We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of class” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA

Save Saved
You added Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Monte Tabor, 28, 80074 Casamicciola Terme, Isola d'Ischia, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Wexford, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A touch of class”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We spent 4 relaxing days is a beautiful bright modern hotel approached through a cooling luxuriant pine grove. It is a pity that there is an element of fly tipping and litter in this public area. The hotel staff are utterly professional, helpful , knowledgeable and accommodating . There is a free frequent shuttle for those without transport. The Grifo is well equipped with spa facilities and free wifi throughout the premises.
Breakfasts are very tasty and evening meals offer good value for money.
We would strongly recommend the hotel to family, friends and anyone looking for quality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    606
    194
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
144
493
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon. Alberto and his team did an amazing job at ensuring it was the best 3 nights we spent on our time away. The hotel is beautifully decoarted, modern clean lines and the facilities are impeccable.
The spa was a great treat with hot thermal spa and other natural springs, all clean and quiet so you get full use.
The hotel had guests when we were staying but plenty of room around the pool so never felt like we were cramped.
Breakfast was lovely with fresh pastries, fruit and coffee.
The free shuttle into town was a great addition and they ensured we knew where to go for dinner etc.

Would definitely recommend for a relaxing holiday in a beautiful hotel with lovely people, we will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My wife and I couldn't leave on Friday from Naples to Ischia due to bad weather and rough seas. On Friday night, I spoke to Emanuella at Grifo, who was extremelly helpful and caring, and who offered us a room for the following day instead. Upon our arrival at the port, we called Emanuella, and she sent us a car to pick us up. When we arrived at the hotel, she offered us an upgrade with a sea view for not much more than what we had already paid. The restaurant is outstanding, great food, and great service. We became friends with the waiter Paolo, who was very kind and polite. We left on Monday, very early in the morning. Emanuella again made all the arrangements - she scheduled a wake up call, an early breakfast, and a shuttle to the port. All in all, it was a great experience, and I highly recommend it to others. They also have a nice spa in the basement.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRIFOHOTEL, Lo staff del Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA **** at Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
We would like to thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at Grifo Hotel, and indeed for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.
Thank you very much for wonderful praise of our hotel. I am delighted that you were so pleased with the décor and character throughout, and with the quality of the cuisine in our restaurant.
Thank you also for your very kind comments about our staff. We are fortunate to have a wonderful team at Grifo Hotel , and we are especially glad to know that they made such a great impression . We look forward to welcoming you back to Grifo Hotel in the near future, hopefully for an extended stay.Warmest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A beautiful hotel in an amazing location among mountains and hills. Calm and peaceful. Our room was spacious, clean, perfect really. Staff were excellent, some members in particular made the extra effort for us (Nico Emanuela Francesca). Spa and pools were great - thermal pool of 40 degrees! Shuttle service to town, bus stop, port was really useful. Highly recommend the hotel. Reasonable price.

Little improvements that could be made include leaving a complimentary water / tea and coffee facility in the rooms. Also we were prohibited from bringing drinks and food into the hotel which was a bit annoying.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRIFOHOTEL, Lo staff del Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA **** at Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to learn that you spent a good time in our house. We put a lot of love in our job it and it's always a big pleasure to know that our guests feel it. We wait for you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I was persuaded into booking the Grifo Hotel Charme and Spa due to its excellent reviews on Tripadvisor, and suffice it to say, was not disappointed. Equidistant from Casamicciola and Ischia Porto, the hotel is situated on a verdant hill, and allows for some excellent, panoramic views of the Bay of Naples. Both nearby towns are accessible by foot, but you'll be sure to work up a good appetite before dinner due to the hill's steep incline! A complimentary shuttle service also runs throughout the day for visitors wishing to get around by car. The Grifo Hotel Charme and Spa is beautifully designed, appointed and maintained. The hotel staff is exceptional, truly understanding the importance of quality customer care. Excellent value for money, and a truly memorable vacation. Not to be missed!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRIFOHOTEL, Lo staff del Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA **** at Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for the wonderful words. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel, this is our biggest wish : to let feel our guests like at home and welcome. We hope to see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

A perfect example of the beauty of simplistic design, pristine and staffed with friendly and helpful professionals. Well located, far enough of the beaten path to enjoy the serenity and the marvelous views, but still within walking distance of the sea and shops. Impressive spa facilities and great pool area. Truly one of the few bargains available in Italy ! Highly recommend.
Michael R.,Vancouver.

Room Tip: Sea view room with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRIFOHOTEL, Lo staff del Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA **** at Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Guest , we are happy to learn that you have appreciated our hotel .This “house” is the expression of our soul. It's very important to know that our guests appreciate the heart of Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA**** with its family athmosphere. Every guest is for us a king. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brossard, qc. canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

LOCATION: Up a hill between the center of Casamicciola and Ischia. Quiet. Beautiful views of the sea and the mountains.

SHUTTLE SERVICE: We were picked up at the port by a smart young man. A great first impression of this hotel. Free shuttle service to the nearest bus stop is available and also back to the port on departure.

PARKING: There is a small parking on the grounds, but if you want to park in the shade, you can park on the quiet road nearby

RECEPTION: Efficient, friendly, received a refreshment and a briefing on the tourist sites of Ischia. You can sense that they are aiming for excellence in their services.

ROOM: Newly renovated, immaculate, comfortable, nice deoration. There's a surprising notice on the door stating that those who eat food in the room or drink beverages that are not purchased at the hotel will be charged an extra fee for cleaning and service. First time we see this in all of our travels. The internet connection was not always reliable.

HOTEL: Beautifully landscaped, something to admire from every angle of the resort. Everything Inside and out , including the pool, is well maintained and very clean. Quiet, relaxing atmosphere.

DINING: Fresh products, tasty. Nice selection for the half board menu of 3 courses which were preceded by the self-serve anti-pasti offering delicious appetizers, vegetables and salads. Wonderful!! We enjoyed most of what we ate.
The dining room staff, Paolo, Francesca and Alessia are amazing personalities with their warm hospitality and sense of humour.

SPA The facilities are new and very clean. Unfortunately, the main thermal bath was out of order for 2 of the 5 days of our stay. The massage therapist is very gracious and professional.

Room Tip: A Superior room with a sea view also offers a great view of the mountain and is also a lot more spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA

Address: Via Monte Tabor, 28, 80074 Casamicciola Terme, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Casamicciola Terme
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Casamicciola Terme
#1 Spa Hotel in Casamicciola Terme
#4 Family Hotel in Casamicciola Terme
#4 Romantic Hotel in Casamicciola Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1 kilometre from the centre the Ischia, near the port of Casamicciola Terme, Grifo Hotel features stunning panoramic views of the gulf of Naples, Tabor Mountain and Epomeo Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grifo Hotel Casamicciola Terme
Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA Isola D'Ischia, Italy - Casamicciola Terme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.