We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Antares

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Antares to your Saves list
Hotel Antares
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Litoranea, 45, 80076 Lacco Ameno, Isola d'Ischia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Lacco Ameno
New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very pleasant experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I loved it. I found the place sweet, welcoming and fun. It's perfectly clean and cheerful -- I appreciated that there was a free computer to use for email, not just wifi. The food was very good, served rather formally. The staff could communicate in English adequately, and were as helpful and nice as possible. You should know: it's popular with Italian families, and they generally don't speak English. Also: It's not actually in the town of Lacco Ameno, but about a 10 minute walk from there. It's across the street from a nice little beach, and there's a tunnel under the road to get to it.
The town is charming and low key. If you go, don't miss the terrific museum, Archeologico di Pithecusae.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nunziante S, Direttore at Hotel Antares, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

we are very glad to read about your opinion and review of your stay at our Hotel. Most of all, we appreciate that you found welcoming the general location, as well you met the occasion of your stay with the right mood, through appreciating the experience of a "fun company" with Italian families, especially from the south.
We thank you very much for this review, hoping that you will be back again to us, if you choose Ischia for your next holiday trip!

Regards
Nunzio Salvati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    75
    19
    10
    17
See reviews for
44
83
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Hotel Antares.

All the staff are super welcome and professional. I highly reccommend this hotel not only for the price but for the quality. Rooms are very clean and spacious.

Very happy and ill be back soon..

Thank you for the great time spent in Ischia.
Ciao!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nunziante S, Direttore at Hotel Antares, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Customer,
thank you for your positive review of our hotel. It is our standard to make feel comfortable and welcome our customers.
We wish you come back to us, if you choose to come back again on our beautiful island.
Best regards
Nunzio Salvati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Antares because of the rating on Trip Advisor and it was a good price.

I wish we had paid more money somewhere else.

This was definitely an Italian clientel hotel. The staff spoke very limited English..and one young girl had me type into google translater to understand anything I said.

The hotel was run down and needed updating. The rooms were ok, nothing great at all..we had the seaview in room 208. The side view was of a neighbors yucky yard.

The shower leaked..and was so tiny we could barely get in..anyone over weight would have difficulty showering. I couldn't even shave my legs in the shower. Enough said.

The manager or owner seemed frazzled all the time..like there wasn't enough time to get everything done. He did try and be helpful..but spoke limited English.

It was a busy intersectiion..but the noise wasn't bad at night if the windows were closed. The beach was ok..you can access it through a little tunnel for safety without having to cross the street. We had to rent a chair and umbrella..but the food was very good on the beach! There was a lot of trash floating in the water and some on the beach.

The breakfast at the hotel was ok..nothing great.

I would not recommend this hotel..I feel bad saying it..but it wasn't worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nunziante S, Direttore at Hotel Antares, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Customer,
we regret that you did feel not at our hotel.
We accept fully your critic review and we will improve our standard, so that the future clients can find better hospitality and comfort, and foreign language available in services.
Our hotel accomodate anyway according the 3-stars standard, and it has needs to offer "nothing great". Our breakfast is fully plenty.
Best regards
Nunzio Salvati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I was in town for a family event and this was the nearest hotel with vacant rooms to the part of Ischia I had to be in.

I made a habit of basing my hotel choices on Tripadvisor reviews and it had never failed until I decided to stay at Hotel Antares with my family. Before I say anything, I would like to mention that I am a reasonable customer and it doesn’t take much to make me happy.

I don’t know HOW this hotel earned 4 points on Tripadvisor, let alone their 3-star rating.

The only good thing I can say about this hotel is that the rooms were big with ample room for luggage. There won’t be anything positive said beyond this point.

First off, there are stairs everywhere in this hotel (including the walkway to the front door) and no elevator in the building. So if you travel with full size suitcases, you either have to wait for a staff member to carry for you or suck it up and do some serious weightlifting.

When booking online, I was advised there were no rooms that could accommodate 3 adults, so we ended up booking 2 rooms. Upon our arrival, we discovered that there were 3 beds in each room and 3 adults could have been easily accommodated. Moreover, there was enough space in each room for another 2 or 3 beds. One of the rooms turned out to be a smoker and had to be switched for a smaller one but with a much bigger bathroom.

The other room’s bathroom not only was small but also very uncomfortable. I couldn’t resist taking a picture. It was impossible to use the sink without hitting the shelf or literally putting your head between the sink and the shelf. One had to stand (or sit) on some weird angle to be able to use the toilet bowl. Getting to the bowl without hitting anything was a bonus. This bathroom made economy class aircraft washrooms look like a 5-star hotel.

The building is situated on a T-intersection and one of the streets takes to a hospital and a police station. This will keep you informed of every single emergency in town, as emergency vehicle sirens are VERY loud. And, let me tell you, those emergencies happen quite often.

Another big issue (which staff is well aware of) is Wi-Fi. Connection is too weak for 2nd and 3rd floor rooms. So every time I needed to go online on my laptop I had to either carry it down to the lobby or sit on the 2nd floor patio (that never had clean chairs and I don’t think anyone cleaned the tables either).

My family and I fluently speak 4 (that’s four) languages but communication with staff was very difficult, which added to the frustration. Staff spoke nothing but Italian and some broken English, which wouldn’t take you anywhere. The place is family-operated with a “take it or leave it” attitude.

Many other little things, that aren’t worth mentioning, convinced us that this hotel’s agenda is to squeeze maximum income out of each guest and help their affiliates (taxi drivers etc) to have their turn, too.

Prior to visiting Hotel Antares I had stayed at another 3-star hotel in Rome, so I had a chance to compare the two back-to-back. This hotel’s star rating should be revised.

Ischia is not my frequent destination, so saying I won’t be back doesn’t mean anything. But I will be sure to warn everyone I can to stay away from Antares.

Even Cuban resorts had left a better impression.

Room Tip: If nothing else is available and you absolutely have to stay at this hotel, inspect the room before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nunziante S, Direttore at Hotel Antares, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Customer,
we regret for your bad feeling at hotel Antares.
Of course, we accept your critic review, and we will work harder to improve our standard. In the hotel structure, in the services, in the general relationship to customers, in improving the knowledge of English language.
Kind regards
Nunzio Salvati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We booked this hotel for late August after spending a week travelling through Rome and the Amalfi Coast. We were disapointed on our arrival as the outside of the hotel looks nothing like it is portrayed in the photo's and is situated on a very busy junction on a main road. The area it is situated in is also quite run down. As for it being on the beach this is completely misleading. You have to cross the busy main road to get to the beach (although I understand there is some sort of underpass that will also take you there). The section of beach that is free for hotel users is tiny - you probably couldn't fit more than half a dozen people on there. Also there are no sunbeds or deckchairs on this tiny section of the beach, if you want these you have to go on the paying part of the beach and this can get expensive. The hotel room itself was awful - the walls were crumbling and plaster was falling off the walls, this was particularly bad around the window. There was also huge patches of damp and mould on the walls near to where our daughter's bed was situated. The matress on our daughters bed was filthy, and there was a blood stain on the bedspread of our bed. The bathroom was disgusting, I am not sure if you could even call it a bathroom! The shower consisted of a plug hole in the corner of the bathroom floor with a plastic partition separating it from the toilet. It didn't look very clean either. There were also ants crawling everywhere in the bathroom, and also on our daughters bed. We asked to be moved to a different room but were told there were none available. We decided at this point that we just couldn't continue to stay here and left the next morning (we would have left the same night but it was too late). The only positive thing we can say is that the hotel manager did help us by contacting another hotel that we had found on the internet and made arrangements for us to go there. However, I think this was the least he could do after renting out such an awful room. The room number was 101 - beware! The manager also had the cheek to charge us for the one night we stayed in the room - 87 Euro's! I wouldn't have paid for my dog to stay in this dump! My advice - don't risk booking this hotel - there are plenty of other hotels in nicer area's on Ischia.

Room Tip: Avoid room 101!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nunziante S, Direttore at Hotel Antares, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Customer,
we regret for your bad experience at hotel Antares.
We take the occasion from your critic review to work harder to improve our standard, according to the expectations of our guests.
Kind regards
Nunzio Salvati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

This hotel is especially for someone who wants to see the island. The bus stop is only a few feet from the entrance of the Hotel. The rooms were clean and cozy. It was on a main street so at times at night you could hear the traffic outside but that did not keep us from sleeping. The hotel staff was very friendly, gracious, and the first day they took time explain what we must see on the island! We took the ferry boat that docks at casamicciole and walked to the hotel it was a straight shot and only about a 10 minute walk. There is a beach that you can go to that is in front of the hotel and convenient but if you are only spending a few days on the island I suggest to travel because the bus system is so easy and the hole island round trip is only about 1 ½ hour round trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nunziante S, Direttore at Hotel Antares, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Customer,
thank you for your positive review of our hotel. It is our standard to make feel comfortable and welcome our customers.
We are glad to know you felt fine, and we are encouraged to do more and much more for our guests.
We hope to see you again!
Best regards
Nunzio Salvati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

I had a lovely holiday in this little three star hotel at Ischia. My boyfriend and I wanted a relaxing holiday, and it turned out even to be better. The hotel has a great location, in front there is a bus stop with buses every 10 min that will take you easily around or 10-15 min by foot and you have the option to be or at Lacco Ameno or Casamicciola, were there are bars, shops and a lovely square.
The staff is friendly and always ready to help, the rooms are clean, the breakfast was great, and even the dinner. All little details that make it cosy, the fresh flowers and the red fish at the reception. Free internet available in the rooms, a small relaxing pool and the option to have a massage or other treatments at the beauty centre.
All recommend it to all!

Room Tip: I'll recommend the sea view rooms, every morning the sea is just there
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antares2, Direttore at Hotel Antares, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Dear Guests,
thank you very much for your lovely appreciations; we did our best for your well-being, as well it’s
even true that the details are the difference in the customer relationship.
We hope to see you again at Ischia and we will be glad to welcome you again in our hotel! Thanks!
Nunzio Salvati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Antares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antares

Address: Via Litoranea, 45, 80076 Lacco Ameno, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Lacco Ameno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lacco Ameno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Antares 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Antares lies close to the sea, on the coast road that joins Casamicciola Terme to Lacco Ameno. In fact, a small private subway leads to a modest-sized beach. The trendiest centres, including the thermal commune par excellence, Casamicciola Terme, as well as the famous Lacco Ameno with Corso Angelo Rizzoli, its VIP guests and prestigious boutiques are all very close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Antares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antares Hotel Lacco Ameno
Hotel Antares Isola D'Ischia, Italy - Lacco Ameno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Antares, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.