We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surprise! Cheap, cosy and newly refurbished hotel in ischia downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rivamare

Save Saved
You added Hotel Rivamare to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Rivamare
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Enea 26, 80070 Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 66 hotels in Ischia
milano
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great surprise! Cheap, cosy and newly refurbished hotel in ischia downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011 via mobile

Our stay at the Rivamare was a great surprise: the hotel is right on the beach, 3 min walk from the city center, it has been recently refurbished, rooms are small but cosy and very clean with a/c, tv, hairdryer. We paid only 60€ so i strongly suggest it to anyone who wants to stay in the center of Ischia. It is only 20 min walk from ischia ponte which is one of the best attractions of the island. Try the Giardino degli Aranci - the restaurant at the top of the hotel street - it is an unexpecyed folkloristic experience.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    43
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
54
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011 via mobile

Lovely hotel only ten mins walk from the ischia marina and located 10 feet from the beach. Plenty of restaurants, shops and cafes nearby.
Hotel is nice, clean and hidden down a quiet street. The single room is a tiny, tiny space tucked in along the passage at the back of the hotel. The bed is a French day bed, at 5'8 I was touching the end of it, so I don't recommend this style room for anyone taller! The bathroom is clean but awkward to manoeuver, and the shower height can be adjusted. Hairdryer doesn't work and toilet had issues.
Staff in morning are very welcoming, full of compliments. Private beach access is provided and for seven euros you can chill here all day. Breakfast included but you are better heading to a cafe for a real coffee and brioche!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Rivamare for one night only. We chose this hotel based on price, location and the Trip Advisor reviews and given that it was August, high season for Italians, we were afraid we would not find a quality hotel. Not the case here. It's close to the main port and if you're going for value, you can't go wrong with Rivamare. The free breakfast was the standard Italian offering...pastries, breads with meats & cheeses, yogurt, cereals, coffee machine, juices. The staff is very friendly and the room was a nice size and clean. We were happy with the hotel and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

We stayed at the Rivamare for 3 nights at the end of September and, after seeing some of the other hotels we were deliberating about, were so glad we chose this hotel. The location was perfect for the small beach (i.e. right on it) and convenient for exploring the island and strolling around Ischia Porto during the evening. There is a small charge to use the small section of beach in front of the hotel but, as we only had a short break and the weather was mixed, we just strolled along the beach and had a swim on one of our days without actually paying for the facilities. We would advise booking one of the seaview rooms with terrace, The room (309) had a huge terrace and was spotlessly clean, the staff extremely helpful and the breakfast ok

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

We stayed for a weekend and we loved it. the staff was very friendly and professional, the room was very clean and the balcony on the Mediterannean Sea was huge. We did a lot of sightseeing around the island (that is beautiful) but probably should have just stayed in Ischia Porto and enjoyed the beautiful hotel and its terrace, the food and the nice shopping. Hopefully next time! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

My sister and I stayed here for 5 days and had a great stay. The staff are very friendly and most helpful with any queries about Ischia and where to go. The hotel is within 5 minutes walk of Ischia Porto and transport but is in a very quiet location on the beach. The room was spacious and clean and extra pillows were provided when requested. The breakfast each morning was sufficient and delicious.

Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

We arrived at the Rivamare hot and tired, and were immediately offered a chilled drink on the terrace. A great start!

We stayed in room 309, which has a HUGE terrace (see pics) with 180 degree views of the sea. It had a table and chairs, deckchairs, and still loads of space leftover. Our room was not big, as it had an extra bed in it, but it was clean and prettily decorated. It did smell slightly of cigarettes (possibly coming from the room next door) so perhaps it would be better to request a non-smoking room if this bothers you. The air conditioning was the best I've ever experience, essential in July as it gets very, very hot.

All the staff that we met were delightful, always gracious and smiling. Breakfast is served on the lovely breakfast terrace, and consists of the basics, bread rolls, croissants, doughnut type creations, yoghurt, fruit juice and cereal. All fresh and still plenty to choose from even at the end of breakfast time.

Ischia itself is beautiful, the main street is full of pretty shops and restaurants, and is lined with oleander trees. It was busy with people wandering until gone midnight even midweek while we were there - a really lovely atmosphere. The Rivamare is only one minute from the main street, but it is completely peaceful and right on the beach. Perfect location, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Rivamare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rivamare

Address: Via Enea 26, 80070 Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 66 hotels in Ischia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rivamare 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Rivamare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rivamare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.