We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst quality-price ratio i have ever witnessed in a hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Scogliera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Scogliera to your Saves list
Hotel La Scogliera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Aiemita 27, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 81 Hotels in Forio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“worst quality-price ratio i have ever witnessed in a hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011 via mobile

this hotel asks five star prices for pension service and amenities. the pool is tiny and bathing caps are obligtory and there are not enough chairs and sun beds around it. the rest of the clients has to sit on roof that is dubbed 'solarium' and where the waiter never comes to take orders. the rooms have shabby furniture and the smallest shower and tv ever which has 7 channels. no internet in the room. it does not have a private beach but a platform on the sea for which you have to pay extra. food is very average, served inside in a restaurant that looks as if it has not been renovated since the seventies.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    43
    17
    14
    2
See reviews for
34
50
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
The Hague
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

Nice and clean hotel with a beautiful sea view, friendly staff.
Our room was roomy and clean with comfortable beds and old-style furniture.
Lovely swimming pool area outside.
Since we travelled with a 3 months old baby, we chose the half board formula, but after two days we were compelled to have dinner in other restaurants. Perhaps, the presence of numerous Northern European guests in this hotel induced the chef to adapt the typical and delicious Campanian recipes to the taste of them. It looked like we were having dinner in an ordinary Italian restaurant in Germany!
Breakfast buffet was minimal for a four star hotel.
The neighbourhood was derelict, and the presence of some street vendors of knock-off goods just outside of the main entrance of the hotel contributed to give a poor image of the hotel's surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

We stayed in this hotel for a week and enjoyed it despite a few niggles. The hotel is small, clean and well furbished. Each room is decorated differently which I found to be a nice touch.

The room we stayed in was on the left side of the hotel as you face the building. We had a small balcony with a side sea view. The balcony overlooked a back garden to a local family home and a summer kitchen to a holiday rental home, rented out to large families. My husband and I enjoyed observing the local life but not all residents enjoyed the noise that family life generated late into the evening on a number of occasions.

The hotel has different terraces on each level which provide some amazing views of the sun setting on the sea in the evening.

The pool area is clean and surrounded by flowering shrubs. There is a covered seating area where you can escape the sun and a pool bar. The deck chairs around the pool are free but you must hire the sun beds. (They are not cheap) The spa is fantastic, the warm mineral water is really enjoyable. Remember to wear your bathing cap when in any pool. You can purchase them at the bar for two Euros.
Under the pool is an indoor pool at a warmer temperature. There is also another terrace for sunbathing with sea views. I found the pool area lovely.

There is a bathing platform above the sea. If you wish to sunbathe there you must book at least the day before and it costs around twenty Euros. A waiter will take orders from your lounger and bring them to you! If you are in the mood for luxury it seemed great. If you simply want to swim you are allowed to go in there.

The hotel’s restaurant is clean and light. The room is air conditioned but if you end up in the top corner it gets rather hot. Normally you will get at able to your party however, my husband and I were placed with another couple throughout our stay. We seemed to be the only people sharing.

The food was delicious, we particularly enjoyed the cold buffet starter offered on some evenings where you could help yourself to a range of interesting dishes before your main courses were served to the table by the waiter. I would recommend the fish dishes. There is a gala meal, which is candlelit, once a week. This is a very nice experience but be prepared to wait even longer than usual for your food. In Italy dinner is not rushed but at times the hotel took it to an extreme! (Be prepared to spend two hours)

The hotel is located on the promenade right by the sea. To reach Forrio you have a fifteen to twenty minute walk, normally no issue but in the heat it can feel a long way! There are plenty of bars and restaurants along the way. Forrio itself is pleasant and really comes to life in the evening. There are even some small fairground rides for children.

If you follow the road in the opposite direction you will reach Franceso Beach, which is quite small and busy but stunning and it has more bars and restaurants. If you feel energetic go right up the hill and follow the sign for La Mortella Gardens. The gardens are set into the hill and are stunning. In the eveings there are classical music concerts there too.

Local transport is cheap and frequent it is also packed and boiling! It is the easiest way to travel but for comfort I think it would be worth hiring a car to see the island.

  • Liked — The view of the sunset on the sea.
  • Disliked — Slow service at evening meals.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2007

Hotel is close to the beach so no problem when the weather is nice and warm. we stayed three days in October but the weather was already cool and rainy so guests can only use the small inside pool which is quite old. there is also a sauna which is switched on only upon request. no towels there - you have to drag out the ones from the room and dont't ask to get another one!
Besides the greedy boss, the restaurant serves the same breakfast every day... and no real juce - only some sort of soda as orange juice.. and that on an island full of fresh fruit.
The Hotel is 4star in the internet but official 3star so prices are too high for the hotel's promisses. It must be in accordance with rates usually high on the island of Ischia.

  • Liked — See view rooms 105 and 106
  • Disliked — walls are transparent you can hear any sound
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockport
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2007

We stayed at La Scogliera last week as part of a Cosmos tour
This is an excellent family run hotel with superb facilities and exceptional staff ( the chef celebrated his 20th anniversary with the hotel whilst we were there-with fireworrks and a huge cake for all the guests)
Its location is good as it is just outside the busy Forio centre so it is peaceful and quiet
There are 3 pools (2 thermal) and a lovely terrace overlooking the sea-you need to wear a swimming hat (this is common in Italy)
The rooms are quirky and public spaces are comfortable
It feels like a real Italian hotel as 90% of the guests are Italians (many returning for over 20 years) this creates a lovely friendly and curtious atmostphere
The food is a highlight with real authentic cuisine (inclduing rabbit and other Itraditional Ischian dishes)
You are served at the table which is a real treat these days
The other treat is that the hotel is a 15 minutes walk to La Mortella Garden-the fabulous hillside gardens created by the composer William Walton and his wife Susanna-a must
see
You can enjoy afternoon tea and cakes in a tropical paradise

  • Liked — the layout of the hotel
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirlingshire, Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2007

We stayed at this hotel as part of a Cosmos coach tour of Italy. The hotel is spotlessly clean with friendly helpfull staff. Meals are excellent with very efficient table service (not found too often in holiday hotels nowadays)
The hotel is only a 10 minute walk from Forio although there are bars and pizzerias even closer. Lunch can also be purchased at the pool bar.
This hotel is ideal for a relaxing week after touring. We would highly reccomend it.

  • Liked — Quiet, restfull and just right for complete rest
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Scogliera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Scogliera

Address: Via Aiemita 27, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Forio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Forio
#15 Luxury Hotel in Forio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Scogliera 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Scogliera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Scogliera Isola D'Ischia/Forio, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Scogliera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.