We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another year in the same lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden & Villas Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Garden & Villas Resort to your Saves list
Garden & Villas Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strada Provinciale Lacco 2010 | 80075, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Forio
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Another year in the same lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

After a fantastic holiday last year we decided to come back to this corner of paradise. Absolutely fabulous place, excellent service and the walks up and down to the beach and Lacco suited our desire to work off some of the very fresh and tasty food offered in a restaurant with five-star service. The introduction of the half board option was great and we enjoyed the food and service.
The lack of a small pool for small children makes the pool sometimes noisy but when it is quiet the place is absolutely divine.
Looking forward to returning next year to a friendly and very welcoming place.
R Obreja London, UK

Room Tip: Go for the the rooms with the view over the bay and towards Vesuvius, if you can. A bit more epensiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    41
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
68
163
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights with a group on a conference. The staff are really friendly and very helpful, location is a short but steep walk to the local town (take the short cut via 100 steps!) good to work off the pasta !
Food OK(better at lunch than dinner ) but much better choices in the nearby town or a taxi ride back to Ischia Porto. Rooms are great if you get a premium room - some in the group were disappointed with standard rooms (a bit dark and cramped)
Wonderfully relaxing - be a great place for a quiet relaxed holiday

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Excellent service, very quiet, good food. The rooms are very specious, the pool is great for swimming. Nice but small spa.
Very close to the center of lacco ameno, although some dangerous roads to cross on the way. Nice and hospitable staff.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Stayed for 5 nights and wished we'd stayed for longer. The hotel is situated a 10 minute walk from the beautiful town of Lacco Ameno. Set in beautiful surroundings the hotel is a haven of tranquility. Staff are very friendly, rooms are spacious and pristine with free mini bar (juice and water), breakfast offers good options, restaurant is classy, bar is swanky, pool is very clean and good size for swimming, offer free shuttle to lacco ameno and forio - the list of positives goes on and on.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I cannot say enough great things about this hotel. Both rooms and bathrooms are big. Superior rooms have a little patio in front which is perfect for enjoying the beautiful gardens of the hotel. Breakfast was amazing....10 if not more types of bread, around 15 different freshly baked cakes, hot foccaccia, mozzarella, ricotta, fresh squeezed juice as well as 5 or 6 other types of juices. There are plenty of tables outside to enjoy the beautiful scenery or one can sit inside the restaurant which has picture windows so you can still enjoy the view. My husband and I also wanted to thank the very hospitable and wonderful owners of the hotel. It's rare to meet such people and I am very happy to have had the opportunity. I really hope to visit them again in the near future. Thank you Luigi and Rita for making our stay extra special. We travelled as a couple (left kids with inlays) but there were many families with young children. The hotel also offers shuttle service and you can walk to the Negombo.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anonymous
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I had a lot of complaints about this hotel and they were mainly the communication as the hotel staff cannot speak good English. The reception was not keen to recommend or really help me plan my travel plans as the language was already a barrier and I honestly think they should have just been more upfront about the services they were providing. Their beautiful website sold it to me and gave me the impression they were offering 4 star service. As language was an issue, booking a massage at their spa was a mission as the reception at the spa was not friendly at all. I think the hotel needs to understand what a four star means, it means the service should be top-notch or near top-notch. The breakfast and restaurant services were of 3 star in my opinion, but the reception and spa services was in my opinion only 1 star. Cleaning services were great, always giving me a good smile and replacing my towels and catering to any needs I need so I would give them 4 stars for that. They also had a shuttle service which dropped you off at the nearest city center for dinners but the times were not convenient and sometimes it was late so it was hard to plan your evening. All in all, the staff had good will and tried to help as problems arise, but this actually stressed me as I spent money to come to relax and not get stressed about where to go and what to do let alone trying to plan my trip. As I was not the only one that was dissatisfied with this hotel, the hotel boss should read my review and start taking my criticism as productive criticism to improve their services. When you're a foreigner coming to a foreign country, it relies on the hotel to provide as much information about planning your trip and what to expect. This level of detail is so important because that was the reason why I booked for four stars and not 3 stars or less. I was expecting the kind of service which I felt was worthy of the four stars.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Flew into Naples and ferried across to Ischia - taxi from the port to the Hotel, Garden & Villas Resort. First impressions were superb, friendly check-in & a short tour of the hotel via golf buggy - we stayed in a suite (193) with a very large upstairs terrace and jacuzzi and a fab view ! Overall opinion of this room is a little negative since I found the bed far too hard and the terrace was a waste of space unless you were thinking about holding a private dinner or similar. Friends of ours stayed in room 198 and I would recommend this room above ours …. The bar and restaurant staff, particularly Lorenzo and Francesco were fantastic and made the stay all the more enjoyable. Food was great (Italy!) although we booked half board and I would have preferred to wonder down to the town(?) and eat out a couple of times. There is a beach a short walk from the hotel albeit a hike coming back up. The beach was great with a paid and non-paid area. We ate panini's for a snack but there is a full buffet restaurant. Everybody was super friendly, mainly Italians on vacation. Certainly recommend a trip to Capri for the day and the chair lift to the top of the mountain. We also chartered a small boat (10 people) and went around the entire coastline of Ischia, stopping at S. Angelo for beers, proscecco and Mozzarella !

Room Tip: A little research upfront to select best room advised
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden & Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden & Villas Resort

Address: Strada Provinciale Lacco 2010 | 80075, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Forio
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Forio
#1 Luxury Hotel in Forio
#1 Romantic Hotel in Forio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden & Villas Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
48 rooms in 9 villas set in 3 hectares of Mediterranean greenery for a tranquil wellness holidayGarden & Villas resort is situated just outside the picturesque town of Lacco Ameno, Ischia island, at only 500m distance, and 350m from the splendid sandy bay of San Montano and Negombo thermal spa gardens. The resort is comprised of 8 villas of typical Mediterranean architecture, splendidly located in the resort’s 3 acre gardens, rich in Mediterranean and native plants and flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Garden & Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden & Villas Resort Isola D'Ischia/Forio, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden & Villas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.