I will definitely come back to Italy and to Ischia.

Room Tip: I was lucky to see the only one Tower Suite, it is amazing room with incredible view on Amalfi coast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pusiano
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

The hotel is relatively well maintained but "old style" 4* max.
Personnel is nice but not very helpful if you wish to organize activities around the island; not truly able to give advice/suggestions/set things up.
Careful: superior rooms with sea view do not actually have it! The hotel is not facing the sea, so you can catch a glimpse of the med only if you have a terrace and bend out in search of a glimpse of blue in the middle of the garden trees.
Breakfast and bars mediocre, 3* level.
The beach is made of two tiny wooden platforms on top of a rocky cliff. Scenic but certainly not suited for kids. The beach bar is very basic, with no lunch being served. All in all I would not go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellor, Lancashire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This was our second visit in consecutive years to the Il Moresco. The resort is simply stunning and again we were blessed with fabulous hot Italian weather. Firstly, the transfer was seamless and again our holiday advisor, Mina provided a friendly, professional and courteous service. Nothing was too much trouble, and throughout she was on hand to provide a bespoke island tour & trip to S. Angelo and lunch at a pretty vineyard, which is highly recommended - great food and super quality wines to sample. The taxi service provided by Georgio and his wife was simply charming, pointing out all the local features of interest.
Onto the hotel - well the simply aren't enough superlatives to explain just how good this place is. The rooms are spotless and beautifully decorated. The staff on reception are always charming and polite, and are always on hand to give advice about the resort. They simply want you to enjoy every second of the holiday and their politeness is second to none. The food in the hotel is the best we have ever sampled in a holiday resort. Luigi and his staff work tirelessly to ensure that this fantastic gastronomic experience is always perfect. Every day the dinner menu changed, with enough choices for every taste. Quite simply stunning!!! Examples of this are crab risotto, scallop & asparagus risotto, pasta with lobster and a different fish/meat dish every evening.
The pool bar also provided a great lunch stop, looked after impeccably by Bruno & his lovely and friendly staff.
This is simply the best place in Ischia and we will be returning next year. Again many thanks to Mina for providing an amazing holiday experience. Thank you!!

Room Tip: We upgraded our room to one overlooking the side street, which had a balcony. Very quiet and a love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Il Moresco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Moresco Hotel

Address: Via Emanuele Gianturco 16, 80077 Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ischia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ischia
#4 Family Hotel in Ischia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Moresco Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Il Moresco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Moresco Ischia
Hotel Il Moresco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Moresco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.