We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great food, lovely people, but slightly strange atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Pizzeria Cecilia

Ristorante Pizzeria Cecilia
Via Edgardo Cortese, 9, 80077 Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
081 991850
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 66 Restaurants in Ischia
Restaurant details
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great service, great food, lovely people, but slightly strange atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We ate here twice while on Ischia last week. The waiter (who looks like a more handsome Hank Azaria) was lovely and helpful and attentive. The pizza chef (owner?) was visible bashing the dough about which was nice, and he also did a bit of waitering when it was busy. We had pizza and seafood linguine, both of which were very good, best pizza we had on Ischia. The only thing that was slightly strange was the very quiet atmosphere. Each time we went it seemed it was quiet went we entered, with no music, which, as it is quite a large restaurant, made it feel slightly like you couldn't talk much. It was just a bit too hushed, perhaps if some music was playing then the atmosphere would feel a bit more lively. Would definitely go here again though. Lovely staff, great food, good service, just needs a bit of background noise.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    29
    27
    26
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ringsted, Vestsjalland, Denmark
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pleasant, great and cheap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We started out by not wanting to choose that place - not from any specific reason - just because we could not agree. Since we didn't wanted to look any further, we chose it anyway.

The waiter was very kind even though we were more tired than hungry and probably argued a bit. I think their friendliness changed our mood.
The food was great - better than similar restaurants on the island.

Location was just on a crossing street from the main pedestrian street - maybe that was why prices were lover than on the main-street.

Would come back? Yes. Nice, when you can eat good without feeling ripped and with a great service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Terrible experience!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

If you are English, don't bother going here!

The staff were rude and made us feel uncomfortable and unwelcome from the moment we arrived. Despite the good reviews in our guidebook of the island the pizza was disappointing. After the owner saw that we hadn't eaten most of our food, we were ignored and they made getting the bill almost impossible.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Eating at this restrauent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This was very convenient almost opposite the hotel, food was very good one night but on the second visit not as good so I didn't go back again very reasonably priced lacks a bit of atmosphere, but quite okay in terms of the food portions.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“One of the few good restaurants in Ischia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Off the main strip and about opposite to Regina Palace Best Western hotel.Food is superb and reasonably priced and the best of Italian cuisine.

If you don't like something, they deduct from the bill or replace the meal.

Staff are friendly and helpful and even though they don't speak good English, they work hard to ensure that they understand your needs.

If you do not speak Italian and have the unfortunate experience of finding yourself on holiday in Ischia, check out this restaurant and will make a significant difference to your experience.




I

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Pizzeria Cecilia also viewed

Ischia, Isola d'Ischia
Ischia, Isola d'Ischia
 

Been to Ristorante Pizzeria Cecilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Pizzeria Cecilia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.