We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Beach Backpackers Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Paradise Beach Backpackers Hostel to your Saves list
Paradise Beach Backpackers Hostel
Via Provinciale Panza, 387, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Forio
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
“Absolutely beautiful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Clean rooms, gorgeous hostel filled with friendly staff who go out of their way to help you and create a personal experience. A beautiful pool, lovely views, close to transport. There was nothing bad about this experience. In fact we enjoyed it so much we booked another night. I recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    8
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
7
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The hostel is fantastic, spotless, awesome POOL, great buffet breakfast thrown in. The hosteliers Shaun, Gareth and Monika are brilliant and make you feel like the king of the Island and can do with it what you will. We cycled around the whole island, climbed the mountain, tasted the best bruschetta, drank dirt cheap wine, bathed in the thermal spring rock pools, had the best coffee of my life, ate delicious napolian cakes and swam in the amazing beaches around the island.

We had a blast, we miss everyone badly and shall be back ASAP!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had a fabulous stay in Ischia at the Paradise Hostel. I find that hostels these days tend to be rather impersonal with everyone focused on their laptops or tablets, but the owner, Shaun, went out of his way to make everyone feel welcome and introduce us to each other.

I was really impressed that he took the time to come out to greet us at the ferry terminal and take us to the hostel. We could tell that he really cared about seeing that we were happy and told us about a fantastic hot spring on the island that is mostly known just to the locals. We were expecting to see something up in a mountain, but the hot water flows out into the sea, and the locals have used large rocks to build up a number of small pools where the hot water mixes with the sea water. Depending on your heat preference, you can go for a very hot bath or something a bit cooler. Ischia is a magnificent place to visit and I highly recommend visiting Shaun's hostel.

Some advice:

- Take the Caremar ferry from Napoli. It's about a 20 minute walk from the Napoli Centrale train station, or you can take the tram and save about 10 minutes. As a foot passenger, don't waste your money booking online and paying the extra fees. You can buy tickets at the terminal for about 11 euros one way per person. The other two ferry companies charge higher prices, but they all have ticket windows in the same building and you can compare prices and departure times and pick what's best for you.

- We made the mistake of only staying one night, but you don't have to make the same mistake. Stay for at least 2-3 nights. The island is incredibly relaxing and worth it.

- Shaun offers some day and evening trips, but email him in advance if he's running the trips for the days you plan to stay (especially if you're only staying for a day or two). He's incredibly accommodating and suggested alternate options to us to make sure we got the most out of our trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The hostel and service was amazing! The owner, Shaun, was very helpful and super nice. He pointed out everything we should see on the island and gave us directions and tips on the best ways to get around. He took us on personal tours of the island and showed us places not many people would find on their own. We were able to meet others staying at the hostel and share experiences and travel stories. The location of the hostel was perfect. It is quiet and very easy to get to from either port. I highly recommend staying here! I would definitely go back and stay here if I ever get the chance again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Clean, gorgeous, thermal pool, free breakfast, amazing staff (who personally will take you out on tours around the island). Its more of a resort while still being as affordable as a hostel! I will most definitely come back and I am so glad I found this hidden paradise!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The hostel and the service was excellent, friendly owner/manager Shaun, cheap rates, and a great location. I was met upon arrival to Ischia at the port and shown the way to the hostel. Complimentary breakfast ensued, paired with some great conversation with the manager, he showed me the nicer spots on the island and answered any questions I had in good detail. Overall excellent experience and I would definitely recommend this hostel. If you are heading to Ischia this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there for three nights, and they where great! The island has a lot of things to see and do.. I'm glad that we decided to go there because it was definitly worth it!
The people of the hostel where great to us and recommended some spectacular activities
Would definitly go back and stay at the same place

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradise Beach Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Beach Backpackers Hostel

Address: Via Provinciale Panza, 387, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Forio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Forio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're here to stop you doing anything too extraordinary! Beach backpacker life in the turquoise, Mediterranean is simply not like that. Lounging... by the pool to the scent of our herb garden, BBQing... at sunset among our fruit trees and jasmine gazebo, playing... with our super-friendly dogs, Tequila Boom Boom and Lupo Luppolo, tanning... a gorgeous bronzed colour over a wine or beer... ... These are the things that we're about. When people reach us they have seen some pretty amazing sites in this fabulous old country. Well, you won't here... unless beautiful Italian beach bodies are your thing. We're on the 'the most beautiful thermal island in the world', overlooking Capri, Mt Vesuvius, and the Sorrento Peninsular. One reviewer said recently, we are your "Holiday's Holiday" Hostel... a real review from a real reviewer - I guess, that's an extraordinary find in a popular tourist area! But we're not just about sitting on your bottom doing nothing though... we have an outdoor pool with music playing into the night, a summer games bar, running water (just like in Canada), and a communal kitchen. Then there are group trips to clubs, beaches, restaurants, hot springs, archaeological sites, pubs, the mountaintops and on boats. Strenuous, eh! Sometimes you even have to pour your own coffee at breakfast on a terrace overlooking the Gulf and watched by an ancient volcano. Extraordinary? No, it's just a wretched part of the daily island grind. The Romans sunbathed here; the Spanish bathed, the Greeks and French did Greek and French things. Life really hasn't changed much in 3,000 years - and you will do what they did. But, we have free WiFi, as well. So, where the bloody hell are you, mate? We'll recommend the best foods and wines in Italy on top of the island, at one of the many cheap, local, hidden gems. We don't own a restaurant so we have no axe to grind; our recommendations are as impartial as they are delicious, from tried and true experience. And, we're not stuck in the stuffy, hot centre of some noisy city. What you'll hear is the sea lapping against the beach, the ice clinking on your glass and those symphonic Australian accents. We really are here to stop you doing anything extraordinary! Our rooms face seaward towards dream-like, distant islands in the west, with the summer sun shining on us for 16 hours a day! When you arrive you'll get fresh, sundried linen, a secure place for your possessions, a cosy bed, clean bathrooms, sassy social socializing spots, help with your bookings, travel plans, and summer day-excursions to Amalfi, Sorrento and Capri. You really won't regret sleeping with us!!! We're 40 minutes by boat from Naples, and you can reach us easily (and cheaply) from Sorrento, Amalfi, Capri, Pozzulli, Procida and Rome. Buses stop right outside our gate. Then, sitting with friends, a cocktail and a BBQ, watching the sun dip into the sea, you'll appreciate this irony... at Paradise Beach Backpackers, the sun never truly sets! Book your sunset here today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Paradise Beach Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Beach Backpackers Hostel Isola D'Ischia/Forio, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Beach Backpackers Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.