We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful and calming place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giardini La Mortella

Giardini La Mortella
Via Francesco Calise, 39, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
+39 081 986220
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 Attractions in Forio
Type: Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: La Mortella is the wonderful mediterranean and tropical garden developed by Susana Walton, the argentinian wife of the British composer Sir William Walton. It is located in Forio (Ischia) and can be visited on Tuesdays, Thursdays, Saturdays and Sundays from 9 am to 7 pm, from April through late October.
California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A beautiful and calming place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This place was so gorgeous. An entire hillside is planted with beautiful plants, trees, and flowers. It affords fantastic views of the island of Ischia. There are monuments and different places to visit, like a Thai pagoda, the temple of the sun, an orchid house, a memorial to the founder, William Walton. I recommend taking the time to see this place.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    647
    153
    28
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

A really lovely place to amble round, with lots of varied mini features and a good explanatory leaflet and map to help you explore. It would probably be particularly fascinating if you know your plants, but it's pleasant even if you don't - though I'd have appreciated a little more information about the Waltons (who designed and created the garden). I spent about 2.5 hours there, and you could easily stretch that further, particularly if you stop at the tea room. It's essentially embedded in a hill - there may be a lift somewhere, but I suspect you'd struggle if you had a pram or mobility issues. It's about 20 minutes by bus from Ischia (CS, 1 or 2), and you'll have to ask the driver to stop at La Mortella.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
504 reviews 504 reviews
175 attraction reviews
Reviews in 173 cities Reviews in 173 cities
517 helpful votes 517 helpful votes
“A Must See On Ischia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This garden, started by former British composer Sir William Walton and his wife in 1949, is definitely worth seeing for anyone interested in gardens or in flowers and plants in general. Beautifully laid out, the garden fills two areas -- a valley and a hill, which offers stunning coastal views. Both sections show off at least 1,000 thriving plant varieties gathered from around the world. At least two hours can be spent here gawking at colorful shrubs and flowers; tall trees; ponds with noisy frogs; fountains and much, much more.

Benches abound for visitors to relax and it is possible to take an elevator for those who have difficulty climbing the many steps. A lovely cafe offers light meals and drinks at reasonable prices.

When I went here, the garden was open only four days a week so be sure to check opening hours.
It took me about 25 minutes by a public bus (#1) from the main bus station at Ischia's port. Tickets must be purchased before boarding the bus.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Garden Not To Be Missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I am a gardener, always learning and never fully achieving what I want. However I am glad that some gardeners actually do achieve their vision and Giardini La Motella is a garden that should never be missed. The history behind the garden is enough to arouse curiosity however upon entering these sacred grounds, yes sacred grounds, a feast for the eyes and soul is around every turn. We went in September 2013 and it was an overcast day, did not matter. The color of the grounds, the water features, the exotic flowers provided enough light and daylight was actually optional. Do not miss this garden if you are in Forio. It is well worth the trip even if it is a little difficult to find. Truly enchanting.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

That s mother kind of garden I would like to have at home! Fantastic. I ll be back! I appreciated the care of the plants, the diversity....

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giardini La Mortella also viewed

Ischia, Isola d'Ischia
Isola d'Ischia, Province of Naples
 
Forio, Isola d'Ischia
Forio, Isola d'Ischia
 

Been to Giardini La Mortella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giardini La Mortella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.