We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Punta Molino

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Punta Molino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Punta Molino
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungomare Cristoforo Colombo, 23, 80070 Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 66 hotels in Ischia
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Celebrated my cousin’s wedding at this great hotel on the 4 August, 2012. Coming from Sydney (Australia) I found the service excellent with abundance and delicious food and of course, spectacular views. I compliment the staff for making us feel very welcomed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    27
    11
    9
    4
See reviews for
25
63
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from punta molino and feel very disappointed, we booked a garden villa which we thought would provide privacy, however don't be misled by website pictures. The room we were given had no terrace just a tiny balcony which was overlooked by everyone staying in the hotel. When asked if another room was available was told no they were all booked, however the villa in the same block with a large terrace was unoccupied our whole stay. The average age of guests is 60-70 so if you are much younger please be aware of this. The sunbeds are also an issue which the management do not seem to help or support you with if you have difficulty in finding a sunbed. Guests reserve their beds with the beach attendants and whetther these are being used or not they refuse to let you have one. The only ones they will give you are the ones that are shaded from lunch time in spots no one else wants. Certainly not a 5 star hotel, perhaps location is worth 5 stars but rooms and food is certainly not.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I spent 10 days in the Hotel Punta Molino with my family. This has been a perfect holiday. The hotel is based on one of the most beautiful island in the world. The hotel facilities are outstanding. You get the beach, the spa , the food and an excellent service. Very efficient with a touch of Italian kindness.

Room Tip: Ask the concierge. He will make miracles to accommodate all your requests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Expectations are high for a hotel claiming to be a 'Leading Hotel of the World' and standards fell well short. Pool are was small with lots of steps to go and order a drink as no poolside service. Beach was grey and full of pebbles but eh beach bar was efficient, friendly and reasonably priced. Rooms comfortable but small. The place needs a complete renovation .

Room Tip: Must have sea view as rooms at the back look over the cafe roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

If you are considering a visit to the beautiful island of Ischia and looking for somewhere to stay then look no further...

The hotel is situated in a perfect location, with wonderful sea views and the famous castle in the backdrop. The food is always (and I mean always) superb and the wonderful service has brought us back time and time again (for over 14 years!). My family and I see the same faces of both the customers and the staff year after year, which only highlights how magical this place really is.

We were lucky enough to get married here in 2011. One of the many reasons for choosing Ischia was because of the Punta Molino and they didn't disappoint. We were overwhelmed with how special they made our day - the food and personal touch was out of this world the 100 guests were able to share our best kept secret. I think its safe to say that quite a few more people fell in love with Ischia and the Punta Molino last year and have booked return trips for 2012!

This really is a special place and it holds many wonderful memories we will always cherish.

James & Nina

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

The best aspects of this hotel are the friendly staff, the great menus at dinner and the hotel facilities including the pools, beach and gardens.
Book a room with a sea view and balcony. I was in room 215 and although the view was not completely uninterrupted, we could see the sea and the balcony was pleasant to sit on, particularly when some amazing fireworks were let off as part of a festival. Absolutely brilliant.
The rooms were immaculate, the twin beds comfortable and every night we received a turn down service with chocolates left on our pillows. Robes and slippers were also provided.
Great bathroom with plenty of hot water at a good pressure.
The breakfast was served in an open air dining area with an overhead sunscreen and was extensive - breads, toast, boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, fresh fruit, melon, yoghurt, actimel, cold meats, cheese, cereal, fruit juices, water and even Prosecco - and the waiters will ask you what coffee you want so you can choose an espresso or capuccino rather than get served a bland generic tourist coffee. The breakfast was also served from 8am to 10.30am which was very relaxing.
The hotel grounds are immaculate and one night we had a gala dinner with champagne and drinks served in the garden before an amazing dinner with numerous courses. Most people dress for dinner and the gala dinner asks for 'a touch of elegance' although there were some gents who turned up in jeans and polo shirts.
The food really is five star here and I am always cautious when booking half board, but wow, what a selection and great quality. The wine list only has Italian wines which is understandable and there are some rather nice Ischian wines available. Most evenings there was some sort of entertainment ie a pianist or singer. We didn't hang around for this but many people did.
The hotel clientele were mainly German and Russians and aged 50-plus and up to late 70s and most of them were very well fed to put it politely, so ladies, please don't worry about going on any crash diet to look good on the poolside or beach. No-one cares and you can relax. There were two pre-school children at the hotel when we were there, who were very well behaved, but there isn't much for children to do apart from use the pool and the beach, although it is packed with loungers and is not a swathe of golden sand.
The main pool was empty most of the time and the mineral pool was also used very little but it is amazing. It is about 36 degrees and there are lots of bubbling jets if you push the buttons on the poolside. It's great using this pool then taking a dip in the swimming pool.
We never had a problem getting a lounger but we did stay at the hotel from September 5 and it wasn't too busy.
The beach is also pleasant with a toilet, changing facilities and a shower room. At first it appears that people have reserved loungers by putting books and magazines on them, but it was the hotel beach attendant who does this. I am not sure why. We always got a lounger. Choose the ones away from the sea front as these can get wet when big ships pass by sending waves crashing against the sea wall.
We took snorkels and there is a bit of sea life to watch. On the beach is a little cafe called Cristinas and although it looks basic, it serves some smashing traditional food at a fraction of the cost of the hotel.
We had some great calimari, bruschetta and beer of course. Great coffee too. They are also very friendly.
We didn't use the health spa but I did pop into the gym where the indoor swimming pool is. It's very, very hot in the gym area which is separated from the pool with screens. There is a cross trainer, treadmill and bike and weight machine. The machines are pretty primitive, but you can get an hour of calorie burning in before tucking into a great evening meal. The gym and pool facilities are free and clean towels and a free water machine is available in the gym. There are no staff manning the gym, you just help yourself which is nice.
The hotel is a pleasant ten minute walk into the main shopping/restaurant area on typical cobbled streets. There is a road along the seafront which is good for running, although it is very hot and quite humid so a walk or jog is best done in the evening.
The castle is about a 25 minute walk but this is also pleasant. The island is busy, bustling and the people very friendly.
The hotel staff are very helpful and nothing is too much trouble. We made our own way to the hotel from Naples airport and on the way home we asked the concierge to organise it for us which was done efficiently. A taxi took us to the port in Ischia, our ferry tickets were organised and our luggage placed on the ferry. A limo collected us at the port in Naples and took us to the airport for just 55 Euros each, not much more than using public transport and organising it yourself.
I can't praise the staff enough who are so friendly and kind without being intrusive. There is also a small library of books in the reception area and ask the concierge for wi-fi access which is free while you stay and he/she will issue with a code to log in.
I would return to this hotel and this lovely island which has so much to offer and fewer tourists than the Amalfi coast and other parts of Italy.

Room Tip: Ensure you book a seaview balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

The Molino is positioned close to the beach with stunning views towards prochida and the Aragonese Castle. The hotel is very clean and the Spa Centre is very good. The food is good but not exceptional and the service in the resturant was inconsistant and sometimes caotic. The deal we got with Citalia was very good value, the room allocated to us was spacious considering we opted for a standard room. Would I go back, probably, but the staff need to get much better at understanding that it is the detail which makes an hotel stand out from the rest!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view as some of the lower rooms have no view at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Punta Molino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Punta Molino

Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ischia
Address: Lungomare Cristoforo Colombo, 23, 80070 Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ischia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ischia
#22 Family Hotel in Ischia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Punta Molino 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Punta Molino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Punta Molino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.