We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many Great Features Some Small Improvements Required” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Montano Resort & SPA

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added San Montano Resort & SPA to your Saves list
San Montano Resort & SPA
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Monte Vico, 80076 Lacco Ameno, Isola d'Ischia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Lacco Ameno
Skipton
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Many Great Features Some Small Improvements Required”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent a week at this hotel. This was our first visit and we were impressed with many aspects.

The positive aspects were the superb location, friendly and efficient staff who worked tirelessly to ensure that our holiday was enjoyable.
Special mention to Vincenzo on Reception. Nicola, Franco and Oksana in the restaurant and Nicola in the bar area.

The shuttle bus system worked well and was a real bonus. The pool area was always well maintained by the attendant. The pool was always warm the Spa was well equipped.

The small negative aspect was that some of the evening meals were not of a 5 star standard. The manager dealt efficiently with this issue. We hope that the necessary changes will be made.

Overall a very good hotel that we would have rated higher without the food issue.

Would we return again, yes we will. We returned home well rested and overall very satisfied.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurizio O, Direttore at San Montano Resort & SPA, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Madame/Sir,
first of all I would like to thank you for the nice and constructive comments that I will personal bring to all my employee's attention. Compliments are always welcome but in order to improve our quality of service we need to know where to concentrate most , and your observation will have a follow up with the department involved.
Once again thank you very much and I really hope to see you back at our Resort

Grazie!
Maurizio Orlacchio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    44
    9
    12
    6
See reviews for
39
108
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I would recommend the San Montano to anyone who values good service, superb sea views from every part of the hotel, good food (the antipasti buffet is mouth watering), and old fashioned, all round comfort. The waiters' ballet at mealtimes is a joy to behold and they always remember your room number. The selection of hot (fed by volcanic springs) and cold pools is excellent and I can't wait to return. Perfect for a special break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor or above as you may not get a full sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurizio O, Direttore at San Montano Resort & SPA, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Madame, thank you very much for your nice comment that I will personally share with my employees, and we look forward to welcome you back at San Montano Resort&Spa, to offer you another wonderful stay.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

For Americans Ischia is not a top destination as a matter of fact non of our fairly well traveled friends had even heard of it. We were traveling with our daughter who is studying for the semester in Florence. We have been to Italy over the past years and wanted to do something different. We took a train from Rome to Naples (1 hour) and then a ferry to Ischia (1hour ). When we arrived in Ischia it was easy to get a taxi to San Montano Resort. Wow! Breathtakingly beautiful!! The staff although not all English speaking made us feel right at home. Our room and the entire property was meticulous. The service and the food excellent. On our last day they let us stay in our room past check out time to go down to the beach for a few hours and then return to shower. Even though we came at the end of the season the staff and all those around were exceptionally gracious. We can't wait to go back!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurizio O, Direttore at San Montano Resort & SPA, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Ms Wendy. An happy guest ,after the first visit at San Montano Resort&Spa, is for all of us a great satisfaction. The season is ending in few days but I will share your comments with all my employees to prove that an attentive service is the key of succes in the hospitality business, and we strive every day to accomplish any guest wish.
Looking forward to welcome you back at San Montano Resort&Spa I send you my best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Found this hotel on Secret Escapes and had a cheeky week in July. Flew to Naples then took the ferry to Ischia. The ferry ticket area was a little chaotic, Italians don't queue! And standing on the port felt like you were emigrating to America..

On arrival the chaos faded away, we were met with a limo at the port courtesy of the hotel. On check in we were allocated a sea view room with views over the sea towards Vesuvius through some huge scots pine trees in the gardens, absolutely stunning!
We had booked on a dinner B & B basis. Dinner was 5 courses (3 served and 2 buffet service), the restaurant terrace overlooked the mountains and the sunset, the waiters were all very friendly and helpful and very attentive. The food was excellent and different every night, enough choice for all tastes. We swapped dinner for lunch one day and the lunch was superb, needed an afternoon nap to recover!

The pools are fantastic (7) , all have great views and do not get crowded. A few of them have spa buttons so you can outdoor jacuzzi to relax. The lunch bar was great for drinks and you can be served around the pool if you wish. The setting is just superb on the top of the hill overlooking the bay of Laco Ameno. Truly stunning.

A courtesy car will take you into town anytime you want and the hotel also has sun loungers on the beach free to use, again a car will take you and bring you back.

The rooms are quite old fashioned, but classic. All you need and cool out of the sun and heat. The cleaning staff bring you cakes when they change the towels!

This hotel is a real hidden gem, if you want something special then this is it. Go for the DBB option, it is worth it, you will not be disappointed with the food.

Room Tip: Don't miss out on a sea view, go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

In this beautiful hotel we spent unforgettable days in August 2013.
We are very grateful to whole hotel staff for our special evening and photo session arrangement on occasion of our wedding anniversary.
The hotel provides with all conditions for paradise holyday:
- From any place of hotel we can see beautiful panoramic view of sea and mountains
- There are verities of thermal swimming pools
- Excellent cuisine
- And the most important – very professional and well-wishing staff
That’s why we recommend to all to come to the hotel San Montano for recreation and holiday!

Room Tip: Superior Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have just returned from a thoroughly relaxing holiday at this hotel. We had a suite which was beautiful and our daughters had a standard room which was a bit small but okay. The service was very good especially on the reception desk from Annalisa and Vincenzio. Do have them arrange transport from the airport even if it is more expensive than doing it yourself as it makes everything a lot easier and much smoother - otherwise you'll have to decide whether to buy ferry or hydrofoil tickets and which company to use. This is fine when you know what you're doing but difficult with limited italian and just having stepped off a flight. We also had the hotel arrange a trip to Pompei for us (excellent - do it!!) and another day they helped us go to Naples (by now we were getting the hand of the hydrofoil tickets and companies). At the hotel the pools are beautifully warm - the views spectacular and the poolattendant is an absolute gem. There are no problems with sun loungers or shade. There are two large thermal saltwater pools and a number of smaller ones all with various water features and jacuzzi type air blowers. We went to the beach once but it was crowded and noisy and we were glad to go back to the haven of the hotel pools. The restaurant is very pleasant but at a fixed 40euros per person per evening we tended to go to the village restaurants as we are not huge eaters and really couldn't face the buffet style amount that could justify this. There is a small bar with a limited menu that we used for lunch which was very nice and the service here and around the pool was excellent. It would have been nice if there were more eating options in the hotel in the evening but the shuttle service to the village is good. One thing worth knowing is that this hotel does not have a pillow menu and if you want a feather pillow bring your own otherwise it's sponge, sponge, sponge!! Our bed was okay but my daughters beds were very firm. The hotel doesn't have a shop either which is a pity so you can't buy forgotten items or a new swimsuit without going to the village. We used some tratments at the spa and it is worth noting that they use male and female staff so ask if you have a preference.
We fully intend to return and possibly will combine with a few days in Rome next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Have just returned from a truly fantastic week at this hotel. Our room was perfect, good air conditioning, and the most amazing view. The staff were lovely (except for the scary Spa reception lady), and not stuffy at all. We laughed most evenings with the waiters, and would have to say that if you found the staff unfriendly, I expect that you were not friendly to them.

The food was amazing, we were there on a half board basis, and the breakfast and evening meals were superb, we did not have one poor meal. And the setting on the terrace in the evenings was one of the best I have ever have sat at, with beautiful sunsets..

The pools were clean, the areas around the pools kept spotless, and the pool attendant so attentive. We kept to the cooler lower pool as we were away from most people and we liked to be a little louder than the other people staying there!!

Ischia is a beautiful Island and well worth looking round. We did a lovely boat trip around the Island, well worth it; and a wine tasting trip, great fun, and travelled a little around the Island on the local bus system.

I really cannot fault this hotel, and any small problems we had were soon sorted by an efficient manager.

We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: A room with a sea view is worth it, amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to San Montano Resort & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Montano Resort & SPA

Address: Via Monte Vico, 80076 Lacco Ameno, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Lacco Ameno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lacco Ameno
#1 Spa Hotel in Lacco Ameno
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lacco Ameno
#2 Family Hotel in Lacco Ameno
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lacco Ameno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — San Montano Resort & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your San Montano Resort & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo San Montano Hotel Lacco Ameno
San Montano Resort & SPA Isola D'Ischia, Italy - Lacco Ameno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Montano Resort & SPA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.