We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FOOD, VIEWS, AND FAMILY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poggio del Sole

Save Saved
You added Poggio del Sole to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Poggio del Sole
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Baiola 193, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 80 hotels in Forio
hoboken
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“FOOD, VIEWS, AND FAMILY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

I've been to the poggio three times now. It's truly a very special place for me and my wife. We were engaged there and recently celebrated our wedding there. We had 85 guests attend and everyone raved about the food, service and warm hospitality of the Colella family. They were extremely generous to our guests and made for the most memorable trips of a lifetime to all my friends and family who stayed at the hotel. The Colella family are really special people and after you stay there, you will see why so many people rave about them.

Breathtaking sunsets. Mama Tina's cooking. The Colella family.

Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    27
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
28
58
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
L.A.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

We were invited to a wonderful wedding in Ischia in August 2010. The bride and groom and a large wedding party came all the way from New York and we joined them and lots of other guests at the restaurant "La Casereccia" part of the Hotel Poggio del Sole. The Colella Family went 'out of their way' to make this a very special occasion and an unforgetable event. The hotel has beautiful rooms with a terrace and incredible views of the hills and sea. This is the perfect venue with family hospitality: Mama Tia, Papa Salvatore, their thee sons make sure that you will have a wonderful time. Let's plan a re-union!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

We travelled to Ischia in April and were booked to stay at the hotel. We have three boys aged 3, 6 and 8 and were shown around the hotel, including a trip up the hill on the moped for the bys which was a highlight for them!!! The hotel was clean and the rooms large and airy with lovely views over Ischia. We were pleased, but then we were asked if we would prefer to be nearer the beach as it might be better for the children? We didn't know what to say because we were more than impressed but it was a good point. We were taken to the family's apartments in Forio and shown a lovely apartment where you could lie in bed and see the sea! The shared terrace was a lovely place to be and the beach was literally on the doorstep. We could have choosen either place, it really did not matter and we went for the apartment with it's easy access to Forio and the facility to make some meals in the small kitchenete. We were given the opportunity to go to the rstaurant for evening meals if we wnated but there was no pressure. We ate there twice and it was superb.Everything we had was excellent and all served by the incredibly helpful and polite Colella family.
I can not recommend this establishment enough. Whatever you need they will try to help. Ischia is beautiful. BRILLIANT!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Poggio del Sole for 5 nights on our honeymoon. It was perfect! The balcony was the ideal spot to have a before and after dinner drink! The family that runs it were very helpful and picked us up from the Port of Forio, and gave us rides throughout the 5 days when we needed one. We dined at the hotel restaurant twice and had an amazing meal each time. When we arrived, they surprised us with champagne in our room. We loved the view and we liked to say "It was very honeymoon!" Our first night there was a Wednesday night, and it was so quiet, we felt we had the place to ourselves. For the weekend, a large family started staying in the next room - which made for a loud few days - but they were nice and we only noticed when we were stuck in the room when a rain storm came through. Forio is a great town, and a good place to use as a base to explore the island of Ischia. Negombo is the best - and a must visit. As well as La Mortella. The hotel price was very reasonable. We loved it!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

We went to the Poggio for my brother in laws wedding. We all stayed at the hotel.
We had the most amazing time! The entire family treated us with kindness and were able to accomodate all of our requests. They put on the most amazing wedding! While there we could get rides or walk to the other hotel on the beach. The food at the hotel is the best on the island with the best prices. We ate there many nights. Our room was very nice and had air conditioning. The room was cleaned up every day. We just got home and already miss everyone there. We can't wait to come back!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

From the moment we stepped off the ferry at the Forio port in Ischia, we were in heaven. The people who own the hotel will pick you up if you call. One of the sons showed us our room that was up the mountain. We had a gorgeous view from our quite large terrace of not only the mountains in Ischia but also the sea. The sunset at night was breathtaking! The room itself is a no frills room, but it has everything you could need: towels, Air conditioning, hot shower, tv (which we never used). The hotel has a small pool and a hot tub that overlooks the mountains and sea. The two nights we were there we ate at the hotel's family owned restaurant. Everything is home cooked by the mom. She makes amazing food including her famous ravolini (which looks like tortellini). The father also makes his own limoncello. The price of the room per night was also amazing and very much went with our budget. Breakfast was included in the price - no frills here either - such as cereal, breads, jams, eggs that can be hard boiled, espresso, cappuccino, teas, and so on. If you do get a chance to go, don't forget to do a day trip at Negombo thermal spa. I was in heaven at this place and you get a small discount at the hotel that can be applied to Negombo's ticket price. Overall, I would absolutely stay here again without any hesitation!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

I had a great week while staying at the Hotel Poggio Del Sole. The Hotel is located in a quiet yet panoramic spot. The Colella family, who own the place, tried to do everything possible to make my stay as comfortable as possible. The hotel restaraunt is excellent. All food is prepared and cooked fresh on the spot. The staff spoke great English and gave me great pointers on what to visit on the island and the activities to do. I really had a great time and hope to go back one day.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Poggio del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poggio del Sole

Address: Via Baiola 193, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Forio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Forio
#9 Romantic Hotel in Forio
#15 Family Hotel in Forio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Poggio del Sole 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Poggio del Sole provides everything you might need to make your vacation perfect. All rooms feature a private bathroom with hairdryer, satellite TV, personal safe, mini-refrigerator, air conditioning, heating, and internet wi-fi connection. Also available are fully serviced two bedroom apartments with small kitchenettes for 4-6 people. Each room boasts either a balcony or terrace with unobstructed views of the Mediterranean sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Poggio del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poggio Del Sole Forio
Poggio Del Sole Hotel Forio
Poggio Del Sole Isola D'Ischia/Forio, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poggio del Sole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.