We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pearl of Ischia, Fantastic property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miramare e Castello Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Miramare e Castello Hotel to your Saves list
Miramare e Castello Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Pontano 5, 80070 Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 62 Hotels in Ischia
Certificate of Excellence
Vacaville California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Pearl of Ischia, Fantastic property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Hotel is located on a very quite beach about 15 min walk to the Port and center of the Village, GREAT LOCATION. Rooms were a little small but came with full bath and shower, frig, ocean front, full spa on first floor, GREAT FRONT deck folks, arranged train tickets to Venice for the following day which included setting up taxi and ferry tickets

Room Tip: Our room was small, full bath, with king size bed, beautyful seaview location. Got the room thru Ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    70
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
40
127
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We booked our holiday to Ischia for August and were originally supposed to stay here for the whole week but left after one night. The hotel's location is lovely, right by a little port full of little boats, with a great view of the Castello Aragonese. However, on either side of the hotel are tiny little public beaches and they are absolutely PACKED with people and also very dirty - full of trash, cigarette butts, etc... Filthy.
What we didn't like about the hotel were the rooms and the facilities. The rooms are very, very small (there aren't any bigger rooms) and also the "pool" is tiny - like a large hot tub. There's no place to lounge around, and it's definitely NOT a place where you could hang out and relax all day. There's no room and not much to do. If you want to go to the centre, it's about a 10-15 minute walk but it's uphill, virtually no sidewalks and all cobblestones. Not ideal. I definitely would not recommend this hotel if you're travelling with kids - I have a 5 year old boy and it was difficult.
Forget the beach because it's tiny and jam packed, but so are all the beaches in the area...
What was lovely about the hotel was the staff - very friendly and accommodating. Furthermore the restaurant La Lampara is absolutely delicious and worth going to. Book it for dinner and enjoy a stunning view with amazing food. Service is slow but no big deal. Overall a nice place but only if you're planning to be out and about all day.
Oh... breakfast was excellent!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The public areas of this hotel are hard to fault. A lovely terrace with a small pool, a good choice of comfortable seating (think white sofas and thick mattresses), and a small private beach with plenty of sunbeds.
It is also well located, just a few steps from the old town and the castle from which it gets its name, and a little further from the newer shopping district leading to the port.
The hotel’s own restaurant serves a good buffet breakfast and the one evening meal we had was very good, with a gorgeous anti-pasti buffet.
It is with the rooms that’s the hotel struggles to maintain standards. Ours was very very tiny, and the bathroom even smaller. The shower had a cheap plastic screen and it was a struggle to open the bathroom door without having to dance around it to get out. The tiles in the bathroom were also due for an upgrade.

I think I would have rated this hotel higher if it had not purported to be something it is not. In world class terms, it most certainly is not a 5-star hotel, but I think I read somewhere that Italian hotels operate a sort of check –list system, and if you provide a given list of facilities your five-star rating is assured.

We loved Ischia, and neighbouring Procida, and will most definitely be back and would quite possibly stay here again, but choose a bigger room next time.

Room Tip: Select the best room you can afford. Our classic room was very small indeed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

There is a degree of tranquillity about this hotel that makes it a wonderful place for rest and relaxation. A well-maintained private beach offers a beautiful view of the castle and there is a separate area for sunbathing close on a platform headed into the sea. There is an average-sized outdoor swimming pool and rather wonderful jacuzzis on the top floor, offering a spending vista.

The location further benefits from being reasonably close to Ischia Porto, and a 10 - 15 minute walk leads to the central street, where shopping and dining opportunities are plentiful.
The rooms are very clean and the overall standard of housekeeping is excellent. The spa is good, if rather small and the number of treatments do not dazzle with variety. The complimentary facial mask was a nice and welcoming touch. Breakfasts, which I ordered to my room on a daily basis, were delicious and well-presented, although they carried an additional charge of 10-13 Euro for being brought up.

The staff were friendly and polite for the most part, with one or two sullen exceptions. Surprizingly, the reception did not stock bus tickets, or day passes and did not offer information on any interesting events or activities in the vicinity, but in general the service that this hotel offers is professional and competent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We have been to Ischia twice and both times stayed at MeC. What makes this hotel the best choice in Ischia is the general high standard combined with perfect location. The town Ischia on the island Ischia consists of two parts, the utterly charming and pittoresque old part (Ischia Ponte) and the beautiful an lively new part (Ischia Porto). MeC is placed between these two part, but closer to the old town, and a stunning view toward the Aragonese Castle. The hotel has it´s own beach, a platform with stairs directly into the water for those who don´t like sandy feet, and a pool. Everything 10 yards from the hotel! Make sure you get a room with sea view. It really is worth paying for! The restaurant is placed at the beach and at a pier outside the hotel. Very romantic. But, we found the food a bit boring and without taste. The breakfast, though, is great! Service: great! Atmosphere: beautiful and luxurious.

Room Tip: Choose a room with sea view, you won´t regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Wonderful (unique!) view but very very small room and bed! Noise from the near public beach all day long.
Nice breakfast. Gorgeous hall, arrival loung and dining room. People working there very helpful and Friendly.
The Spa is perfect if you want to relax yourself.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanDiego
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This being our 2nd visit to Ischia we chose to stay in the Ponte area at this great hotel. I don't know we have a negative thing to say. The rooms were very clean with great views. The breakfeast was possibly one of the best hotel breakfeasts we have ever had. The staff was so friendly and helpful w/ any of our needs and requests. The beach is amazing and not over crowded. If you have any questions please let me know as we did stay there for 7 nights so got a good feeling for the hotel and the area. The previous year we stayed at Hotel Mezzatorre which is a 5 star hotel that didn't compare the least to Miramare for so many reasons. Thanks for such a great vacation!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ischia
0.9 mi away
Aragona Palace Hotel
Aragona Palace Hotel
#1 of 62 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 stars 1,158 reviews
2.6 mi away
Terme Manzi Hotel & Spa
Terme Manzi Hotel & Spa
#6 of 41 in Casamicciola Terme
5.0 of 5 stars 466 reviews
0.4 mi away
Il Moresco Hotel
Il Moresco Hotel
#9 of 62 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Durrueli
Villa Durrueli
#12 of 62 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 stars 612 reviews
0.9 mi away
Posidonia Residence
Posidonia Residence
#2 of 62 in Ischia
5.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior
Grand Hotel Excelsior
#3 of 62 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramare e Castello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramare e Castello Hotel

Address: Via Pontano 5, 80070 Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Ischia
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ischia
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ischia
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ischia
#21 Family Hotel in Ischia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Miramare e Castello Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Miramare e Castello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramare e Castello Ischia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miramare e Castello Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.