We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel in need of professional help” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Myage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Myage to your Saves list
Hotel Myage
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Castiglione 70, 80074 Casamicciola Terme, Isola d'Ischia, Italy (Formerly Hotel Mirage)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Casamicciola Terme
London UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel in need of professional help”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a truly delightful hotel with beautiful public areas, spotlessly clean with charming staff. Located appx 20 mins uphill walk from the port is not reccomended for less than fit individuals. The bus is only about 5 mins, but they are irregular (despite the schedule) and usually packed.

Breakfast is a good buffet selection of cereal, fruit, cold cuts and some very ordinary bread. Coffee is from a self serve machine. Only a few tables were laid out (for two!!) and we invariably had to take crockery and cutlery from an adjoining table for the 4 of us.

Our room was lovely with a seaview balcony with a couple of chairs, but strangely without a table. the bathroom shower was tiny with dissapointingly poor water pressure. Bathtowels were very poor quality.

We were fortunate to have excellent wifi connection in our room, but others weren't so lucky, although the public areas were fine.

Dinner in the restaurant was pretty average with only housewine available which was absolutely fine for us, but for a hotel of this standard in Italy not to have a wine list is surprising to say the least.

The pool area is really lovely and comfortable, but lacked a drink service which meant having to put some clothes on and go inside to find someone to serve you if you wanted a drink.

On the two occassions I asked for a beer the staff member had to look for a bottle opener and had no idea what to charge. It was all a bit amateurish!

On the positive side, everyone was charming, willing and helpful and with some professional help to iron out the small details this place could be very special.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    31
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
21
83
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had booked a 5 day stay at the Mirage Hotel (now called MyAge) in a superior room with balcony and sea view. On arrival we were offered a welcome drink and shown around the hotel. Lovely public areas - clean and spacious and vey comfortable. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Not all rooms have balconies but our room (203) was a little on the small side with a narrow balcony which had two chairs with cushions but no table. We had a side sea view but the trees were very tall so you could barely see it. Room was comfortable enough but the walk in shower had very weak water pressure and had some black mould on the tiles at the base of the shower. Hair dryer was also very weak.

Pool area was lovely - one swimming pool and three thermal pools of varying temperatures. In the 27 degree one there were four jets. Only one was strong, two very weak and the fourth one did not work at all. No Pool Bar (maybe because it was mid May) and no staff came out to see if you wanted drinks. Pool towels were available from Reception.

Free WIFI was available in all Public Areas and Poolside. We were very lucky as the Router was outside our room so we got WIFI in our room as well.

Breakfast was ok with cold meats and cheese, cerial, yoghurts, fruit, croissants, cake and bread. They also had frankfurter sausages and boiled eggs. Tea and coffee was supplied from a machine - coffee from a machine in Italy........

In the evening there was A La Carte and a set Menu. Set menu was €20 for 4 courses. We did this twice. The first time the food was just OK, but the second time it was quite nice. Nothing special though.

Air conditioning is not turned on till June!

In spite of the small gripes we had a lovely time, as I said, public areas and pool and terrace were wonderful with fantastic views across the water. Staff could not have been more helpful and checked out information on how to get to places for us. Bus stop right outside the hotel - small buses which get very very crowded but we did use them.

You could walk to the Port Area. Downhill for about 20 mins. Did not attempt to walk back uphill - took the bus.

We did enjoy our stay but would definitely not rate this family run hotel as 4 Star. Possibly 3 Star.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms (Comfort Rooms) tend to have a terrace - not sure how much light you would get in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingston
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is a pretty boutique style hotel of 18 bedrooms set in a stunning location. It is a 25 minute walk downhill along a busy road into the lovely port of Ischia Porto where there are shops, cafes and restaurants. From the tranquil terrace of the hotel you can see Vesuvius on a clear day.

The rooms are cleaned promptly to a high standard and the pool area has good sunbeds and 4 pools of different temperatures to give you a mini spa experience. The staff are, without exception, friendly and helpful.

I have issues with the description of the hotel on its website as I found them misleading and as a result my expectations were not met.

1. The hotel is not "brand new" - it has been renamed from La Mirage this year and before that it was a family home. As a result the bedrooms are variable in size and accessibility.

2. Their website lamyageischia.it which is now used by the hotel also stated (and as of May 24th still states) that all bedrooms have wifi internet access and possess either a terrace or a balcony. They have promised to correct this.

3. There was no pool bar as stated on the website and to get a drink you needed to cover yourself, walk through the dining room and lounge to reception where they were happy to help. All it needs is for someone to walk around the pool, perhaps twice an hour and take orders.

4. Room 204 did not have wifi nor did it have a terrace or balcony although it was booked as a "superior" room for which there was a surcharge. The staff agreed to waive this surcharge and tried very hard to find us another room with sea view and balcony but were unable to find one.

Room 204 is also on the same level and right beside the hotel entrance and reception desk. This meant that all conversations at the desk were audible to us. Not only that, but we could not leave our curtains open to admire the "side sea view" which was 1km away or lie on the bed as it was then possible for passers-by to look straight in! Though the room is large there were only 2 very small drawers inside the wardrobe.

The shower holder for room 204 is at one end of the bath facing the floor and the shower screen at the opposite end so that you had to hold the shower in one hand to avoid flooding the floor. Some of the bath towels were very old, though clean, and one was so thin it had a hole in it. Bed and pillows are very firm.

Our friends had room 203 which did get wifi, but this smaller room (also a "superior") had a very small shower and a small balcony with a view to the sea that was almost blocked by neighbouring trees.

For a 4* hotel the breakfast was not varied and there was no waitress service to clear used plates. In the evening there was a set menu for 20 euros or a la carte. On the first evening I had a superb spaghetti melanze dish and on this basis we had the set menu the next evening which was so poor I left most of it. A bean soup that tasted "tinned" and a courgette omelette with undercooked chips. On our visit most people appeared to eat elsewhere in the evening. A great shame as the staff are so nice and the view from the restaurant splendid.

In spite of our disappointments our holiday was still enjoyable because of the lovely staff and beautiful pools and terraces. Our complaints about the room were handled very courteously and we were happy with the rebate. If you go not expecting too much of the bedrooms or food you will be quite happy in this quiet and romantic hotel.

Do try bruschette ischitane at Taverna Antonio by the port as well as his wonderful Mojitos. Try tonno bresaolo sfumato at Da Ciccio by the castle in Ischia Ponte (bus no. 7 from the bus station) for wonderful food and service by Carlo in his small family restaurant.

Room Tip: Avoid room 204 if you want to open the window and look out !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Ideally located not far from the port, this hotel offers confusing experience.
It has an amazing and romantic view, nice island style interior decorations,(not the restaurant ceiling) but thats about it for us.
By the time we tried to push our luggages up and down from the stairs, from different corridors and angles and got into our basement room, we had complete claustrophobia. A tine balcony shares other three rooms, that are fenced with the main hotel building that practically covers all the light. And we felt like in the donjon!!!
I am sure the main building has a sea view rooms, but our prison looking room was very disappointing from our beautiful stay in Ischia. Luckily we had to stay a few days in this hotel and most of the day we were out. But to pay 150 more euros for that smelly dark room, sure is not worth it.
The breakfast was rich and welcoming, but as an interior artist, that 80's style ceiling curtain in the restaurant didn't quite match with the the rest of the island style details.
I am giving three stars , because I think the hotel has a potential of a relaxing stay, if the rooms are facing to the see, and not in the basement.

Room Tip: Please don't stay in the basement room #5 if you have any claustrophobia .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Whoever spent some days in this nice little hotel will never forget this unique place. All rooms are furnished in the best of taste. Staff is extremely friendly striving to meet everybodies request. This makes you feel like being at home in a private villa. Even in late April all thermal pools were open, clean and heated. Even the biggest pool with air temperature was well temperatured and delighted all swimmers. The thermal pools are part of a nice terrace, surrounded by palm trees, oaks and tropical trees. Terrace and hotel are nested above the cliff line and provide a stunning 180 degrees view over the sea to the isalnd of Procida, to the coast line of Napoli, the Vesuvo and even to Monte Circeo north of Gaeta. Having your pranzo or apperitivo with this view remains unforgettable no matter how old you are. Therefore the hotel is recommendable for elderly as well as for honeymooner. The breakfast is more than "Italian style" with fresh fruit, yoghourt, cake etc. but not exorbitant. The kitchen was still closed at that time but lunch could be organized with shuttle service (free of charge) at restaurants either in Ischia Porto or Cassamigiola. Bus station is in front of the hotel, which eases transportation across the island. However that meens that some traffic noise from the main street could arrive.

Room Tip: all rooms have partly sea view. Rooms in the upper level seem to be bigger and provide better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I have never imagined that a family run small boutique hotel can be so wonderful. We stayed here for just two days and discovered a heaven on earth. Rooms were artistically decorated and equipped with all things to make one feel comfortable. Staff was great at their work and always greeted us with smile. Owners of the property pay a great attention to all the details and they really value their guests. Food looked fresh and well-cooked. It is a peaceful place away from the hustle and bustles of the city. I wish I could have extended my stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

3 kms drive up to the hotel from arrival at the port of Casamicciola.
Its a new hotel, that's more like an Italian Villa. Parking right next to the reception no underground spirals. Air conditioning, wonderful sea views, from most rooms, and a commanding view of the bay every where in the multiple terraces and small pools, not to mention the tasteful ceramic tiles in most everywhere, and a sink made all out of ceramic. The bar becomes breakfast room, capable of seating all visitors at the same time. the size of the rooms is great, and so is the bathrooms,all with safe and nice size closet.
The reception (Emanuela or bust) can do little miracle without a sweat. Sincere people in an environment designed to sooth your senses, and soon you'll have an elevator down to the
private beach (excuse me). Its a gem. A little auto/ and a/c Fiat Panda is great to see the rest
of the island (speeds are 20-30 kms/h); you'll come back to your hotel, very pleased

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Myage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Myage

Address: Via Castiglione 70, 80074 Casamicciola Terme, Isola d'Ischia, Italy (Formerly Hotel Mirage)
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Casamicciola Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Casamicciola Terme
#7 Spa Hotel in Casamicciola Terme
#11 Family Hotel in Casamicciola Terme
#11 Romantic Hotel in Casamicciola Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Myage 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new Hotel Mirage is located mid-way between two of the most beautiful municipalities of the Island of Ischia: Casamicciola Terme and Ischia Porto.With its position directly in front of the sea, enjoying an astonishing view, embedded in a lush green vegetation and surrounded by the timeless magic of thermal waters, the Hotel is a unique oasis for relaxation and well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Myage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Myage Isola D'Ischia, Italy - Casamicciola Terme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Myage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.