We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Escapade in the Gulf of Naples Section II” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Montano Resort & SPA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added San Montano Resort & SPA to your Saves list
San Montano Resort & SPA
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Monte Vico, 80076 Lacco Ameno, Isola d'Ischia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Lacco Ameno
Certificate of Excellence 2014
lugano
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Romantic Escapade in the Gulf of Naples Section II”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Romantic Hotel located on the top of an hill which dominates the Baia of San Montano on the left side and the village of Lacco Ameno on the other site (with the famous "Fungo"). Breath taking views excellent mediterranean cuisine, SPA and wellness facilities, heated pool in a beautiful garden. Rooms are quite old fashioned, but clean and comfortable. Regular mini bus fares to the beach San Montano and the nearby thermal Park, and the village of Lacco Ameno. Do not miss the superb dinner appetizer buffett and the a la carte dinner. Ask the very helpful staff and concierge about any informations You may need.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room Looking down to Lacco Ameno and in very clear days Naples and the Vesuvio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    45
    9
    12
    6
See reviews for
40
109
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Odessa, Ukraine
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

It was our first time on Ischia and we’re glad we've chosen San Montano. We’ve traveled all around the island, and views from San Montano are definitely the best! It was also important that the hotel has awesome pool/spa area and a beach that you can reach in 2 minutes by free shuttle service from the hotel. I would say more – it is not just a beach, but beautiful private cove where you feel like on your private island in a company of good friends. Near (if want more variety of thermal pools) in a walking distance there is nice thermal park – Negombo with 14 thermal pools of different temperature.
Also, San Montano resort has friendly stuff and good kitchen. So I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This view is unreal! Sitting perched on a cliff above Lacco Ameno and San Montano beach, this hotel has some of the best views on the island. Room was gorgeous and clean. Spa staff was excellent. Only criticism is that the restaurant is buffet for dinner- but the efficient shuttle takes you to town so easily that it is not an issue.

Room Tip: Can't imagine a bad one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

From the first minutes this hotel was surprising us with all its beauty and hospitality of the staff.
The room was perfect, big and comfortable with spacious balcony.
The views from the terrace and swimming on the sea and volcano Vesuvius is incredible.
The staff is very friendly and always prepared to make your stay in this hotel a real treat.
Panoramic restaurant is something unbelievable with amazing view and
delicious food!!
Shuttle service - very convenient.
We can not imagine a better place for our honeymoon.
We had a fantastic time.
Thank you San Montano and Ischia !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We really loved this hotel. I think it was my best holiday.
The location is great, breathtaking panoramic views.
Nice hotel for a relaxing holiday
All the staff are attentive, very friendly
The food is really delicious and we enjoyed it
Very beautiful beach. Shuttle service - very convenient.
Here want to return again and again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Just returned from a fabulous holiday at this lovely hotel which we could not fault. We had a room overlooking the sea with large balcony and wonderful views. Our rooms were kept spotlessly clean and maid was very friendly.
The facilities are excellent two large pools, an infinity jacuuzi and large spa. We had two wonderful massages by very pleasant staff.
As for the place being full of pensioners this was certainly not the case when we were there, our neighbours were two twenty year olds on one side and a couple in their 30s on the other. We also became friendly with another couple in their 30s.
The food was also very good and waiting staff friendly and helpful.
We were a party of four and it is somewhere we all agreed we would return to again very soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I have been going to Ischia since I was born, I know the Island more than well, its a second home. San Montano was always a dream hotel- sat on top of a hill, the views really do feel like you've reached paradise. However disappointment quickly followed as I was greeted by an arrogant and miserable manager. The service was dreadful, from little attention paid to breakfast to having to wait well over an hour for drinks by the pool, to the kitchen being closed until 6:30 in the evening, meaning I could not have my babies food warmed. All of this met with a careless and dismissive attitude from the hotel staff. The hotel really does lack soul and class, perhaps this matched the dreadful clientele, if you want to feel you have ended up at a pensioners committee, you will feel right at home. I was interrupted and pushed in front of several times by some of these individuals. Just a bad vibe throughout the hotel and most definitely not 5* service especially for Ischia, forget it. Whether you are young or old this place is not for you unless all you are looking for is pretty views and arrogant people.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurizio O, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at San Montano Resort & SPA, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
It's always sad to have disappointed guest but as we strive to offer always a nice experience a negative comment will be our motivation tool to improve our service. Please accept my sincere apologies on the behalf of the entire staff and I will make sure that if you give us a second chance it will be our challenge to have a positive comment.
My best regards
maurizio orlacchio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Montano Resort & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Montano Resort & SPA

Address: Via Monte Vico, 80076 Lacco Ameno, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Lacco Ameno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lacco Ameno
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lacco Ameno
#1 Spa Hotel in Lacco Ameno
#2 Family Hotel in Lacco Ameno
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lacco Ameno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — San Montano Resort & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your San Montano Resort & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo San Montano Hotel Lacco Ameno
San Montano Resort & SPA Isola D'Ischia, Italy - Lacco Ameno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Montano Resort & SPA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.