We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Paradiso..Pool Purgatorio...Restaurant Hell.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Paradiso Terme Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Paradiso Terme Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Paradiso Terme Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Giuseppe 10, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 81 Hotels in Forio
Certificate of Excellence
portsmouth uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hotel Paradiso..Pool Purgatorio...Restaurant Hell.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The hotel is a clean and welcoming place with the typical Ischia style of tiles and colours.
A relaxing place with magnificent gardens.The members of the family that run it are very friendly and always present,the staff is well trained and friendly,a very competent blonde lady at reception,Ciro at the bar ,the very best a customer can have as a bar man and Nello running the restaurant at good speed,so far so good....the views and the tranqullity top....the rooms are clean and with enough space, but in need of upgrading.Our bathroom was poor,clean but with a very old and narrow shower, looking very tired,the air conditioning system is old and loud too!The television was very old with bad signal a very poor selection of channels..only CNN for english speakers...more german channels... ...The Purgatory:there is a bar at the pool which opens at 3pm!!!! I couldn't believe it....3PM! no service around the pool and if you buy a mineral water bottle,from the bar upstairs, 1lt costs £2.50 euro and is made of glass...very unsafe around the pool area!!!! there is a bar on top of 2 sets of stairs indoor....which is open from 9 am but no ice creams for kids there and you must be dry to walk up there because the tiles are very slippery too!! When the pool bar opens poor Ciro runs up and down like crazy....apparently an extra person costs a fortune to employ..Hell:Breakfast if you are british is a nightmare...if you are from the continent ..forget! Coffe or tea not served at table but you have to get it from an automated machine...poor quality not good enough in the capital of coffee,campania,and at busy time there is a queue..not what I want to do when on holiday in a 4 star hotel...I use to queue up like that in the army in 1990....We stayed for 6 nights 2 rooms 5 people.
Dinner was a nightmare too,the food is poor, small portions and most of the time it looked like they were reusing the ingredients from the previuos day...We decided to stay half board but skipped dinner to have lunch for 5 days and went out at night because the food on the island is very good...and good value too...So dear Paradiso..thanks but I will not come back again!
Four stars this place is not....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    99
    23
    10
    6
See reviews for
89
125
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I spent 3 days at Hotel Paradiso for our honeymoon last week. The staff were incredibly polite and nothing was too much trouble. On arrival, we were given a free upgrade in honour of our nuptuals. We were also given a great discount on the 2 massages we each enjoyed during our stay. As if this wasn't enough, we were given complementary prosecco and a bottle wine as part of our romantic meal on Saturday night. The pools and views are amazing and the food delicious.After the stress of wedding planning, we really enjoyed our 3 days at Hotel Paradiso - a mini honeymoon to remember! A real plus is also the hotel's free shuttle service to the beach, Posiedon's garden's and the centre of Forio. The only criticism we have is that we should have stayed longer! We are looking forward to returning for longer for one of our future anniversaries!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is nice and well located, in fact you can enjoy great views and a beautiful sunset, the only problem the narrow access road and a little bumpy, the staff is friendly. A couple of things made me very disappointed: the fact the hotel charges you for water at dinner and lunch, 2.5 euros for a liter bottle.
  Another thing to pay attention to is the wifi, not really fully but just for half an hour; after my complaints they  extended the acces up to 2 hour, then if you need full access take into account this additional constraint.
But the most annoying thing is that this is not expressly stated in the proposed commercial.
My opinion is that a four star hotel cannot impose these limitation to his guests.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Paradiso Terme Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
We thank Mr. Lazzaro for his comments and for the 7 nights stay with his big and nice family in our Resort in June 2012. We are really sorry about the complains but at the same time he gives us the opportunity to explain again that our Hotel is not an “all inclusive Resort” but a traditional Hotel with a good service and a friendly staff – as he also recognized. Until now, our guests had never been disappointed that a bottle of mineral water – served cold at table from a friendly and professional Staff – at Dinner or Lunch - in the air conditioned Hotel Restaurant or on the panoramic Restaurant terrace cost 2,5 Euros. Most of our guests appreciate our Service. Anyway, we will think about your complaint for the future. Regarding the second point, we assure that the WiFi connection is Free. The duration depends on the offer and varies from 30 minutes to 4 hours per day, non-continuous. The Paradiso Terme Resort & SPA is not a business Hotel but a leisure Resort, nice and well located with great views and unforgettable sunsets, where most of our guests prefer to enjoy the quite and beauty of nature, away from the stress. The Management never tried or thought to impose limitations to the guests. We are really sorry about this interpretation of Mr. Lazzaro and we will be happy to welcome him again in the future. Grazie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I'll admit our recent stay at the Paradiso Terme is not the first time we've stopped here. What makes us return? Ischia itself, but the hotel is the place that makes the holiday such a relaxing and enjoyable break. The food is excellent and the local wine good too. Although the hotel was busier than last time we visited, the two pools and the facilities still felt quiet. Critically, the service was first rate throughout our stay. Plus I can't help but be impressed by a waiter who remembers what we drink, even though it's a year since we last visited!
Repeat visits to the Paradiso Terme have lost none of their allure and I look forward to retuning next year. I hope others find their stay as enjoyable as we have on our recent visits there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

I stayed at hotel Paradiso, a family run hotel in the quiet setting near Forio a week ago at the end of March 2012. The season in Ischia starts 1st week of April, but some hotels are open before then. March/April a good time to go, as the weather is hot, but not too hot and the island is fairly quiet. Some attractions are not open until 1st week April, but this is not too important if you are going to just relax and be in the thermal waters. The hotel staff were so lovely (thank you especially to Alexandra who gave me some Ischian lemons to take home) and made me feel very welcome. Although I was a solo traveler, the other guests were very friendly and the restaurant staff also friendly, and spoke english, so I didn't have to struggle to speak too much Italian. Of course if I wanted to speak Italian, this was also encouraged by the staff. They would often help me with words/phrases too. The food was excellent and there is plenty of it! Be warned, you will probably put on weight. Good to go for the 2 meal option if you don't hire a car, as the nearest restaurants are about a 20min walk away and you wouldn't save much eating out. The facilities are great with one big cold water pool and a very hot thermal pool. There is also a thermal indoor pool, slightly cooler that has jacuzzi jets and of course the spa center for massages, treatments etc. The views are lovely (possibly not the best on the island, but felt nice enough for me), and there is a beautiful small gardens surrounding the hotel. The location is lovely, far enough for town to feel quiet and undisturbed and near enough to get to shops etc. There are local buses, which are very cheap and once you get the hang of it, are easy to get around. The hotel staff will help and advise how to use the buses and the times, routes etc. The bus stop is a 5 - 7min walk from hotel down and up hill a little. Might not be suitable for the very old and infirm though? Room was clean, bed very comfortable, decor simple, bathroom big and room was a good size. All basic mod cons, TV, fridge. I was very happy with my room. Internet is available wireless in certain areas of hotel for free. To get to the hotel, you need to get a ferry from Naples to Forio, or Ischia Porto. The hotel staff can pick you up from Forio for free if you arrange this with them. Hotel I feel was very good value for money and was really worth it for the very friendly, helpful and generous staff. One last thing, the sunsets are amazing and were glorious every night.Thank you all at Paradiso you really gave me a wonderful holiday. I hope to come back next year with a girlfriend this time!

Room Tip: There are rooms with sea view and rooms with a mountain view in main hotel. Otherwise there are room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

This is by far the best hotel/resort we have ever stayed at!

The service was more than excellent! The staff (Silvana, thank you again for everything!) were all so welcoming and really did their best to make us feel welcome. From the first day, we felt that they all did a little bit extra to make sure we were happy and at ease at their hotel. We can't thank you all enough for making our stay so amazing....

We stayed in the Dependence Garden which is only 300 metres down from the main part of the resort but just as good! It is a little more private than the main building so really good for couples or families, with its own pool, 24hour self-service bar and pool table... We really enjoyed being able to go for a quick dip in the pool before going up to the main section for breakfast. The main pools and spa were also very clean and we never felt like there were too many people around (which was really good for our couple holiday).

We didn't have lunch at the restaurant but had dinner there twice.... and it was amazing!! It definitely rates at the top of our favourite list! Service was excellent and the food of very fine quality..

Overall, I really want to thank everyone again at Paradiso Terme and am looking forward to seeing you all again on our next holiday in Forio!

Room Tip: A room in the Dependence Garden (with balcony) is really good for a little more privacy with only a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

The grounds surrounding the hotel are fantastic, lush amazing and rare plants and amazingly kept.

We paid very little for our room which was a basic one away from the main hotel, this room was great for the money, the decor was very early 90s and bathroom was just okay but it was real good value always clean, just a lil dated.

The pools outside were great, clean and 2 different varieties. the pool inside was very dirty and hadnt been cleaned for a while, so we didnt use it. the fitness facilities were there free of charge and spa treatments were offered but were very expensive and you had to book in advance as they were always booked up. The breakfast was included with the room and was very good, unlimited choice and good service. the food at diner and tea is nto included and is extremely expensive, i think it was 30 or 60 euros per head which is crazy, so we didnt eat there at all.

There are many good things at the paradiso, one of them is the free shuttle bus to the beach and town, comes every 45mins and drops u off where you want to go, very useful and free, only downside is the last one back from town to the hotel is at 7pm, but its ok theres many buses from the town to the hotel but it just made it more hassle.

Another good point is the reception staff, especially silvana, who is gods gift to that hotel. Her english is exceptional, better then mine, knows everything about the island as she lives there and done it all, always smiles, rememebers your name and does anything for you, she made ischia even better, the other staff were equally great and knew alot of things and spoke good english.

The hotel is lovely, very clean, lots of germans but that really doesnt matter, amazing grounds and gardens, nice pools, great breakfast, amazing staff, free transports to beaches and town, superior local knowledge

not many downsides other then, cleanliness of inside pool, price of night food, last shuttle bus from town..these are annoyances but will not ruin your holiday,

do yourself a favour and ask every question u want to Silvana as she will answer everything and be 100% right!!!! also go to sorgetto it is an amazing beautiful natural place, sugggested by silvana

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forio
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel Terme Mediterraneo
0.5 mi away
Semiramis Hotel de Charme Ischia
1.4 mi away
Punta Chiarito Resort Hotel Ristorante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Garden & Villas Resort
1.3 mi away
Hotel Residence Torre Sant'Angelo
0.9 mi away
Hotel  Providence Terme & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradiso Terme Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradiso Terme Resort & Spa

Address: Via San Giuseppe 10, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Forio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Forio
#8 Family Hotel in Forio
#8 Luxury Hotel in Forio
#19 Romantic Hotel in Forio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradiso Terme Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ischia, an island with three thousand years of history. In one of nicest parts of the island , at Cuotto, just behind Forio, not very far from the sandy beach of Citara is located the Hotel Paradiso Terme Resort & Spa. A place where elegance and hospitality merge in a consolidated culture which transforms the stay into a memorable expierence made of sea, nature and romantic atmosphere. An ideal stay. A very good accommodation in rooms furnished with selected materials and with care for details . Excellent cooking. The genuine products of the island and the tasty mediterranean recipes stimulated by the sea-air and the wine, pure and very old, produced from the grapes which ripen on the hang of the Epomeo satisfy even those with little appetite. Thermal Spa and Wellness opportunity. An efficient and well equipped divison of thermal and beauty, wellness treatments , an occasion to recover that tonic freshness which can be easily identified with beauty. A mediterranean architectural environment rich in colours and forms which merge the luxuriant vegetation with the landscape, the colours of the sunset and of the sea. The Resort spreads over a wide green area and it is composed of two separate but complementary parts: Hotel Paradiso Terme and Paradiso Garden Dependance, about 150 meters from each other. Both buildings are surrounded by a luxuriant and blooming garden where you can enjoy an amazing sea view and enchanting sunsets A stay at the Hotel Paradiso Terme is a guarantee of relaxing holidays, total wellness and quality services in a warm and serene environment and available staff always at your disposal. “Welcome home”, not just words but the basis of our concept of hospitality. Famiglia Romano ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Paradiso Terme Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradiso Terme Garden Forio
Paradiso Terme Resort & Spa Isola D'Ischia/Forio, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradiso Terme Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.