We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“False paradise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Giardino delle Ninfe e La Fenice

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Giardino delle Ninfe e La Fenice to your Saves list
Hotel Giardino delle Ninfe e La Fenice
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Street New Cartaromana, 133 | Street New Cartaromana, 133, 80077 Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #32 of 62 Hotels in Ischia
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“False paradise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I spend vacation in this hotel in 2012.Hotel is beautifull place with wiev on Capri.The staff is good especially waitres.What was big surprice was final bill and behaviour of owners with any knowledge of english and in case of bill some trick ,price list in bar not clear finall amount higher.Pools and whirpools beautifull also garden,but false paradise .....I can not reccomend to anybody of my friends ....I am so sorry .....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    128
    42
    17
    23
See reviews for
59
189
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Let’s start with the positive:
A fantastic view of Ischia and its Castle, a wonderful Garden with the Thermal Swimming pools, a very polite and kind staff in the F&B.
Let’s continue with the negative:
The general impression was that the Hotel was very old and not at all at the standard of a 3 stars, that impression continued when we entered in the room the furniture was very old, the chairs on the balcony were broken, the shower in the bathroom (very small) broke down several times. Continuing our visit of the Hotel we discover in the way between our room and the hall, restaurant and the gardens an open laundry, the ironing room and the terrace where they dried the laundry all opened to the view of the guests and sometime not very nice to be seen. The Staff at the Reception was limited and a lot of time the owners took over. The problem is that the owners did not speak a word of English and even the basic word of the Hotellerie: an example the evening before leaving we asked for a “Late Check Out” and the owner (he was in charge at the Reception) told us that it was possible, the morning after at 11 am a person asked us to leave the room, because the owner did not understand what we have asked.
Unfortunately the negative are overcoming the positive And therefore we strongly recommend not to choose this Hotel in your staying in Ischia.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russian Black Sea Coast, Russia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I completely agree with Daniel S. and Simona S. My husband and me (60 years old) spent two weeks in this hotel and enjoyed beautiful views every day. It was not easy to overcome steep climb but we did not replace our room with another one located at the below level because our balcony view was so impressive that we did not need any other entertainments. Garden, beach and thermal pools are fascinating, food is tasty, staff is very friendly, rooms are clean and service quality is high enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The fabulous views are not for the faint hearted or for anyone with mobility difficulties because it's a long steep climb to the top via a selection of stairs, fire escape, steps and uneven road. I
asked for and got a change of room after 3 days because it was an ordeal as an overweight 58 year old!

No English speaking guests while I was there so a quiet week but staff had enough English and I had a phrase book so I managed to get all that I needed. All the staff were polite and helpful.

Downside for me was losing the sun by about 4.30 pm because the hotel is built into a hill on the east of the island - but some of the dawns were fantastic.

Showers are very small and bathrooms generally could do with some TLC but everything very clean, towels changed every day.

The buses into the port were frequent, the circular routes were really good for getting a feel for the island and the half day round the island boat trip is also worth doing.

Room Tip: If you are fit ask for a room in La Fenice. 206 combines views with a reasonable balcony. 207 has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I spent two nights in this hidden gem located not far from the Ischia Porto. I booked a room with a small balcony and a great see view (highly recommend to book a room with a view, it is not that much more expensive than a regular room). We were welcomed warmly by Lucia who works at the front desk. The room was very clean, towels are being replaced daily. Having breakfast outside on the terrace was an unforgetable experience! The hotel also has 3 thermal pools - such a great treat! Do not forget to enjoy the private beach that belongs to the hotel. There is nothing I could really complain about - if you book this 3* hotel, you will get at least 4* service. Perhaps the restaurant staff could improve their English, but it is not such a big deal, as there are always willing to get you what you need.

Room Tip: Book a room with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We were accommodated in La Fenice (part of the hotel situated higher on the hill, you have to go up the stairs), there is fantastic view to Aragon Castle and nearby islands.
Hotel staff is very kind, helpful and friendly.
Our room was nice and cleaned daily incl. towels change. Quite small bathroom.
Food is partly local and partly international, but always very tasty and prepared from fresh ingredients. Very varied breakfast.
The hotel has its own beach accessible by stairs from the garden with thermal pools. The garden it´s really relaxing place, there are grown trees under which you can find shadow even in noon (many chairs around the garden). Thermal pools are not only pools, it were designed interestingly (as volcano, small waterfall etc.).
Advantage - bus stop in front of the hotel and Ischia Porto center not more than 10 minutes.
(Aragon Castle is within walking distance.)

Room Tip: Great view from La Fenice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunas, Lithuania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

You feel like you are home. Hotel is run by family. Hotel is situated on the hill, from where you can see Castello Aragonese. The public transport station is almost at the hotel entrance, so it's very convenient. The room itself was very small, but it's enough. In the garden, during my stay, there were a lot of blooming roses and lemon on the trees, really nice country view.
The wi - fi is 3 euro for 1h.
The beach - very small, but view from there - fantastic.
Recommended hotel for cosy, Italian country holidays.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Giardino delle Ninfe e La Fenice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giardino delle Ninfe e La Fenice

Address: Street New Cartaromana, 133 | Street New Cartaromana, 133, 80077 Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 62 Hotels in Ischia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giardino delle Ninfe e La Fenice 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L' Hotel e ideale per trascorrere una vacanza in pieno relax, questo affascinante albergo sul mare, a conduzione familiare e formato da due strutture separate: il Giardino delle Ninfe, la struttura principale e la Fenice, una piccola casa molto panoramica di 20 posti letto, raggiungibile a piedi con scale interne ed esterne alla struttura principale oppure attraverso una via carrabile.L'albergo dista 1 km dal centro storico di Ischia Ponte e 2 Km dal Porto d'Ischia.Vanta un lussureggiante Parco Giardino Termale naturale con diverse vasche termali con idromassaggio, cascate, giochi d'acqua, zone prendisole sul prato all'inglese e zone relax sotto la chioma dei querceti, dal quale sia accede alla spiaggetta privata .Le camere recentemente rimodernate, arredate con gusto e confortevoli sono di tre tipologie:Camera Standard Vista Giardino Camera Standard Vista Mare Laterale Camera Superior Vista Mare Frontale (con minibar)Esse sono dotate di Tv Sat, Aria Condizionata, Cassetta di Sicurezza, Telefono, WI-FI con Bagno Privato Phon, tutte hanno balcone o terrazza (Vista Giardino o Vista Mare) Il ristorante con terrazza panoramica di fronte al Castello Aragonese propone una cucina mediterranea a base di pesce fresco e profumi ischitani. Dispone del new centro benessere "Il Ninfario", con vasca termale interna con idromassaggio, sale massaggi, bagno turco.Fermata del bus davanti all'hotel. WI-FI Zone interno ed esterno. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Giardino delle Ninfe e La Fenice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Giardino delle Ninfe e La Fenice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.