We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ischia's best of both worlds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poggio del Sole

Save Saved
You added Poggio del Sole to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Poggio del Sole
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Baiola 193, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 80 hotels in Forio
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“ischia's best of both worlds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had our second stay here at the begining of October and it was just as wonderful second time around. The views are amazing, the rooms comfortable and well equiped but most of all the family are the best hosts you could wish for. Lorenzo is always on hand to give information and offer a lift to wherever you wish to go, whilst Mama Tina cooks the most amazing food (we ate at the hotel ever night of our weeks stay!!!) Salvatore grows the wonderful produce that is used in the kitchen and Guiseppe does a great job in the restaurant where his knowledge and interset in the wines is invaluable (also the house wine is very enjoyable). We really cannot speak highly enough of this little gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    27
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
28
58
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Just spent 10 days in this excellent hotel. Although it is quite a walk to the beach the owners were always willing to give us a lift and they also took us to a thermal pool complex for the day.
The family is very helpful and we are looking forward to a return trip.

Heinz and James ,Brighton

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colyton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Fantastic Italian hospitality ! wonderful family run hotel and restaurant in a superb hillside location
with breathtaking views.The Collela family make your stay very special indeed.Great food choice
for breakfast , fresh fruit tomatoes with basil and garlic,cheese,ham,croissants,eggs and more!!
Evening meals cooked by "mamma Tina" were all delicious as were Lorenzo's pizzas in the wood fired oven (thankyou for the pizza making demo and recipes)Amerigo ferried us to and from his La Rotunda beach bar ,all part of the brilliant service.Wonderful swimming in crystal clear sea,sunbeds and brolly provided,good value drinks and snack lunches . . We had an interesting grappa tasting session with Guiseppe and pappa Salvatore's homemade limoncelllo was the best! All in all this has been our best Italian holiday thanks to the outstanding hospitality from the Collela family.

Room Tip: Front room top floor all are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jena, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We really loved this hotel. The Collela family, specially Lorenzo, made everything they could to make our stay a pleasure. We were very touched by their hospitality. The food at the restaurant is the best in the island. Everything we tasted was great. I got the impression many products are self-grown. Although the hotel is a bit far up in the mountains, it offers an excellent view and a quiet place to relax surrounded by nature. When ever possible we were offered us a ride down to the beach or the thermal baths. It is really a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is probably one of the best places that I have stayed to date and is now in my top 5 list. Family run, its is welcoming and totally charming.

The hotel is about a 20-25 minute walk from Forio Port (or about 5 minutes by bus/car or Vespa). This is not so bad as you are in a good quiet spot with excellent views of the Port.

Pro's:

1. Lorenzo and his family make you feel welcome the moment that you walk into the hotel. The atmosphere is therapeutic.

2. The rooms are large (I had a single with double bed) and have balconies overlooking the Port of Forio. They are also spotlessly cleaned everyday.

3. Free Wifi (A first for me in Italy so far). You get very good connection in the apartments

4. Location. The location of the hotel is superb. You really need to have wheels, but even if you walk it or take the bus you can get to most parts easily. As a guide (by foot): Forio Harbour (25 mins), Casamiccola (30 mins) and Lacco Ameno (20 mins)

5. Food in the restaurant is amazingly good value. The food is delicious and very reasonably priced. So too is the wine.

6. The Sunsets from the balcony are breathtaking.

7. There is also a small pool on the first level, but as one reviewer has already pointed out you can use the families private beach area in Forio.

8. You'll find it hard pressed to leave the hotel.

9. Really safe to walk around at night.

10. And lastly, the beds are also very comfortable.

Cons:

I am finding it very difficult to find any really bad points, but in order to be objective.

1. The apartments are separated from the main restaurant/reception area by a 2-3 minute walk on a 20 degree incline. So really, after a delicious diner you can burn off a few calories and feel good about yourself.

2. My only regret is that I do not speak Italian, would have been nice to get to know the family a little better.

Many thanks for such a great stay Lorenzo and thank Joseph for giving me a lift up the hill when I was really tired.

Room Tip: From what I saw all the rooms are fairly large and have balconies overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

What a fantastic place to stay. We were met by Lorenzo who had a genuine, almost humbling, desire to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. The hotel is in a peaceful location that affords amazing views out over the bay. The restaurant offers some of the best quality food that we have eaten in Italy, which is made all the more impressive considering it is relatively cheap. We were also treated to a short drive down to the exclusive beach terrace that was a lovely place to sunbathe whilst also enjoying the picturesque setting. Futhermore, there are complimentary kayaks and pedalos available to use as you wish. In summary, we highly reccommend this place to anyone who is thinking of going to Ischia.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I had a great time at the Poggio del Sol. The room was lovely and spacious with it's own balcony.
I was given a single room initially but upon requesting to be upgraded the family did it without any hesitation.
The location is far enough to feel that you are getting away from your everyday life, but at the same time should you need to go anywhere, Lorenzo will offer to take you.
I really had one of the best holidays ever.

Room Tip: ask for a double room, you won't regret spending extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Poggio del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poggio del Sole

Address: Via Baiola 193, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Forio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Forio
#9 Romantic Hotel in Forio
#15 Family Hotel in Forio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Poggio del Sole 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Poggio del Sole provides everything you might need to make your vacation perfect. All rooms feature a private bathroom with hairdryer, satellite TV, personal safe, mini-refrigerator, air conditioning, heating, and internet wi-fi connection. Also available are fully serviced two bedroom apartments with small kitchenettes for 4-6 people. Each room boasts either a balcony or terrace with unobstructed views of the Mediterranean sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Poggio del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poggio Del Sole Forio
Poggio Del Sole Hotel Forio
Poggio Del Sole Isola D'Ischia/Forio, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poggio del Sole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.