We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most expensive lunch ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gabbiano Beach

Gabbiano Beach
Via Giovanni Mazzella, 75 | Spiaggia di Citara, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
+39 081 908019
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 86 Restaurants in Forio
Price range: $24 - $367
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Exclusive restaurant on the beach, situated in very beautiful place. Fresh product and of high quality!
Alton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Most expensive lunch ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

During a tour of Ischia our taxi driver took us to this restaurant for lunch. The waiter kindly suggested that we try their seafood antipasto followed by lobster spaghetti. We figured that this would be expensive but why not - after all, we were on holiday and how much could a lunch for two be? BIG mistake. The food was very nice and the location right on the beach excellent, but the bill was a very nasty shock indeed. We've dined at some expensive restaurants, but nothing compares to this one. I am too embarrassed to say how much it was - but I would advise against this restaurant unless you are seriously rich, and even then make sure you know how much you'll be charged before placing an order!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    47
    16
    6
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
376 helpful votes 376 helpful votes
“From Sea to Plate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had the pleasure of visiting the lovely island of Ischia in September for a day. We were fortunate to have a driver take us all over the island. One of the things we asked of him was to have a nice leisurely lunch on the beach. Gabbiano Beach did not disappoint. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted with open arms and seated outside on the sprawling terrace next to the beach. The tables offered ample room and did not bump up against the next table. Within moments of being seated, a server was over to take our drink order. Our driver had recommended some of the local wines, so my husband ordered a bottle of local red.

Another server brought over some of the fresh fish on ice caught that day. We knew instantly that we wanted to share a whole fish.

To start, we ordered a pizza margarita as we usually start all our lunches in Italy. Having just been into 5 days of our 13 day trip to Italy, this was by far the best pizza. It was light, with fresh mozzarella accompanied by a light drizzle of local olive oil. Next we moved onto the seafood pasta for each of us. Probably a little too ambitious, but we are foodies and love to eat. It was the most beautiful presentation we’ve ever had; the plate was so visually appealing. It was served with fresh pasta, shrimp, claims, mussels and octopus with garlic, parsley, olive oil and butter. Truly amazing. We could have stopped there, but we had a whole fish coming. The fish was caught that day and served with mixed vegetables and potatoes. It was presented and the server de-boned and split on two plates for us. Not having room for dessert, the server recommended some pineapple to cleanse the palate. I’ve never seen such a lovely presentation of pineapple. This was followed by a complimentary apperitivo made in house.

After lunch we sat outside and enjoyed the lovely view and finished our wine and prosecco. This was truly a memorable experience for us and so happy we were able dine here. On a side note, we were never given a menu at any point during our lunch. Normally we would not have accepted this. But we were happy to enjoy the experience and let the server make the recommendations. It was apparent that the driver brings his patrons here all the time. Make sure you ask for a menu. I would be happy to return to Gabbiano and would recommend to anyone. Price point was on the higher side, but considering everything you get is fresh (fish/seafood), it’s well worth it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

On our first visit to Ischia we hired a driver for the day and one request was to stop at a good beachside restaurant where we could have a swim and a leisurely lunch? Our driver,Franco took us to the Restaurant Il Gabbiano at Gabbiano Beach and we thought it would be owned by a relative and not what we had hoped for.
We were warmly welcomed and informed we could change in their restrooms and use the beach and their facilities.
After a delightful swim we had a most pleasant lunch.The restaurant specializes with fish and the linguini and lobster was superb as was the local fish which was carefully dissected at the table as was the lobster.
The local wine Pietratorcia was excellent for 24 Euros and the service first-class.
Ischia is a delight and great value and this was exemplified at Il Gabbiano.
Highly recommended.
Donald B

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Go there if you like sea food of the best quantity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Excellent food. Go eat and enjoy.
We loved the food, the service and would recomend it to you. Ask for Pasqualw he is the man.

This restraunt is every trackers dream, lovely service, fantastic views and food that is so fresh it was alive minutes before it was cooked and served.

Fantastico.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Place to enjoy good food and the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Upon arriving on the island of Ischia we meet a wonderful gentleman, Gaetano, he was able to assist us and show us around the island of paradise. We were able to shop, visit some churches, have lunch and go to the beach before we went back to Sorrento. The restaurant was great, Pasquale suggested the fresh fish, so we did, it was fantastic and the wine from the region went well with our lunch. I promise I will be back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gabbiano Beach also viewed

Forio, Isola d'Ischia
Sant'Angelo, Serrara Fontana
 
Forio, Isola d'Ischia
Forio, Isola d'Ischia
 

Been to Gabbiano Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gabbiano Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.