We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poggio del Sole

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Poggio del Sole to your Saves list
Poggio del Sole
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Baiola 193, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 81 Hotels in Forio
Warminster, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

What a fantastic place to stay. We were met by Lorenzo who had a genuine, almost humbling, desire to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. The hotel is in a peaceful location that affords amazing views out over the bay. The restaurant offers some of the best quality food that we have eaten in Italy, which is made all the more impressive considering it is relatively cheap. We were also treated to a short drive down to the exclusive beach terrace that was a lovely place to sunbathe whilst also enjoying the picturesque setting. Futhermore, there are complimentary kayaks and pedalos available to use as you wish. In summary, we highly reccommend this place to anyone who is thinking of going to Ischia.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    30
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
31
62
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I had a great time at the Poggio del Sol. The room was lovely and spacious with it's own balcony.
I was given a single room initially but upon requesting to be upgraded the family did it without any hesitation.
The location is far enough to feel that you are getting away from your everyday life, but at the same time should you need to go anywhere, Lorenzo will offer to take you.
I really had one of the best holidays ever.

Room Tip: ask for a double room, you won't regret spending extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

The hotel is truly a family affair, from the welcome by Salvatore and Lorenzo, to the home cooking and friendly service. The rooms are in a separate building with an amazing view over the bay, a fantastic spot for watching the sunset. There is a small swimming pool, but we would recommend walking downhill (or taking a lift from Lorenzo) down to the private pontoon by the sea. Nothing is too much trouble, Salvatore gave us a bag of fresh fruit every day, and they genuinely care that you are having a good time. The food is delicious and meals are taken on a shady terrace. The hotel is slightly out of town, but right by a bus stop so it is very easy to get around - it is well worth having a go on the Ischian buses, a fun experience in itself.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor (203) lovely terrace with fabulous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Before arriving at the hotel I could not have imagined how perfect our stay there could have been. As a couple aged 24 we have never stayed in such a peaceful location when on holiday. The hospitality from all members of the family was incredible, the food at the hotel was so delicious, that we only ate out for 2 nights of the 10 days that we stayed here. From the views of the sunset on our terrace to the traditional and delicious food in the restaurant, this was a first class holiday that we will be sure to revisit - heaven!!!

Room Tip: Every room has a magnificent view - enjoy!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

We came with 4 children and 2 adults, all wanting something different this vacation and we all got what we wanted: pool with toys, the best healthy home-made food, a jacuzzi with the best view (and music and lights!), clean and spacious rooms with good beds and pillows and fresh fruit from their garden as an extra surprise everyday! Complementing all this; at their other part of this hotel we got a clear ocean with snorkel gear, boats and more toys to play with. This all with the most friendly attitude of their staff (one big family). Days were too short and too many services to enjoy in this short week we spent there. We will definitely return a 3rd time and stay even longer. Grazie per tutti Colella family!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We found this wonderful hotel in time for our 10th anniversary. It was an excellent choice, very clean, wonderful indoor and outdoor spaces. The views were beautiful, thankfully the restaurant was close by so we could stay on our balcony until well after sun set to enjoy the views. I was nervous about my lack of Italian, but this family run business has taken care of that too, with many of them speaking English as well. They know the island inside and out and go out of their way to help you find what you are looking for. I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our time there, and it is definatly where we will be staying when we can get away again!

Room Tip: We loved the corner room, but I can't see a balcony that would have a bad view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I have returned from a fantastic stay at the Poggio Del Sole.It is truly wonderful,from the hospitality of this delightful family to the food which is magnificent.There really isn't anything they won't do to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
This is a little piece of heaven on earth, absolutely brilliant.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Poggio del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poggio del Sole

Address: Via Baiola 193, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Forio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Forio
#11 Romantic Hotel in Forio
#12 Family Hotel in Forio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Poggio del Sole 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Poggio del Sole provides everything you might need to make your vacation perfect. All rooms feature a private bathroom with hairdryer, satellite TV, personal safe, mini-refrigerator, air conditioning, heating, and internet wi-fi connection. Also available are fully serviced two bedroom apartments with small kitchenettes for 4-6 people. Each room boasts either a balcony or terrace with unobstructed views of the Mediterranean sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Poggio del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poggio Del Sole Forio
Poggio Del Sole Hotel Forio
Poggio Del Sole Isola D'Ischia/Forio, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poggio del Sole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.