We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking view but far away from being a real 4 stars hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Paradiso Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Paradiso Hotel to your Saves list
Gran Paradiso Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Principessa Margherita 20, 80074 Casamicciola Terme, Isola d'Ischia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Breathtaking view but far away from being a real 4 stars hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

outstanding view from the terrace, great position and staff kindness are the good things in this hotel. Also nice some special evenings organized by the staff: e.g. Traditional Ischian dinner with singers playing life Italian songs. Besides that, it's hard to find something else worth to mention.
The hotel building is pretty old, it would need to be fully refurbished so do the rooms.
Food wise, the breakfast is ridiculous:very low quality cheese and ham, no eggs, orange juice fully melted down with water, frozen croissant just warmed up. Tasty only home made cakes.
Lunch and dinner are ok even tough from a 4 stars hotel expectations are way higher.
Spa activities should represent the core hotel activities but the infrastructure cannot really cope with it.
Summing up, this is a great 3 stars lodging option. If you expect to get 4 stars service better to book somewhere else

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    99
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
78
111
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tdegerton@yahoo.co.uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

My husband and I spent a week at Gran Paradiso in September. The food is very good the staff are very helpful and friendly. Balcony sea view rooms are worth paying extra for as they have great views. The outdoor pool would be more pleasant if it was a bit warmer. We hope to holiday at this lovely hotel in the future.

Room Tip: 2 nd floor sea view balcony rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Not a 4 star hotel as led to believe. Didn't want to stay here. Pool was small and garden furniture was ready for the tip. How could travel companys get it so wrong? Worrrying when you pay them so much money!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

The glowing reviews already written can only be reiterated by us. We had a wonderful time with very caring and considerate staff. We did begin our stay in room 427 (with the tree) but a word at reception asking if it was possible to have a better view found us trasferred instantly to a wonderful view on the second floor. We found the hotel most comfortable, and the staff went out of their way to make us feel extremely welcome - despite being the only English people in residence that particular week. We very much enjoyed the Gala Night Dinner, especially the singing waiter who has a wonderful voice, and a way of making you feel special.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

Don't be put off by the bedrooms which are small and a bit tired. Apart from the pool which needs a makeover, the rest of the hotel is lovely. The food is really good, you get your own table for the length of your stay so never have to worry about not finding somewhere to sit in the restaurant and all the staff (and other guests come to that) are incredibly friendly.
The hotel is almost entirely used by Italians and mercifully there is no evening entertainment.
At the time of writing, the euro/pound exchange is v bad and so drinking/eating out tends to be very expensive. A can of diet coke at a pizzeria will set you back £4!
Great day trip out to Pompeii.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

We spent 14 nights at this wonderful hotel which is located above the marina and beach in Casamicciola, reached by a short walk down the hill where you will find shops and restaurants and a pretty square. Just beyond the square is the main circular bus route and road around the island, this is a double edged sword as the road can sometimes be heard from the hotel but it makes travel around the whole island very easy as the buses stop close to the square.

We had a seaview balcony room which was very clean and tidy although not the biggest room we have every stayed in it was more than adequate for our needs, plenty of room for clothes and had a mini-bar and very comfy beds! The maid service was excellent, our room was serviced by a lovely lady when we went out for breakfast to a very high standard.

The hotel has two pools one outside which we did not use and a thermal pool inside (towels and caps available from reception). We used the thermal pool most days, warm, relaxing and left the hair and skin feeling great, there is also a steam and sauna room and the hotel also provides a 'beauty farm' which we did not use.

We were half board although most guests seem to be full board and the meals were taken in the beautiful restaurant overlooking the sea and marina, we were offered the option of taking our meal either at lunch time or in the evening giving great flexibility to be able to try out local restaurants as well. Breakfast was typical continental buffet style with plenty of choice. Our evening meal we found to be of a high standard with salad buffet followed by three courses.

The very best part of this hotel is the staff, Ischia is a very Italian island and English is not widely used and we have only very limited Italian but his proved not to be a problem as every member of staff was very helpful and worked really hard to make sure all our needs were met - our first night was for us very warm, coming from the UK, the air conditioning was not due to start until the following week but they provided us with a electric fan for our entire stay. We were the only English couple in the hotel but this was mitigated by the staff who provided us with a menu translated into English and who made sure that despite the language barrier we were made to feel really welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them, even as we would walk through the hotel staff would smile and wave and say good morning. We can only say that as hotel staff go these have to be the best friendliest people we have come across. The icing on the cake was when the Maitre D at breakfast offered us a special meal that evening, he served us himself a wonderful meal of spaghetti with mussels and clams none of this was charged for and not available to anyone else in the restaurant. At our final dinner he also brought us both a glass of champagne again not charged for to make our last meal one to remember.

To sum it all up - would be go back - you bet, Ischia is a lovely island, although the language was difficult it never stopped us doing what we wanted, we will learn a bit more Italian and take a phase book next time!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEEDS
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2007

Just back from a 14 day break in Ischia. This hotel is situated in the lovely town of Casamicciola and has wonderful views of the Bay of Naples (although room 427 looks onto a tree!). The hotel is used mainly by Italians and the prices are fair and the service is ok. Meals are fine but the fish tended to be overcooked. The staff are very friendly, especially Pasquale, the barman. Busses and ferries close by and a thermal park only a few miles away. Great place for either a relaxing break or as a base to visit Capri, Amalfi, Pozitano etc. My wife and I booked with Cosmos (Archers) although booking direct would be easy if you dont mind sorting the crossing out yourself. Generally pretty good.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Paradiso Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Paradiso Hotel

Address: Via Principessa Margherita 20, 80074 Casamicciola Terme, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Casamicciola Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Casamicciola Terme
#4 Spa Hotel in Casamicciola Terme
#4 Luxury Hotel in Casamicciola Terme
#8 Family Hotel in Casamicciola Terme
#9 Romantic Hotel in Casamicciola Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Paradiso Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Gran Paradiso Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Paradiso Hotel Isola D'Ischia, Italy - Casamicciola Terme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Paradiso Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.