We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely oasis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Scapolatiello

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Scapolatiello to your Saves list
Hotel Scapolatiello
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Risorgimento 1, 84010 Cava De' Tirreni, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

An old hotel, yes, but why does a hotel need to be "modern"? Scapolatiello is charming, with an abundant of gorgeous views from the (very) numerous places you can sit, have a drink, and relax. Kitchen for the most part excellent. Staff very helpful. Pool is nice. Nature walks nearby, not too far from Cava and Vietri. Very restful and kind of opulent place to spend a few pleasant days. Our balcony view was stunning. Barman Antonio was a real pro and a delight.

Room Tip: Junior suite with a view is best. Didn't have a tub, but some that had that didn't have near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelScapolatiello, Scapolatiello Hotel Management at Hotel Scapolatiello, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Daveinem,

allow us to thank you for sharing with thousand of travellers your amazing experience with us, your words of appreciation for Scapolatiello Hotel fills us with pride .
We are glad that the kindness of our staff (we'll give them your congratulations, in particular to Antonio) and our many places where spend time and relax have left a sweet memory.... and it's true: we are in the heart of the nature!
Hope to see you again!

Scapolatiello Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    78
    22
    8
    3
See reviews for
31
104
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Pleasant rooms, clean, although a little old fashioned, and with a very good buffet breakfast with fresh fruit, bread and cakes.
Dinner was very traditional in the usual style of an Italian hotel dining room, and very well executed. My grilled fish was perfectly cooked, served with grilled vegetables. Starter of smoked salmon with cream cheese was also excellent and nicely presented.
Wines were nice, but there was a shortage of beer – after two drinks they were out of Italian beer and we were reduced to Heineken.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view on the upper floors open onto a lovely terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

After several days of touring the archeological sites around the Bay of Naples, I decided to spend a few extra days in Italy before I returned to the US. I am certainly glad that I chose this hotel. My room with a small balcony was clean & well-kept & had a beautiful view of the surrounding countryside. The staff was friendly & helpful & the food in the restaurant was good.

Cava de' Tirreni proper is actually a couple of miles away. The hotel is located in Corpo di Cava which is a very small and historic village with narrow streets, old fairly intact city walls and guard towers, a Benedictine Abby from the 1000s, and the remains of a Roman aqueduct. I very much enjoyed walking around the village and on the trails beyond the abby.

The only downside in my view is that it is fairly isolated. I did not have a vehicle, but if I am fortunate enough to get there again, I will definitely rent one.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a balcony (see photo).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

While here in march we had snow and quite a bit of rain so walking up from the car park meant an influx of 25 wet persons. This did not worry the staff who were most welcoming and friendly.
The rooms were large and some have baths but we only had a shower which was perfectly adequate. We note that some people did not like the decor but we found it added to the ambience of the place.
The food was plentiful and well prepared with attentive staff ready to replenish empty plates.
The hotel is kept very clean and the views to salerno are spectacular especially at night.
While there it is recommended you visit the monastery and also walk down the gorge to see the aqueduct.

Room Tip: Rooms vary and are individually designed. Check out the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I stayed here with a group visiting Pompeii and Herculaneum in January 2013. If I had not been with the group I would have left after the first night. Staying there was a dismal experience, although I can imagine that it is much more attractive in summer, as the hotel has a beautiful hilltop position and (I believe) attractive gardens and an outdoor pool. The hotel had an exceptional problem with its hot water supply which persisted in some rooms for most of the time we were there. I think I only had one hot shower over four days. Apart from a small seating area close to an open fire, the public rooms, corridors and the room in which I stayed were also terribly cold, especially the dining room - cold to the point of acute discomfort even for a fit active person dressed suitably for winter in Britain. I wore thermal gloves on my feet, and read a book about the Titanic to get a sense of perspective on enduring my stay at the Scapolatiello. The staff did not appear to be very concerned with these problems, or have the will or the skill to resolve them, shrugging them off with a casual 'va bene', despite the fact that this is a family-run hotel and the British travel company has been taking people there for twenty years. I hope they never do so again. Quite apart from this, I thought the food was pretty mediocre on the whole, and the fixtures and fittings, although clean, were very dated and poorly lit. I travel extensively and am astonished that this hotel has four stars. It bears no comparison to any other four star hotel I have stayed in this side of the former Iron Curtain, and was far less attractive and comfortable than many two or three star hotels in Europe.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Although it was cold outside this hotel provided a good base for our tour group. The rooms were comfortable although the tiled floors were a bit cold in January but the main rooms had warming fires. The food was generally good apart from one evening meal which was average. The staff are excellent and very helpful. The drive up the hotel is a bit bendy so we were glad our driver was doing it for the four nights we were there. The gardens and terraces looked inviting even in the winter and I imagine in the summer they are super.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of a walking trip, and it was a wonderful way to start. The hotel collected us from the train station and it was about a 5-10 minute uphill drive - you wouldn't want to walk it. The taxi squeezes through a tiny street and deposits you at the door of the hotel.

Reception staff were very helpful, and our room was a mini-suite. It had the main bedroom and a small anteroom with a balcony off it with nice views over the valley. The management gave us a small bottle of prosecco and some tasty nibbles, and it was a perfect way to start our holiday, sitting on the balcony with a glass of wine.

Our holiday included the evening meal which we often don't enjoy as so often it consists of a set meal of second quality which you almost feel obliged to eat because it's included. Here, they give you the full menu and you can choose as much or as little as you want without restriction. And the food was absolutely excellent. Two of us with three courses on two nights, almost everything was perfect.

Others have mentioned the terraced gardens which are pleasant to sit in and read, and the nice pool. About the only negative was that if you wanted a drink in the garden, it was not easy to find someone to serve it to you.

All in all, this hotel is a lovely, quirky get away - not absolutely pristine but with a real feel of Italy and very nice food. If you want Four Seasons/Marriott and night life, don't go here but otherwise come here and enjoy a slower pace of what feels like typical Italy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Scapolatiello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scapolatiello

Address: Piazza Risorgimento 1, 84010 Cava De' Tirreni, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Cava De' Tirreni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cava De' Tirreni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Scapolatiello 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Scapolatiello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Scapolatiello Cava De' Tirreni, Salerno, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Scapolatiello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.