We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, good food, very kind staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Providence Terme & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Providence Terme & Spa to your Saves list
Hotel Providence Terme & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via G.Mazzella 162 | Baia di Citara, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 81 Hotels in Forio
Ciampino, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great view, good food, very kind staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This hotel made our holiday just perfect! It's located few minutes away from Forio, few steps from the beach and it has a stunning view from most of the rooms and the common area.
It has 2 outdoor swimming pools (one of thermal water at 40° coming up continuously from the underground - a very pleasant fall to stand under...); it has also an indoor swimming pool and a relaxing area.
It's nice to take a walk in the marvellous garden, among the herbs and statues.
The food is simple, but really tasty. Most of the ingredients are from the owners farm on the island, that's the reason for the great taste!
Don't miss the "ISCHITAN DINNER" on friday night, to taste the local specialties and listen the most beautiful neapolitan songs (a captivating duo is playing live)
The staff is friendly, welcoming and so helpful that anyone feels like home.
A place worth staying!!!

Room Tip: Some rooms have no view at all (the ones close to the reception and the ones on the ground floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    49
    13
    9
    3
See reviews for
57
82
14
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Just returned from a trip to Ischia where we stayed at Hotel Providence. Overall we had a great time, the location across the street from Cava dell'Isola beach was great. It was a 15 minute walk into Forio and we walked into town every night. The service of the staff was excellent, especially Maria and the two bartenders (Mauricio and I can't recall the evening bartenders name). They made us fresh juice from the fruit in the garden that was absolutely delicious. The pool deck has a beautiful ocean view. Rooms were clean and simple with a small outdoor space, no frills.

I traveled with a girlfriend however and we wouldn't recommend this for a girls trip. The clientele was much older than us (we're in our early 30s) and it was very quiet. We were hoping for a little more liveliness, however we were able to find that in town. The only negative thing about this hotel was the fact that one of the members of the cleaning staff parked herself outside our room 2 mornings in a row chatting away for a really long time with somebody. When in Europe one tends to stay out late and sleep in, especially on a relaxing vacation. However somebody talking loudly outside your room at 8am doesn't allow for much sleeping in.

All that said I would recommend Hotel Providence if you are looking for a nice quiet getaway but not necessarily for a trip with friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Lovely small hotel. They have great food and the terme bath also 2 pools, one indoors and one outdoors. The owners and two of the adult children still own and manage this hotel. They are on site and offer excellent service. The location is great because you can walk to Foria and walk to the one large, fancy terme with all kinds of spa offerings. Hotel Providence had great food, too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is an absolute gem of a hotel on a spectacular island that I have now been visiting for 3 years. Everything about it affords a wonderfully comfortable and relaxing holiday.

The staff are genuinely kind, professional and courteous and are a credit to the owner Signora Maria, who is an extremely charming and attentive lady. She took time during her very busy day to give me a guided tour around the hotel's aromatic herb garden ("Garden of the Senses"), of which she is particularly fond and proud and quite rightly so! It is obvious when speaking with her that the hotel and its reputation are of the utmost importance to her, and this is reflected in the way that the hotel is run.

The public/communal areas are all spacious, comfortable and inviting, providing also areas dedicated to TV and games (cards, etc). The outside terraces boast magnificent mountain and sea views from which THE most spectacular sunsets can be witnessed.

The gardens surrounding the outdoor pools, one of which is thermal, are beautiful and perfectly maintained making that all important holiday activity of 'relaxing by the pool' the pleasurable experience it should be.

The spa offers various wellness and beauty treatments and I was reliably informed that herbs from the garden are used in some of the treatments, as well as by the chef in the restaurant!

The hotel offers regular quality live entertainment which includes Neapolitan singers and musicians, giving the guests the opportunity to show off their dance floor skills - an opportunity that many guests do not let slip through their fingers I'm delighted to say!

The restaurant, which has a sea view, provides an excellent and diverse menu, and from a very personal point of view, desserts to die for!

I have been in love with the island of Ischia since first visiting in 2009; experiencing the hospitality of Hotel Providence makes me love it even more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiova
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Excellent hotel, splendid sea view!! The staff, especially signora Maria very helpfull and attentive. The hotel has great spa services and a very good restaurant with excellent italian food. Rooms are comfortable and cleaned every day. Recomand this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Stayed 2 weeks in this splendid hotel which has much to offer. Staff always kind and courteous, spacious public areas with wonderful sea views, good quality restaurant with 3 choices of first and second courses, rooms kept well cleaned without disturbing the guests, large pool area with both standard and thermal pools, quality evening events, convenient bus connections to Forio. All in all I would recommend this hotel for a relaxing, stress free holiday on beautiful Ischia.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

I stayed at Hotel Providence for three weeks, from the end of August to mid September 2011. It was a great vacation!
The hotel is great, with its comfortable rooms that have everything designed to make one's vacation pleasant and serene, and the beach and the sea are wonderful!
The hotel is well managed. Maria, the hostess, values the hotel reputation, that's why everything runs so smoothly.
The hotel territory is very well attended, green, with flowers everywhere. In addition to a swimming pool, there is a thermal pool along with an impressive spa program, which is so convenient!
The hotel staff is well trained, professional, exceptionally friendly, and considerate of each client's specific needs. The receptionists and administrative personnel overall, maids, gardeners, waiters and bartenders are all helpful and nice.
The rooms are cleaned daily, with no reminders required, in the first half of the day and at the time when the guests are away.
The hotel restaurant is beyond praise; it is sure one of high class European restaurants. It was my third time in Italy, also, I love Spain for vacation, I have been all over Europe, and so I know what I'm talking about. The menu is diverse, European dishes are great, and Italian ones - from pasta and gnocchi as starters to Sicilian cornets and rum baba for dessert - are simply incomparable. What is particularly good about the restaurant is that the top service pleases with its non-intrusiveness. Not to miss are gala dinners - fascinating dining shows held weekly - that suggest a festive dress code.
The hotel has a good entertainment program, which is valuable in Ischia, where there are not so many hotels that offer such events. During my stay, there were a few nights of Neapolitan music with professional bands performing; there is an aqua gym course. The hotel sponsors/participates in organizing sightseeing events. For example, I attended a wine tasting tour recommended by the hotel owner and manager Maria, and I am grateful to her for it.
There are barely any Russian tourists at the hotel. It's a pity that tour agencies do not market this wonderful island and this fantastic hotel.

Room Tip: Recommend a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Providence Terme & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Providence Terme & Spa

Address: Via G.Mazzella 162 | Baia di Citara, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Forio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Forio
#6 Luxury Hotel in Forio
#6 Family Hotel in Forio
#16 Romantic Hotel in Forio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Providence Terme & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the most panoramic spot of the island, close to the famous thermal garden Poseidon, only a few yards from the wonderful seaside of Citara. The Hotel Terme Providence is surrounded by a large garden with trees and every kind of flowers, which make the stay even more pleasant. A charming oasis for a quiet holiday. Small and modern SPA Centre with Thermal department and Beauty farm and Physiotherapy for health and Beauty treatments with personal program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Providence Terme & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Providence Terme & Spa Isola D'Ischia/Forio, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Providence Terme & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.