We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant hotel with reasonable service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Miramare e Castello Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Miramare e Castello Hotel to your Saves list
Miramare e Castello Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Pontano 5, 80070 Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Ischia
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A pleasant hotel with reasonable service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

There is a degree of tranquillity about this hotel that makes it a wonderful place for rest and relaxation. A well-maintained private beach offers a beautiful view of the castle and there is a separate area for sunbathing close on a platform headed into the sea. There is an average-sized outdoor swimming pool and rather wonderful jacuzzis on the top floor, offering a spending vista.

The location further benefits from being reasonably close to Ischia Porto, and a 10 - 15 minute walk leads to the central street, where shopping and dining opportunities are plentiful.
The rooms are very clean and the overall standard of housekeeping is excellent. The spa is good, if rather small and the number of treatments do not dazzle with variety. The complimentary facial mask was a nice and welcoming touch. Breakfasts, which I ordered to my room on a daily basis, were delicious and well-presented, although they carried an additional charge of 10-13 Euro for being brought up.

The staff were friendly and polite for the most part, with one or two sullen exceptions. Surprizingly, the reception did not stock bus tickets, or day passes and did not offer information on any interesting events or activities in the vicinity, but in general the service that this hotel offers is professional and competent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    65
    21
    5
    3
See reviews for
35
115
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We have been to Ischia twice and both times stayed at MeC. What makes this hotel the best choice in Ischia is the general high standard combined with perfect location. The town Ischia on the island Ischia consists of two parts, the utterly charming and pittoresque old part (Ischia Ponte) and the beautiful an lively new part (Ischia Porto). MeC is placed between these two part, but closer to the old town, and a stunning view toward the Aragonese Castle. The hotel has it´s own beach, a platform with stairs directly into the water for those who don´t like sandy feet, and a pool. Everything 10 yards from the hotel! Make sure you get a room with sea view. It really is worth paying for! The restaurant is placed at the beach and at a pier outside the hotel. Very romantic. But, we found the food a bit boring and without taste. The breakfast, though, is great! Service: great! Atmosphere: beautiful and luxurious.

Room Tip: Choose a room with sea view, you won´t regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Wonderful (unique!) view but very very small room and bed! Noise from the near public beach all day long.
Nice breakfast. Gorgeous hall, arrival loung and dining room. People working there very helpful and Friendly.
The Spa is perfect if you want to relax yourself.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanDiego
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This being our 2nd visit to Ischia we chose to stay in the Ponte area at this great hotel. I don't know we have a negative thing to say. The rooms were very clean with great views. The breakfeast was possibly one of the best hotel breakfeasts we have ever had. The staff was so friendly and helpful w/ any of our needs and requests. The beach is amazing and not over crowded. If you have any questions please let me know as we did stay there for 7 nights so got a good feeling for the hotel and the area. The previous year we stayed at Hotel Mezzatorre which is a 5 star hotel that didn't compare the least to Miramare for so many reasons. Thanks for such a great vacation!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

The pictures do not do this place justice. The beach and the view are just amazing! We were there when the weather was extremely warm and the warm, clear waters and the sandy beach were a welcome break. The property is right on the beach with a perfect layout for those who do not want to walk far to get to teh water. the hotel has its own little private stretch of beach. Very Italian local crowd. The water is crystal clear and the beach service very professional.
Breakfast was very good although the restaurant tended to be a little too warm for my taste.
The rooms are on the small side but perfectly adequate and very clean; the views for the seaview rooms are exquisite. We also had a room with terrace, which is worth the extra price for those who like to sit out in the evening. Professional and helpful staff. Overall, a great experience and would definitely go back

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights and really enjoyed it. Very friendly staff, good breakfast, and lovely cocktails watching the sun set on the terrace. Really easy stroll to the castle and to local restaurants. Would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We booked through Hotwire.com and got very lucky - we got this hotel under the 5 star category. The hotel was very clean, had great amenities and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. A big plus for us was the sister hotel (Garden Eden) which was a short water taxi (5 euro each) away. Overall, our stay was great at this hotel. Oh and I forgot...very good breakfast too!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miramare e Castello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramare e Castello Hotel

Address: Via Pontano 5, 80070 Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ischia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ischia
#3 Spa Hotel in Ischia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ischia
#10 Family Hotel in Ischia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Miramare e Castello Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Miramare e Castello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramare e Castello Ischia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miramare e Castello Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.