We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant and nice atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gabbiano Beach

Gabbiano Beach
Via Giovanni Mazzella, 75 | Spiaggia di Citara, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
+39 081 908019
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 88 Restaurants in Forio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $22 - $335
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Exclusive restaurant on the beach, situated in very beautiful place. Fresh product and of high quality!
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good restaurant and nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had a very nice dinner next to the beach, in a wonderful scenario and in a very quite and relaxed environment. Food was very good (we are Italians and our standards on this kind of food are quite high), the fish was fresh, portions were big (the mussels appetizer was actually huge), service very good. Prices are very reasonable for a fish restaurant in a vacation spot, we had two appetizers, two pastas, water and a glass of wine for about 55 Euro in total. It is the best restaurant we have been to in Ischia (we stayed three days).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    48
    16
    6
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent food and service, but a little pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

During a tour of Ischia our taxi driver suggested the restaurant for a good superb seafood dinner. The waiter kindly suggested that we try their seafood antipasto followed by lobster spaghetti followed by fresh local fish. All food and service was excellent. Only downside was that the bill was exceedingly expensive. Just make sure you are aware of the prices before you say yes to the suggestions if price is an issue. The location Is also excellent with beautiful view of the sea. Would recommend for those who are looking for excellent seafood with a generous budget.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We visited this restaurant in May on the night of the champions league final. It was recommended by our taxi driver as the restaurant we wanted to go to which was Neptunus was closed. The fish was all very fresh and cooked superbly. The service was very good indeed and everyone wanted to ensure we enjoyed our meal . Perhaps the fact that I sat opposite a tv watching the football made my review a bit biased. Anyway we intend to revisit this excellent restaurant when we go back in July.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Most expensive lunch ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

During a tour of Ischia our taxi driver took us to this restaurant for lunch. The waiter kindly suggested that we try their seafood antipasto followed by lobster spaghetti. We figured that this would be expensive but why not - after all, we were on holiday and how much could a lunch for two be? BIG mistake. The food was very nice and the location right on the beach excellent, but the bill was a very nasty shock indeed. We've dined at some expensive restaurants, but nothing compares to this one. I am too embarrassed to say how much it was - but I would advise against this restaurant unless you are seriously rich, and even then make sure you know how much you'll be charged before placing an order!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
395 helpful votes 395 helpful votes
“From Sea to Plate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had the pleasure of visiting the lovely island of Ischia in September for a day. We were fortunate to have a driver take us all over the island. One of the things we asked of him was to have a nice leisurely lunch on the beach. Gabbiano Beach did not disappoint. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted with open arms and seated outside on the sprawling terrace next to the beach. The tables offered ample room and did not bump up against the next table. Within moments of being seated, a server was over to take our drink order. Our driver had recommended some of the local wines, so my husband ordered a bottle of local red.

Another server brought over some of the fresh fish on ice caught that day. We knew instantly that we wanted to share a whole fish.

To start, we ordered a pizza margarita as we usually start all our lunches in Italy. Having just been into 5 days of our 13 day trip to Italy, this was by far the best pizza. It was light, with fresh mozzarella accompanied by a light drizzle of local olive oil. Next we moved onto the seafood pasta for each of us. Probably a little too ambitious, but we are foodies and love to eat. It was the most beautiful presentation we’ve ever had; the plate was so visually appealing. It was served with fresh pasta, shrimp, claims, mussels and octopus with garlic, parsley, olive oil and butter. Truly amazing. We could have stopped there, but we had a whole fish coming. The fish was caught that day and served with mixed vegetables and potatoes. It was presented and the server de-boned and split on two plates for us. Not having room for dessert, the server recommended some pineapple to cleanse the palate. I’ve never seen such a lovely presentation of pineapple. This was followed by a complimentary apperitivo made in house.

After lunch we sat outside and enjoyed the lovely view and finished our wine and prosecco. This was truly a memorable experience for us and so happy we were able dine here. On a side note, we were never given a menu at any point during our lunch. Normally we would not have accepted this. But we were happy to enjoy the experience and let the server make the recommendations. It was apparent that the driver brings his patrons here all the time. Make sure you ask for a menu. I would be happy to return to Gabbiano and would recommend to anyone. Price point was on the higher side, but considering everything you get is fresh (fish/seafood), it’s well worth it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gabbiano Beach also viewed

Forio, Isola d'Ischia
Forio, Isola d'Ischia
 
Forio, Isola d'Ischia
 

Been to Gabbiano Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gabbiano Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.