We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Montano Resort & SPA

Save Saved
You added San Montano Resort & SPA to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
San Montano Resort & SPA
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Monte Vico, 80076 Lacco Ameno, Isola d'Ischia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Lacco Ameno
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed in San Montano in June and loved our week there. The aim was to rest and relax and we managed that, our room had a sea view which was amazing. We stayed by the pool most days, we preferred it to the beach as there were many options for bathing and the main pool with it's thermal salts was blissful. Breakfast and lunch at the hotel was really good, we had dinner in the hotel one night but for the rest of the week went down to Lacco Ameno and tried out different restaurants there. The hotels shuttle service to the town is very efficient. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    33
    9
    12
    4
See reviews for
29
80
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great choice for demanding guests.Very relaxing place with great views over the bay of Lacco Ameno (25 from Porto Ischia) with large charming territory,several swimming pools and extremely professional multilingual staff.Among exceptional advantages:spacious 2 level rooms (we stayed in junior suite) with terrace,delightful food (great seafood gala dinner buffet in sunday!),and top level service,that made all the difference!to reach the beach - shuttle bus from hotel - 5min,on request,no additional charge, for the sun bed and umbrella - neither.Also you can ask shuttle car from the port at arrival,hotel kindly offer it.The only disadvantage i could mention - thermal water pools are not suitable for children,so if you travel with little ones - there will be only one seawater pool to swim in (but breathtaking panorama). Yes,also - great spa facilities! A la carte or 2-4-5 days treatments for fair money, but that really make you feel better and totally relaxed.I could not wish better for location/service/facilities,hotel certainly was above all expectations.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel for 4 nights in the Junior Suite with a Sea View. The Service was excellent and the rooms were excellent. The Food was also excellent and the we enjoyed to the core.

The Only sore point was that there are a few restrictions placed on the people visiting the beach which is being accessed by the Hotel.

Room Tip: I would recommend the Junior Suite, since it has a brilliant Sea View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

What a superb find this was. This hotel is positioned at the very top of montano and the views are some of the most beautiful panoramic views that we have experienced in our many years of travel.
We were greeted by the hotel reception staff and escoted around the hotel and its facilities and then taken to our room, with sea view - fantastic! The hotel is a genuine 5 star and although the rooms could be larger, they are comfortable.
The pools were great. The larger pool was at a constant temperature, with the second pool just welcoming you after spending time in the hot glorious sun. On the same level you have a jacuzzi. Just sit down and enjoy - you will be in heaven. The thermal pools are a must again with such fantastic views (can you tell I want to be back there!). The SPA itself was so so relaxing. We were lucky to have a complimentary body massage and could have easily stayed all day. We would have gone back but found it very expensive - but it seemed very popular with the ladies - there husbands and partners are picking up the bills now!!
Breakfast buffet - Ample choice with some hot dishes as well. A good variety of food to choose from and you will not go away feeling hungry. The evening meal - The food was some of the best we have experienced in a hotel. You normally just have a buffet - and you do here too but that is for your 1st course and dessert. Courses 2 & 3 are from a choice of menu. You will not be dissappointed. Our Saturday night meal consisted of Lobster, Oysters, Sword Fish, Giant Prawns and many more. If you are not a fish lover, there were plenty of alternatives.
The staff were absolutely great. Efficient, friendly and helpful. In particular, the hotel (Cristina) arranged for our taxi pick up at the airport which took us to the port of Naples. The taxi driver sat us down in a bar, bought us coffee and went to collect our tickets for the ferry to Ischia. There we were met by the hotel limo which took us to the hotel. Whenever we wanted to go into town or hotel beech, the hotel shuttle was available. They also arranged our trip back to the airport.
Our experience has left us with the desire to return next year. You will not be disappointed if you select this hotel and am sure you will enjoy it as much as we did.

Room Tip: The main hotel rooms are in our opinion, small but we understand that the superior and suites are mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We came to San Montano Resort after a less then stellar stay on Capri. Ischia is beautiful from all angles and the people are so friendly. Francesco who works the shuttle was the first person we met from the resort and I can not even begin to say how friendly and kind he is. When we entered the hotel we were greeted by the general manager and given a personal tour of the hotel before being escorted to our room. We booked a suite and it was roomy and extremely clean. The wait staff at the restaurant wear the formal attire and give the most excellent service. Every person you meet at this hotel is very attentive to detail and your happiness. We truly loved the waiter Franco who was very helpful! Vincenzo at the front desk is very accommodating as well. He was able to charter us a boat, find a babysitter, recommend restaurants, etc. The pools are beautiful and well maintained. My only complaint about the resort was the area where you receive spa services. I found it a little bit cold and sterile rather then warm and luxurious. The pool spa and gym are very nice and modern. There is beaches nearby that the shuttle will gladly take you to which we also enjoyed. Breakfast is the most incredible spread of beautiful fruits, meats and breads! We will definitely be returning next year and look forward to our next trip!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed at the hotel June 15th thru June 18th. I booked it through Luxury Link. What a great find! The views are amazing! I loved sitting in the infinity thermal pool and looking out at the marina. I found that front desk staff that spoke English were good. Annalisa was especially great! The resort provides shuttle service to the town and to the beach which was very useful.
The hotel doesn't get many US tourists so it has a different feel than hotels that cater to Americans. I have to say I will definitely go back!

Room Tip: S1 is a duplex with an amazing view of the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We recently stayed at San Montano for a week at the end of our honeymoon and loved it! The spa is set in a fantastic location with stunning 360 degree views from the top of the cliff.
The thermal pools are gorgeous, breakfast was fantastic, the free shuttle service to the town of Laccoliths Amenorrhea and the beach was a real plus. We used this daily to eat in town as the dinner was a buffet every day which isn't really our thing and was rather expensive.
The spa downstairs was beautiful and the staff down there were incredibly friendly and helpful. The hotel is very clean and the chambermaids also very sweet.
Sadly however this wasn't matched by their colleagues upstairs. While efficient to a point, the front desk and pool staff are rather unfriendly and you felt as though you were putting them out a bit if you asked for anything. While they would never say no, it was rarely service with a smile. When we told them we had just got married for example, our reply was a curt nod!
I'm not sure either that the attention to detail was deserving of the 5* rating. Our robes (which you spend most of the day in) we're not changed once. There were no hand/hair towels in the bathrooms, no spare pillows or quilts in the wardrobes...
The double room is made up of two single beds pushed together (not uncommon for Italy I know) but they were made up as single beds also, so if you want to get near your partner you need to remake the bed!
Finally, the map in the room of the hotel is years out of date, so when we got ready for a game of tennis and were struggling to find the courts, we asked reception to find out they had been closed years ago!! Update your information San Montano. FYI there are no table tennis or bowls greens either. There was also no information anywhere in the hotel about the rest of the island.
Amazing hotel, needs a service overhaul.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Montano Resort & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Montano Resort & SPA

Address: Via Monte Vico, 80076 Lacco Ameno, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Lacco Ameno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lacco Ameno
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lacco Ameno
#1 Spa Hotel in Lacco Ameno
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lacco Ameno
#5 Family Hotel in Lacco Ameno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — San Montano Resort & SPA 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your San Montano Resort & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo San Montano Hotel Lacco Ameno
San Montano Resort & SPA Isola D'Ischia, Italy - Lacco Ameno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Montano Resort & SPA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.