We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and charming resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mezzatorre Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Mezzatorre Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mezzatorre Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Via Mezzatorre 23, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 80 hotels in Forio
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent and charming resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Incredible friendly, professional and Attentive staff. Great views, superb room with many Etro surprises in the bathroom. Great swimming pool overseeing the sea and two fantastic restaurants. Ask if Toni is there and you will have the best waiter of the island! This is most definately one of the bests hotels we went to.....stylish, comfortable, the location is the best of the island!

Room Tip: Book a room in the 16th Century tower (we had room 133)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    34
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
15
111
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 146 cities Reviews in 146 cities
279 helpful votes 279 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

It is necessary to separate the cliff, far from civilization. The location is as it is a plus, and minus.
Plus - is surrounded by 7 hectares of vast green forests on the coast.
Less - next to the hotel there is no taxi or bus stops. To get to him, you need 15 minutes to walk along a deserted road by the forest.
Day without tension - right woods to the left - Negombo sea - beautiful! And in the evening without a car can not do. Taxi at night from the area in St. Restituta Lacco Ameno Mezzatorre to 15 is from the hotel to Lacco Ameno morning and evening walks hotel minibus, but not always possible to adjust to his schedule. I'm usually in town left for the hospitality bus back to back in a taxi. Other options were not. Walk through the woods at night is not very pleasant.
Immediate access to the beautiful snow-white villa of the famous Italian director Visconti.
In short, the hotel is for those who seek solitude and quiet.
Views from the hotel offers simply stunning - the Vesuvius, the sea, Negombo.
Apart from the main hotel building, among the green forest, a few scattered single-storey buildings.
The rooms are very small, but tastefully decorated. The big advantage was a huge terrace. Bathroom in marble, a tiny, but beautiful. Cosmetics Etro.
Upon arrival welcome juice and desserts. Mineral water replenished constantly.
The hotel has its own rocky beach. Ladder into the sea is very convenient, just goes deep. The sea there is a clean, once the waves washed up garbage, but he was immediately removed. Free places on the beach have always been.
All thermal pools are located in a separate building and they are free of charge. They say it is the only hotel on the island, where thermal pools are paid. And, do not pay an entrance fee, but charged to the pool (which there are 2 or 3 species). One pool for an hour is worth more than a day in Negombo. Various procedures.
Excellent spa, work on the French cosmetics CARITA.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajaccio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We just stayed a couple nights my wife and I. Mezzatorre is an excellent, charming small resort, with very experienced and attentive staff. But the real deal is its location, with its own private bay and fantastic views over the Med and an overwhelming preserved environment.
Spa is very nice, lunch restaurant as well (did not try the dinner Chandelier restaurant).
Just lacks a little "je ne sais quoi" in the atmosphere (sea activities and a more vibrant bar maybe), but more than perfect for those looking for rest in an exclusive location.
That was our case, and we enjoyed every minute of our stay there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in mid July 2012 in their most expensive suite (1500 euros per night)but we were really disappointed with everything: the room is basic with awful looking white modern furnitures, the curtains were not preventing the morning sun so we woke up at 5 am! House keeping was a disaster with average cleaning, not renewed soap/shampoo, basic wired hairdryer, leaking shower and things disappearing...We needed to do some work but their wifi made it impossible as we needed to log in every few minutes, the personal was not professional and dealt with our complaints by ignoring them. Their restaurant is pretty bad too and really too expensive for the average food and service. Their Spa treatments are ok but include hidden fees. Conclusion: this hotel is a total rip off and certainly not a 5 stars hotel! If you are looking for a luxury hotel with good staff, don't go there.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mezzatorre, Direttore generale at Mezzatorre Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Mezzatorre Resort & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies and also I take this opportunity to clarifying some points:

Suite Decor:
While you wrote that the Bellevue Suite was basic, and while we understand that everyone has different taste, and it is not at all traditional, we believe it is anything but basic! It is simply designed in very light tones with a splash of color. It is very soothing and calming. It features very sleek modern furnishings and most importantly, offers an amazing view to the sea and an exceptionally large terrace overlooking the sea just below.

Ability to darken the room:
The Suite has 2 types of curtains, a sheer one and a blackout curtain. In addition there are shutters.(very typical for Italy). After your departure, we checked the Suite again and when we closed all the curtains, it was completely dark.

Bathroom Amenities:
With regards to your comment about the amenities in the bathroom, there are actually three sets of amenities in this large bathroom, also with a gorgeous view to the sea.

Restaurant:
We always receive compliments “…” and our prices are consistent with other 5-star hotels.

In conclusion you left the hotel 2 days early, saying that you found a better rate for a suite in a hotel on Capri. We learned that you booked a far smaller room that cannot compare in any way to the Belleview Suite. I offered you a small discount, not what you requested but did not charge any penalty fee for early checkout during peak season.

Mezzatorre is the ideal resort for someone who wishes to relax and enjoy the Italian quality of life. Ischia is far more authentic and unpretentious than Capri. It is the Capri of 20 or 30 years ago. It is heaven!

Sincerely yours
Giovanni Sirabella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I stayed with my husband for the week end at the mezza Torre Hotel, the decoration of the hotel is veri posh and the personnel is very kind. However, there is no trasportation service to and from the harbour which is unusual for a 5 star hotel. Ischia is famous for the thermal waters but at Mezza Torre you can stay in the thermal pool for 30 minutes at a price of 35 Euros, again unusual, 5 stars hotels such as Saturnia, Fonteverde or Bagni di Pisa have thermal pools available all the time. The food at the restaurant is average though very expensive. In summary I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

First trip to Ischia after many trips to Capri and the Amalfi coast. Ischia exceeded our expectations and we enjoyed its laid back feel. Beyond that, we had difficulty leaving the Mezzatorre Resort and Spa for any reason because our experience at the Mezzatorre was outstanding!

We arrived with our children, aged 17 and 14, and our arrival experience was superb! We were fortunate to have two rooms in the tower, while although small, were comfortable and the ocean views were incredible!

Our meals at the Mezzatorre were great - some of the best that we had on our entire two week visit to Italy. The breakfast outside is a perfect start to the day. The lunches by the pool are simple yet delicious. Dinners are also amazing! Service at any of the restaurants is impeccable! Thank you Toni, Salvatorre and Cristian! Any special request is accomodated.

Speaking of service - there is not one area at the Mezzatorre that is lacking for over-the-top service. The bar service and piano bar by the Tower is relaxing, efficient and missed upon our return home. The service by the pool was great. Our children did not want to leave Mezzatorre for any reason, which is unusual, and were not bored at all. Mezzatorre arranged horse back riding on the mountain which was perfect.

I am hesitant to write this review of Mezzatorre because this is an undiscovered pleasure which we don't want too many people to find out about!! Thank you Mezzatorre!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I finally had the pleasure of staying at Mezzatorre for a couple of nights last September and I have to agree that the rooms, service and splendid location and sea views were a dream. I especially loved having the direct access to the private bay where you could just dive straight into the warm waters of the sea...... I work for Luxury Link and am proud to have Mezzatorre Resort on our site. Kudos to Giovanni Sirabella the General Manager of the property and to his entire staff !!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mezzatorre Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mezzatorre Resort and Spa

Address: Via Mezzatorre 23, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Forio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Forio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Forio
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Forio
#3 Luxury Hotel in Forio
#5 Romantic Hotel in Forio
#13 Family Hotel in Forio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mezzatorre Resort and Spa 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Mezzatorre Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mezzatorre Hotel Forio
Mezzatorre Resort Forio
Mezzatorre Resort And Spa Isola D'Ischia/Forio, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mezzatorre Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.