We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Repas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Da Ciccio

Da Ciccio
Via luigi mazzella 32, Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
0039081991686
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 67 Restaurants in Ischia
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
ontario
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Excellent Repas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Recommendation from the castle. The ristorante is quaint, clean and accessible. Greeted by the owner, then by the chef, then by a couple of waiters all very friendly! Asked for a couple of items not on the menu.. No problem! A varied menu, mostly fish & pasta with a couple of meats. Pleasant outdoor seating. The ristorante is popular and seems to be a hub of activity. A complimentary Prosecco started the festivities followed by dinner. A couple of hours enjoying the world going by! Limoncello again complimentary at the end of the meal. Very reasonable.
If by the castle please drop in!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    209
    45
    20
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A very welcoming place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I have a warm spot in my heart for this place. The owner saw us viewing the menu outside and offered to help explain the specialties. He was softly spoken and explained three or four of their main dishes, then thanked us for letting him take our time. We thought the menu looked good, so we took up his offer and went in. One thing I like about Italy, and Ischia in particular, is the hospitality of the people running the restaurants. Though it normally would never be considered “fine dining” in the traditional sense of the word, they make up for it with excellent food and hospitality.

The meal started with an aperitif, then a light snack of some nuts, snack crackers and bread with a drink (beer for me and prosecco for my wife). Dinner can be several courses with dessert and coffee and limoncello to complete it. We spent around two and a half hours eating (which is pretty standard for the locals) and enjoying the atmosphere. We started around 8 pm or so and left after 10:30 (they don’t even open until 7 pm). We walked back to the hotel and it was around 11. Dinner is far later than Americans are used to.

The owner spoke with us at length and told us that he had never had anyone from Oklahoma in his restaurant before. He said he liked to know where his guests were from, and welcomed us into his "family" from around the world. He made us feel completely welcome from the very beginning. The chef came out to speak with some of the locals on a couple of occasions, and said hello to us as well. The next day we saw him across the street as we walked by and he nodded in recognition and waved to us.

It’s a place I’d go back to again and again if I lived on the island of Ischia, or could visit again in the future. Because of the service and friendliness of the entire staff I very highly recommend this place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Excellent food, but odd service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

There was absolutely nothing wrong with the dishes they served us. Not a thing. I bet the list varies quite a lot, but if there's ever a carpaccio on it, take it! But the service...

We didn't have a reservation, because it was a peaceful week night and very few places in Ischia Ponte seem to require a reservation. The restaurant was completely empty as we arrived, but we were turned down at the door. "There is a large group coming any minute", the man said. "I can't give away their seats", he explained. We turned around to find somewhere else to eat, when the man shouted after us: "Would you mind, if the table's not in the main room?" We didn't.

We were seated into a small space separated from the main room by a wall and a curtain covering the doorway so, that we could only hear what was going on in the main room. The man, apparently the owner or his son, was seemingly polite, as were all the busboys and waiters that attended to us during the one and a half hours we sat behind the curtain, But it seemed to us after a while, that the attentiveness was unfortunately mainly due to suspicion that we would dine'n'dash. This constant checking-up on us did not exactly make the night perfect.

Sigh. We could have easily sat in the main room, in plain sight of the suspicious owner. As we had finished the three-course meal and paid for it, the main room was still as empty as it was when we arrived.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Charming restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The pasta is fresh and delicious. Da Ciccio is a lovely choice for lunch or dinner after visiting the nearby castle.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“comfortably”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Tasty and inexpensive, a wide choice of dishes, good maintenance.Good place if you want a quick bite to eat

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Ciccio also viewed

 
Ischia, Isola d'Ischia
Ischia, Isola d'Ischia
 

Been to Da Ciccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da Ciccio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.