We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 night stay in Ischia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miramare e Castello Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Miramare e Castello Hotel to your Saves list
Miramare e Castello Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Pontano 5, 80070 Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Ischia
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“3 night stay in Ischia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We booked through Hotwire.com and got very lucky - we got this hotel under the 5 star category. The hotel was very clean, had great amenities and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. A big plus for us was the sister hotel (Garden Eden) which was a short water taxi (5 euro each) away. Overall, our stay was great at this hotel. Oh and I forgot...very good breakfast too!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    65
    21
    5
    3
See reviews for
35
115
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I booked here after considering other properties around Ischia Porte. Most important for us was free WiFi as I was travelling with a teenager. This hotel offered free Wifi which immediately set it apart from many other hotels of a similar standard (the day that hotels without free wifi realise that they are losing customers because of their reluctance to fully embrace this technological era will be a happy day for many travellers!)

We looked at the map and figured we could walk from the Ferry, we did, but would advise anyone with large bags or less than average fitness to take a taxi. We were greeted by Enzo who showed us to our room. Somehow we were lucky enough to get room 205 (we booked seaview thankfully) which seemed to be the best room on this floor as it had a balcony.

We never tired of looking at the beach, boats and impressive Castello d'aragonese, we could even look at it through the windows above the bath whilst we were showering !

The jacuzzis on the rooftop were too cold to use but the warm water pool in the basement and nearby sauna were favourite spots for us. The ladies in the Beauty Spa were fantastic... (one full massage and a pedicure later !) definitely recommend.

Breakfast was okay but I did miss the simple things like being able to have a piece of toast. There was a sumptuous array of sweet pastries but many westerners often enjoy a piece of toast with breakfast (and perhaps a cuppa) as there was no provision to make toast (and i am not one for a custard pastries etc. in the morning) I ended up skipping more than a few of the included breakfasts. Scrambled eggs were on offer but I prefer to eat them with toast.

This hotel has a wonderful deck for lounging, a ladder into the sea from this deck and gauze-draped day beds as well. I would definitely recommend the Miramare as a wonderful romantic retreat, especially if one were to book a seaview suite on the first floor, each has a private daybed on the balcony ....superb! Perfect for a honeymoon.

Yes, this hotel was a little way out of town but not too far. I looked at hotels closer to the Port itself but our view and hotel facilities seemed to be superior.

We hired a scooter and had no troubles at all but it is also serviced by a bus route. All of the staff, including the housekeepers, were extremely helpful and lovely. The rooms were clean and we really enjoyed our stay here. A great base for anyone who wishes to explore Ischia.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms a must.... ask for 205 if you can ! Best suites for honeymooners/romantic escapes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Upon Thames
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a week, 30 April - 7 May 2012. We had 3 rooms, 2 sea facing.
From entering the hotel the staff greeted us and helped us with our luggage. We were shown to our room and it was beautiful. The terrace, the view, everything was perfect. The hotel is spotlessly clean and decorated very stylishly, very chic. The furnishings in the public areas are beautiful.
Breakfast was fresh and full of variety. Bacon, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, vast array of bread, cheese, hams, cereals, fruit, yogurts etc you wouldn’t get bored with it.
We had lunch and dinner and the hotel on some days and it was to a very high standard, the food was excellent.
The waiters were very good, remembering the drinks we ordered from the day before, always willing and helpful. Also being very patient with our young daughter and getting things for her that she liked. I was worried before we arrived, that the hotel may be more for couples. However, our 4 year old was welcomed and we didn’t feel uncomfortable.
Sitting out eating breakfast on the edge of the private beach was wonderful and the view of the castle was amazing.
There is an indoor pool and hot tub and they are very warm, we went there every day. There are also outdoor hot tubs on the roof and an outdoor pool.
Exercising in the rooftop gym didn’t seem such a chore when you can look out over the sea and see all the surrounding islands.
The bedrooms were cleaned daily and the lady that regularly cleaned our room was very pleasant and did a very good job. Our beds were turned down in the evening.
There were plenty of towels, also towels for the beach and fluffy robes which most people wore out to the pool or to the spa.
The manager\director of the hotel was warm and friendly and couldn’t do enough for us.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone with or without children. It’s in the perfect spot, the staff are amazing and we loved every day. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Choose a sea facing room with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

The Miramare was excellent, the rooms were clean and light plenty big enough. The choice at breakfast was great, and all so fresh and well presented. The hotel surrounding with its private beach area was very pleasant, and very close to shops and the castle. The staff were extremely polite and friendly. I can't really fault it, it was very enjoyable, only wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: The rooms with balconies are really lovely to sit out on with family with a great view of the castle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

My grandfather was from Ischia and so this Island holds my heart. The hotel is too delightful for words. The view is incredible and rooms spotless, and the staff leaves nothing to be desired. The breakfast and any meal is wonderful. The locations is in close proximity of wonderful restaurants and entertainment. This is our second trip in 13 months and I cannot wait to experience this magical experience once again. A delight. Dr. and Mrs. Schneyer

Room Tip: Seaview is terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011 via mobile

Very neat hotel, well run, very clean. All guests are very well looked after. Lovely breakfast, beautiful dinners, if you would like to stay in. Hotel is located in a bit of a distance from the port (which is great), but everything is within walking distance. Own beach and 2 pools (one inside, one outside), relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savona, Italy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

relaxing and charming place with the sea waves washing the beach few meters from the rooms and the beatiful and unforgettable view over the Ischia Ponte's Castello;
the hotel staff was professional and always ready to satisfy requests and answer questions; particular mention is deserved to room service, the bartenders and the beach / swimming pools staff.
We surely recommend the treatments (body massages, etc.) of the annexed Beauty Center, anyway after weekend in a sunny september you shall be relaxed enough without any needs for treatements !!
We did not experienced the Restaurants (too many old friends to visit during our staying in the island) , anyway the breakfast was delicious and comprehensive (what a cakes !)
We surely look forward to returning there next year

Roberto e Monica

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miramare e Castello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramare e Castello Hotel

Address: Via Pontano 5, 80070 Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ischia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ischia
#3 Spa Hotel in Ischia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ischia
#10 Family Hotel in Ischia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Miramare e Castello Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Miramare e Castello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramare e Castello Ischia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miramare e Castello Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.