We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time to share our secret.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ischia Casa della Vela

Save Saved
You added Ischia Casa della Vela to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ischia Casa della Vela
via Don Orione 10, 80074 Casamicciola Terme, Isola d'Ischia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 41 Hotels in Casamicciola Terme
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Time to share our secret.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

It has taken me along time to right this review, partly because I'm lazy and wanted to do it justice and partly because there was a part of me that just didn't want to share it with those not already in the know.
As soon as you walk into Casa Della Vela you are welcomed into Kate and Andreas home with open arms and as the perpetual breeze wafts through the greenery of the veranda you know your holiday has begun.
Most of the visitors here are Italian usually just spending a couple of days passing through, the only other English we encountered were two young artists.
The children worried a little at first that the language barrier would stop them socialising with the other young people but this of course was unnecessary especially when the owners children's English was so good and they were so gracious.
The rooms are light, bright, clean and well-furnished.
Breakfast is always something to look forward to and if the seasons right there are tomatoes etc from Kate's formidable (that if she really takes shine to you will have you working in) organic garden.
All the family sail and Andreas takes people out on their beautiful sailing boat with the orange sail from the hotels veranda you can track the crews progress as it traverses the island. We spent a day on the boat and it was fabulous.
Kate also organises walks and picnics to places maybe you wouldn't otherwise see. The trip to see the caves high up in the hills that locals used to hide from pirates particularly caught my youngest imagination.
The pool isn't huge but is never over full in fact quite often we had it to ourselves.
Ischia is fantastic the thermal spas are amazing the food unforgettable and it feels you are getting a real authentic experience at a reasonable price. Margarita pizza never more than €5.
We have been here 2 years on the trot and we will definitely visit again. Unfortunately we can't this year so thought it about time to share my secret.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    31
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
25
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The view is excellent, the rooms are nice, clean and cool, the breakfast is amazing, and the cappucino/coffee is the best I've tasted ! If you're too hot you can take a swim in the pool or visit the sea shore.
Highly recommend it ! :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We came sailing form Napoli with 8 persons, everything was organized for us, visit to the close by Terme, dinner reservation, help with planning a day trip around the island. It was off season, so the kitchen was not yet online for dinner, but we had excellent breakfast.

The owner and the staff was exceptional, very caring and positive people, everybody that wants to feel part of Ischia and feel taken care off, go to this exceptionally positive place.

Room Tip: all first floor rooms have a marvelous view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We spent 3 nights here with the Family and had an excellent stay, the staff were friendly and always helpful. The pool was so nice in the heat and the kids loved it.
We took a sailing trip which is available from the Hotel owners, a beautiful day sailing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Ottimo posizionamento, belle vedute sul porto e parte centrale di Casamicciola, ottima accoglienza e massima disponibilita' dei proprietari (famiglia Proto) rendono il soggiorno veramente indimenticabile.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
from Patmos
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I spent few nights at Casa della Vela for a meeting and felt at home. The rooms are simple but clean, but what was most attractive was the hospitable and available attitude of the owners. The building is decorous and the room had a wonderful view on the sea and on part of the hill covered with luxuriant vegetation. Even though the hotel is within the town, it is surrounded by a garden that provides a pleasant sense of space and light. I have not seen the hotel during the height of the tourist and hot season, however I have come away with a very positive impression, and the intention of coming back soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove City, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

We've stayed at this friendly, family run hotel several times, including two weddings. It has become the base for one of our favourite family holidays, and we rarely go to the same place twice even. It has much character and charm! Very good value for money, well located, great views across the mediterranean to Pompeii and Capri, very spacious and the staff are beyond helpful. I especially loved the Italian modernist furniture + light fittings! A week here with a day at the fasincating and totally beautiful Castello de Aragonese (maybe stay overnight for a little romance and luxury?), a day or two even at Poseidon or Negombo Thermal spa garden, a day or two touring the island is a perfect holiday for singles, couples, families, friends... great at anytime of year as the warm thermal spas make it possible to deeply relax year around. There is loads to do on the island. As it was not really swimming weather when we were there last, we thought it would be good to have more to do for kids in the hotel (eg. table tennis). There are board games etc though and next time we want to go horse riding which is very affordable. We also hired a rubber dinghy and went around the island to a hidden lunch spot which was a great adventure! Viva Ischia! Much more interesting and down to earth than Capri... better value by far too...

Room Tip: The self cater apartment on the top floor has wonderful views across the mediterranean and it makes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ischia Casa della Vela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ischia Casa della Vela

Address: via Don Orione 10, 80074 Casamicciola Terme, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Casamicciola Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Casamicciola Terme
#11 Spa Hotel in Casamicciola Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Ischia Casa della Vela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ischia Casa Della Vela Isola D'Ischia, Italy - Casamicciola Terme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ischia Casa della Vela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.