We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in an exceptional Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Providence Terme & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Providence Terme & Spa to your Saves list
Hotel Providence Terme & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via G.Mazzella 162 | Baia di Citara, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 82 Hotels in Forio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in an exceptional Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

A great hotel in an amazing island! Maria and the team work hard to create a lovely, warm atmosphere in the hotel - we were thoroughly well looked after all week by each member of staff.

Accommodation wise we had a lovely, functional family room that opened directly into an exotic garden area with incredible sea views creating an inside/outside atmosphere we really enjoyed.

The hotel has an excellent location sat on the hillside giving guests a great view of Citara Bay and the sea with steps down to a lovely beach below serviced by a café.

There are two outdoor pools - a good sized traditional pool and a smaller thermal pool that’s replenished daily with thermal volcanic spring water. There’s also an indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi.

We stayed on a half board basis and ate very well - there are a couple of ‘special nights’ in the week with local delicacies and other days it’s a four course affair which was generally high quality, varied and cooked well.

We’d thoroughly recommend Ischia for a holiday, currently not really on the UK tourist radar - highlights are the wide selection of beaches, thermal parks like Poseidon (10 min walk from the hotel) and the incredible Mortella Garden - William Walton’s residence.

We did a day trip to Capri - and whilst its undoubtedly beautiful and one day wasn’t enough, it was hugely busy and expensive and we were relived to be back in Ischia which had the pace, beauty, serenity and good food which we were looking for.

Hotel Providence Terme is an excellent hotel attracting guests of all ages (we’re a young family of four) - highly recommended!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    49
    13
    9
    3
See reviews for
57
84
14
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ciampino, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This hotel made our holiday just perfect! It's located few minutes away from Forio, few steps from the beach and it has a stunning view from most of the rooms and the common area.
It has 2 outdoor swimming pools (one of thermal water at 40° coming up continuously from the underground - a very pleasant fall to stand under...); it has also an indoor swimming pool and a relaxing area.
It's nice to take a walk in the marvellous garden, among the herbs and statues.
The food is simple, but really tasty. Most of the ingredients are from the owners farm on the island, that's the reason for the great taste!
Don't miss the "ISCHITAN DINNER" on friday night, to taste the local specialties and listen the most beautiful neapolitan songs (a captivating duo is playing live)
The staff is friendly, welcoming and so helpful that anyone feels like home.
A place worth staying!!!

Room Tip: Some rooms have no view at all (the ones close to the reception and the ones on the ground floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Just returned from a trip to Ischia where we stayed at Hotel Providence. Overall we had a great time, the location across the street from Cava dell'Isola beach was great. It was a 15 minute walk into Forio and we walked into town every night. The service of the staff was excellent, especially Maria and the two bartenders (Mauricio and I can't recall the evening bartenders name). They made us fresh juice from the fruit in the garden that was absolutely delicious. The pool deck has a beautiful ocean view. Rooms were clean and simple with a small outdoor space, no frills.

I traveled with a girlfriend however and we wouldn't recommend this for a girls trip. The clientele was much older than us (we're in our early 30s) and it was very quiet. We were hoping for a little more liveliness, however we were able to find that in town. The only negative thing about this hotel was the fact that one of the members of the cleaning staff parked herself outside our room 2 mornings in a row chatting away for a really long time with somebody. When in Europe one tends to stay out late and sleep in, especially on a relaxing vacation. However somebody talking loudly outside your room at 8am doesn't allow for much sleeping in.

All that said I would recommend Hotel Providence if you are looking for a nice quiet getaway but not necessarily for a trip with friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Lovely small hotel. They have great food and the terme bath also 2 pools, one indoors and one outdoors. The owners and two of the adult children still own and manage this hotel. They are on site and offer excellent service. The location is great because you can walk to Foria and walk to the one large, fancy terme with all kinds of spa offerings. Hotel Providence had great food, too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is an absolute gem of a hotel on a spectacular island that I have now been visiting for 3 years. Everything about it affords a wonderfully comfortable and relaxing holiday.

The staff are genuinely kind, professional and courteous and are a credit to the owner Signora Maria, who is an extremely charming and attentive lady. She took time during her very busy day to give me a guided tour around the hotel's aromatic herb garden ("Garden of the Senses"), of which she is particularly fond and proud and quite rightly so! It is obvious when speaking with her that the hotel and its reputation are of the utmost importance to her, and this is reflected in the way that the hotel is run.

The public/communal areas are all spacious, comfortable and inviting, providing also areas dedicated to TV and games (cards, etc). The outside terraces boast magnificent mountain and sea views from which THE most spectacular sunsets can be witnessed.

The gardens surrounding the outdoor pools, one of which is thermal, are beautiful and perfectly maintained making that all important holiday activity of 'relaxing by the pool' the pleasurable experience it should be.

The spa offers various wellness and beauty treatments and I was reliably informed that herbs from the garden are used in some of the treatments, as well as by the chef in the restaurant!

The hotel offers regular quality live entertainment which includes Neapolitan singers and musicians, giving the guests the opportunity to show off their dance floor skills - an opportunity that many guests do not let slip through their fingers I'm delighted to say!

The restaurant, which has a sea view, provides an excellent and diverse menu, and from a very personal point of view, desserts to die for!

I have been in love with the island of Ischia since first visiting in 2009; experiencing the hospitality of Hotel Providence makes me love it even more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiova
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Excellent hotel, splendid sea view!! The staff, especially signora Maria very helpfull and attentive. The hotel has great spa services and a very good restaurant with excellent italian food. Rooms are comfortable and cleaned every day. Recomand this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Stayed 2 weeks in this splendid hotel which has much to offer. Staff always kind and courteous, spacious public areas with wonderful sea views, good quality restaurant with 3 choices of first and second courses, rooms kept well cleaned without disturbing the guests, large pool area with both standard and thermal pools, quality evening events, convenient bus connections to Forio. All in all I would recommend this hotel for a relaxing, stress free holiday on beautiful Ischia.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Providence Terme & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Providence Terme & Spa

Address: Via G.Mazzella 162 | Baia di Citara, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Forio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Forio
#5 Luxury Hotel in Forio
#6 Family Hotel in Forio
#15 Romantic Hotel in Forio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Providence Terme & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the most panoramic spot of the island, close to the famous thermal garden Poseidon, only a few yards from the wonderful seaside of Citara. The Hotel Terme Providence is surrounded by a large garden with trees and every kind of flowers, which make the stay even more pleasant. A charming oasis for a quiet holiday. Small and modern SPA Centre with Thermal department and Beauty farm and Physiotherapy for health and Beauty treatments with personal program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Providence Terme & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Providence Terme & Spa Isola D'Ischia/Forio, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Providence Terme & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.