We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, great garden, own beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Giardino delle Ninfe e La Fenice

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Giardino delle Ninfe e La Fenice to your Saves list
Hotel Giardino delle Ninfe e La Fenice
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Street New Cartaromana, 133 | Street New Cartaromana, 133, 80077 Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 62 Hotels in Ischia
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great views, great garden, own beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We were accommodated in La Fenice (part of the hotel situated higher on the hill, you have to go up the stairs), there is fantastic view to Aragon Castle and nearby islands.
Hotel staff is very kind, helpful and friendly.
Our room was nice and cleaned daily incl. towels change. Quite small bathroom.
Food is partly local and partly international, but always very tasty and prepared from fresh ingredients. Very varied breakfast.
The hotel has its own beach accessible by stairs from the garden with thermal pools. The garden it´s really relaxing place, there are grown trees under which you can find shadow even in noon (many chairs around the garden). Thermal pools are not only pools, it were designed interestingly (as volcano, small waterfall etc.).
Advantage - bus stop in front of the hotel and Ischia Porto center not more than 10 minutes.
(Aragon Castle is within walking distance.)

Room Tip: Great view from La Fenice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    132
    46
    22
    30
See reviews for
65
198
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaunas, Lithuania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

You feel like you are home. Hotel is run by family. Hotel is situated on the hill, from where you can see Castello Aragonese. The public transport station is almost at the hotel entrance, so it's very convenient. The room itself was very small, but it's enough. In the garden, during my stay, there were a lot of blooming roses and lemon on the trees, really nice country view.
The wi - fi is 3 euro for 1h.
The beach - very small, but view from there - fantastic.
Recommended hotel for cosy, Italian country holidays.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofia,bulgaria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

the hotel is at cartaromana beach where the views are amazing but you need to walk a lot and I do not recomend it for disable people
also the mineral water is different from the western part - its more mineraliuzed and you can stay only for 15-20 min in pool
the hotel has a swimming pool which was not open when I was there /september/ and there are about 5 more pools with mineral water in a beautuful old garden, all together making a perfect SPA zone
I had partial sea view to the blue blue sea and a big balkony, all rooms are like this
the beach is small and you need to go down to it, which is ok, but going back is a desaster

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
118 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

The hotel itself is situated where there is a lovely view of Castello Aragonese. Its at the end of a street, near 3 other hotels, and parking is limited to the turn around area. But you don't really need a car, because a public bus comes by at least every 15 mins or so. There hotel requires walk up stairs, so be warned if you require wheelchair access. The air was still cool, so the swimming pool was empty (a disappointment) but supposedly the thermal bath was open. We did not try it since we were there for other reasons. The room was very small but adequate. The terrace had plastic chairs/tables/loungers, but there really is no privacy since your lounging neighbors can see right into your room unless you close your drapes (which then makes the room claustrophobic). The view from the terrace is okay, but if you climb up (yes, there are no stairs) you can go to another terrace where you can walk to the edge and see the glorious view. The furnishings were okay, the bed european hard. The shower was very tight, but water pressure was okay. I did use the spa facilities, but the water in the indoor bath seemed grungy. The massage was okay, but I waited for a while in the very cold lobby before the one "doctore" could see me. We had half board: the breakfast was just okay, nothing to write home about. Dinner was better, but not exceptional. We ordered just a red wine for dinner which was terrific, but later found out that it came with a "terrific" price of 30euros. Be warned, the walls are paper thin. I could hear our neighbor snoring all night so loudly that I initially thought it was my husband! I only realized that it wasn't him after I had hit him and he answered me, wide awake, himself unable to sleep because of the snoring.

The staff were friendly and they provided maps and information. The husband/wife do not speak much English, but their daughter does and was on hand for most of our translation needs. All in all, an okay stay, but I will likely try another hotel when I return to Ischia.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Without doubt, the worst hotel in Italy - and beyond! My partner and I booked a holiday at this hotel for the therapeutic waters and health spa in the hotel's grounds for my very painful back following a prolapsed disc injury. Unfortunately the hotel mattresses were so appallingly hard that I couldn't even sit on the bed for 2 minutes let alone sleep in it. We asked to change the mattresses of our 'double bed' in the superior room (which were 2 individual mattresses of differing heights pushed together!), but the alternatives they brought were either further concrete-filled ones or as soft as an overripe banana (and shaped to match when you sat on it!). We explained to the owner that if they couldn't provide standard orthopaedic quality mattresses, we simply couldn't stay there. (I knew neither my girlfriend or I would have been able to walk if we'd spent a single night there). The owner turned into an absolute ogre and was so rude and offensive she even made my partner cry. She screamed at us in Italian saying that the beds were perfectly good enough. I am a professional musician touring internationally for 8 months of the year. Never before have I been presented with such a dreadful mattress in any hotel room I've ever stayed in (back injury or no back injury). We ended up having to call Booking.com to mediate the dispute (bilingual Federica from customer services was absolutely fantastic and very professional) and we finally came to an agreement whereby we paid 2 nights (300 euros) rather than the whole week as the owner had demanded. We didn't spend a single night there needless to say and it was the most dreadful start to any trip we have ever had. The fact that no-one spoke any English didn't help the matter, and the fact that the mosquitos ravaged us in the hour we spent there also didn't leave the most pleasant of mementoes. We had to leave in the dark with nowhere to stay and 300 euros down, but we wouldn't have spent another moment there even if THEY had paid US! Also be aware that the loungers around the grounds are very grubby and have no mattresses, and the decor is incredibly dated. Think Bavarian old-style with plastic chairs and plastic flowers to match. All in all a gloomy hotel, with a nasty and aggressive matriarch at the head with absolutely no concern for the health or wellbeing of her guests. Avoid this hotel at all costs - unless you're doing penance - as the costs could be very high, financially and osteopathically! As her piece de resistance, the owner also tried to make Booking.com prohibit us from writing a review - a condition of our dispute resolution which thankfully they were democratic enough to refuse. It is worth remembering that once you've paid in full, you are not legally entitled to break that booking contract, even if (as was our case with the beds) the facilities are not of an adequate standard.

Room Tip: Note that the superior double with sea view and terrace has a great view but the 'private' t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Stayed 3 nights. Nice clean hotel, lovely room with balcony and brilliant view on sea and castle. Thermal pools in beautiful garden made for fantastic time relaxing after visiting the island.
On half board, breakfast and dinners were great. I have been pleasantly surprised by the very efficient bus system on the island: frequent buses go everywhere (stop right in front of hotel) just take your pick and go on and off. The private beach is not my cup of tea, too small and rock only access to the sea. Everything else great and very very friendly staff throughout. Well done and thanks for a great stay...
Easy to find boat to island and combined nicely with 3 days in Naples.

Room Tip: room with sea view had terrace with table and chairs and a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We stayed for one night at the Giardino delle Ninfe and had a lovely time. The private beach is charming, and the thermal pools were very relaxing. The rooms are basic, but provide everything you need. We loved waking up to the sunrise over Mt Vesuvius, and the breakfast was incredible! Only draw back for us was the distance from Ischia Ponte, but we were able to catch a bus, which goes from outside the hotel, very easily.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ischia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Ninfea
Hotel La Ninfea
#31 of 62 in Ischia
4.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
0.6 mi away
Miramare e Castello Hotel
1.1 mi away
Il Moresco Hotel
Il Moresco Hotel
#8 of 62 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 stars 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa Durrueli
Villa Durrueli
#16 of 62 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 stars 633 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le Querce Hotel
Le Querce Hotel
#19 of 62 in Ischia
4.0 of 5 stars 617 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aragona Palace Hotel
Aragona Palace Hotel
#1 of 62 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 stars 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giardino delle Ninfe e La Fenice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giardino delle Ninfe e La Fenice

Address: Street New Cartaromana, 133 | Street New Cartaromana, 133, 80077 Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 62 Hotels in Ischia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giardino delle Ninfe e La Fenice 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L' Hotel e ideale per trascorrere una vacanza in pieno relax, questo affascinante albergo sul mare, a conduzione familiare e formato da due strutture separate: il Giardino delle Ninfe, la struttura principale e la Fenice, una piccola casa molto panoramica di 20 posti letto, raggiungibile a piedi con scale interne ed esterne alla struttura principale oppure attraverso una via carrabile.L'albergo dista 1 km dal centro storico di Ischia Ponte e 2 Km dal Porto d'Ischia.Vanta un lussureggiante Parco Giardino Termale naturale con diverse vasche termali con idromassaggio, cascate, giochi d'acqua, zone prendisole sul prato all'inglese e zone relax sotto la chioma dei querceti, dal quale sia accede alla spiaggetta privata .Le camere recentemente rimodernate, arredate con gusto e confortevoli sono di tre tipologie:Camera Standard Vista Giardino Camera Standard Vista Mare Laterale Camera Superior Vista Mare Frontale (con minibar)Esse sono dotate di Tv Sat, Aria Condizionata, Cassetta di Sicurezza, Telefono, WI-FI con Bagno Privato Phon, tutte hanno balcone o terrazza (Vista Giardino o Vista Mare) Il ristorante con terrazza panoramica di fronte al Castello Aragonese propone una cucina mediterranea a base di pesce fresco e profumi ischitani. Dispone del new centro benessere "Il Ninfario", con vasca termale interna con idromassaggio, sale massaggi, bagno turco.Fermata del bus davanti all'hotel. WI-FI Zone interno ed esterno. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Giardino delle Ninfe e La Fenice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Giardino delle Ninfe e La Fenice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.