We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mezzatorre Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mezzatorre Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Mezzatorre Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Via Mezzatorre 23, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 81 Hotels in Forio
Bristol, England
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Mostly good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My wife & I have recently returned from a week in this hotel. In general there are very few negatives, but more of this later.
The hotel is in a beautiful setting, approached by a very long narrow driveway through the woods & a 25 minute walk or 15 euro taxi ride to Lacco Ameno, a lovely little port with some goog shops .
The views are spectacular and the restaurant & pool areas are in a fantastic position overlooking the sea.
There is not much here to keep children occupied & the location means that it is not really suited to anyone with mobility problems as it is quite hilly, with some of the accommodation located in the woods & approached either by steps or steep pathways.
We found that most areas were kept clean & tidy but there were a few public areas which needed tidying up due to fallen tree debris which, to be fair, may have been from a storm which they had the day before we arrived - having said that, some of it was still there a week later.
There was never a problem obtaining sunbeds around the pool & the pool attendant was always on the ball when we arrived at the pool, bringing towels, umbrella etc.
Food at the pool bar is of good quality but is very poor value for money, however the Chandalier restaurant is excellent, with fabulous food & first class service from friendly efficient staff. The breakfast is average for a 5* hotel with limited choice compared to most other 5* hotels we have stayed at.
The assistant restaurant manager, Salvatore, deserves a particular mention for his courtesy & professionalism - he should go far as he is perfect for this job!
We opted for a Superior Sea View room with a terrace. This was disappointing as it was very small, in need of updating and the terrace consisted of a small garden with a mixture of dead grass & long grass which had obviously not yet been cut this season! The bathroom was tiny & also in need of updating, with a shower over the bath which is not what you expect from a hotel of this calibre & price. Definitely not up to 5* standard, although it was serviced daily to a good standard. (Please tell the maids not to keep turning the air conditioning up to 24 degees!!).
The hotel has a thermal spa which although enjoyable is also in need of updating & general attention. The thermal pools had loose handrails, some of which were tied up with string & the grouting was mouldy. There was also yellow scum on the tiles at water level.
The reception staff tried their best to be helpful but most of them did not have a very good understanding of English, as this is something we have grown to expect in 5* hotels around the world. This however is also noticeable in the shops with little English being spoken in most of them.
Would we go back? - Probably not, because although most things are good the rooms are much too cramped.
Please note that this review is not intended to be negative as we had a good time - we are just being honest & offering constructive criticism where we feel it is justified.
Generally speaking, if you go here you will probably not be disappointed. (Not until the rude, greedy Russians arrive anyway!!!).

Room Tip: Most rooms in the "Tower" do not have balconies or their own outside space so upgrade if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    40
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
17
126
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cortona, Italy
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This Resort is fantastic. We stayed for 4 nights with another couple and the four of us would all rate the experience as excellent
The facilities are great but ( as is commonly the case) it is the professional and friendly service of the staff that made our stay so good
The pool setting is beautiful and the "bar" poolside also serves a great lunch and dinner
The more formal restaurant is also terrific
Overall "Wow"
Ps it's not cheap by any means!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The Mezzatore is a piece of heaven. Such a beautiful resort with attention to every detail. We only stayed 3 days and would have liked to stay longer. The staff is so very professional, but very friendly. The room in the 16th century tower was small, but had everything and more to make our stay very comfortable with exquisite linens and Frette robes to lounge in. The food was beautifully prepared, presented, and delicious. The Mezzatore goes way beyond the norm to make your stay a memorable one. We have recommended this property to several friends and will look forward to returning someday. Lovely, peaceful, beautiful Ischia....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Excellent location, world class hotel layout and facilities, great service, value for money rooms (we took one of the cheaper rooms and it was May so no idea of prices in higher season), expensive food and drink but very high quality (can be avoided by eating and drinking in town if preferred although own transport would make this easier)

Beautiful location on the cliffs overlooking private bay. The hotel is on lots of different levels with sunloungers, day beds and deck chairs all over the place. You can sunbathe right down by the sea, by the pool and lunch restaurant/bar, or up on several terraces by hotel. There's another outdoor bar area by the main hotel as well as a rooftop terrace with sofas. Its ideal if you like peace and quiet and want some space from other guests. The rooms have a luxury feel with have everything you would expect from a 5* hotel (except coffee making but this seems to be the same across Europe). The location of the rooms is very varied as some are in the main building, and others are in the park area which is a short steep walk up the hill. We had a park room with a seaview and a small terrace but it probably wasnt worth the extra for the seaview as we were hardly ever in the room during the day. Food and drink is expensive but the quality and service is excellent. In May there was only one dining option, which is a full on 4 course dining experience, but its not stuck up and the food and service is great. We went half board for 55 euros per person extra per night or a la carte is between 15 and 30 euros per course. Half board gives you a choice of 3 or 4 options per course. Later in the year I think the poolside restaurant is also open for dinner. Booze isnt cheap either - 7 euros for a beer, 13 for a glass of prosecco or a bottle from about 55 euros so pick up a few bottles of presecco at a supermarket on the way as there are loads of very cool places to sit and drink, overlooking the bay and watching the sunset. Lunch is in the restaurant by the pool and is 15-25 euros for mains or 24 euros for the buffet. Most other people at the hotel had a car as its a good 25 minute walk into the nearest town but there is an hourly free shuttle there. The town was very nice and pretty quiet in May with local shops, bars and restaurants. The hotel has its own private bay, which drops straight off the rocks into the sea. There's no sand but its great for swimming/snorkelling with ladders and steps for easy access.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main building look the best with fantastic views but not convinced its worth the ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We've stayed at some pretty nice hotels in various countries and we'd rate this up there with any of them in terms of location and setting. It's tucked back into a rocky cove in what used to be a 16th century watchtower. From the pool and surrounding areas you can see an incredible view of the sea...really stunning.

The entire grounds are a combination of rock walls and huge trees, with birds chirping all the time...you feel like you're in a jungle on the end of the ocean. There are lots of great places to sit and lounge with great views or have a drink.

Our rooms were nice and clean, but not very large, with private terraces that also had great views.

Dinner was great but a bit pricey, but not out of line from what you'd expect at a place like this.

You can take a free shuttle to the local town for shopping, lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
1,288 reviews 1,288 reviews
125 hotel reviews
Reviews in 597 cities Reviews in 597 cities
1,316 helpful votes 1,316 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We were doing a Sherpa- load of walking and exploring around Naples,when our concierge asked where we were staying next. When we expressed non commitment to anywhere,he interposed a suggestion. Go by fast boat from Naples to the the bay of San Montano, seven km from the harbour and Bob's your uncle,you have arrived at the resort.
The impulsive decision to let him book us,was well deserved. Thermal waters are not just thermal waters here. Bubbling up from the depths of the earth,pleasantly warm with a wealth of minerals sufficient to release the tension in our limbs,caused by cycling and climbing.
This incredible establishment,with crenallations and awash with Aztec orange-ochre ,is a stand out on a rocky platform facing the ocean,built around a 16th century watchtower.
Superb suites field views so breathtaking that you feel suspended between heaven and earth. At dinner we met a French couple who grilled us about kangaroos and the mysteries of Australia and rewarded us with drinks from their terrace. Our views came from the swimming pool and the restaurants. We found the cuisine here to be the best in Ischia,and great companions to boot.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I spent 1 week for our anniversary and visited the three islands: Capri, ischia and procida! We always pick boutique hotels put of the crowds! I expected a lot from this hotel for its price. The room turned out to be extremely small and in the middle of a forest! We went into a rainy day and walk trough was difficult and dangerous. The TV looks old...breakfast was OK. We can t say we were happy even though we read carefully the comments.... For that price, next time I'll stay on the Procida island it has better quality standards for the price range. Overall disappointed!

Room Tip: Don t go! Pick Procida much cheaper and comfortable and visit Ischia in the day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mezzatorre Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mezzatorre Resort and Spa

Address: Via Mezzatorre 23, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Forio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Forio
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Forio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Forio
#3 Luxury Hotel in Forio
#6 Romantic Hotel in Forio
#9 Family Hotel in Forio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mezzatorre Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mezzatorre Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mezzatorre Hotel Forio
Mezzatorre Resort Forio
Mezzatorre Resort And Spa Isola D'Ischia/Forio, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mezzatorre Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.