We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent traditional hotel in the hills” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Scapolatiello

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Scapolatiello to your Saves list
Hotel Scapolatiello
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Risorgimento 1, 84013 Cava De' Tirreni, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Excellent traditional hotel in the hills”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Pleasant rooms, clean, although a little old fashioned, and with a very good buffet breakfast with fresh fruit, bread and cakes.
Dinner was very traditional in the usual style of an Italian hotel dining room, and very well executed. My grilled fish was perfectly cooked, served with grilled vegetables. Starter of smoked salmon with cream cheese was also excellent and nicely presented.
Wines were nice, but there was a shortage of beer – after two drinks they were out of Italian beer and we were reduced to Heineken.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view on the upper floors open onto a lovely terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky3D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

After several days of touring the archeological sites around the Bay of Naples, I decided to spend a few extra days in Italy before I returned to the US. I am certainly glad that I chose this hotel. My room with a small balcony was clean & well-kept & had a beautiful view of the surrounding countryside. The staff was friendly & helpful & the food in the restaurant was good.

Cava de' Tirreni proper is actually a couple of miles away. The hotel is located in Corpo di Cava which is a very small and historic village with narrow streets, old fairly intact city walls and guard towers, a Benedictine Abby from the 1000s, and the remains of a Roman aqueduct. I very much enjoyed walking around the village and on the trails beyond the abby.

The only downside in my view is that it is fairly isolated. I did not have a vehicle, but if I am fortunate enough to get there again, I will definitely rent one.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a balcony (see photo).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucestershire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

While here in march we had snow and quite a bit of rain so walking up from the car park meant an influx of 25 wet persons. This did not worry the staff who were most welcoming and friendly.
The rooms were large and some have baths but we only had a shower which was perfectly adequate. We note that some people did not like the decor but we found it added to the ambience of the place.
The food was plentiful and well prepared with attentive staff ready to replenish empty plates.
The hotel is kept very clean and the views to salerno are spectacular especially at night.
While there it is recommended you visit the monastery and also walk down the gorge to see the aqueduct.

Room Tip: Rooms vary and are individually designed. Check out the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruardean89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I stayed here with a group visiting Pompeii and Herculaneum in January 2013. If I had not been with the group I would have left after the first night. Staying there was a dismal experience, although I can imagine that it is much more attractive in summer, as the hotel has a beautiful hilltop position and (I believe) attractive gardens and an outdoor pool. The hotel had an exceptional problem with its hot water supply which persisted in some rooms for most of the time we were there. I think I only had one hot shower over four days. Apart from a small seating area close to an open fire, the public rooms, corridors and the room in which I stayed were also terribly cold, especially the dining room - cold to the point of acute discomfort even for a fit active person dressed suitably for winter in Britain. I wore thermal gloves on my feet, and read a book about the Titanic to get a sense of perspective on enduring my stay at the Scapolatiello. The staff did not appear to be very concerned with these problems, or have the will or the skill to resolve them, shrugging them off with a casual 'va bene', despite the fact that this is a family-run hotel and the British travel company has been taking people there for twenty years. I hope they never do so again. Quite apart from this, I thought the food was pretty mediocre on the whole, and the fixtures and fittings, although clean, were very dated and poorly lit. I travel extensively and am astonished that this hotel has four stars. It bears no comparison to any other four star hotel I have stayed in this side of the former Iron Curtain, and was far less attractive and comfortable than many two or three star hotels in Europe.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ABRLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Although it was cold outside this hotel provided a good base for our tour group. The rooms were comfortable although the tiled floors were a bit cold in January but the main rooms had warming fires. The food was generally good apart from one evening meal which was average. The staff are excellent and very helpful. The drive up the hotel is a bit bendy so we were glad our driver was doing it for the four nights we were there. The gardens and terraces looked inviting even in the winter and I imagine in the summer they are super.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimSY2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of a walking trip, and it was a wonderful way to start. The hotel collected us from the train station and it was about a 5-10 minute uphill drive - you wouldn't want to walk it. The taxi squeezes through a tiny street and deposits you at the door of the hotel.

Reception staff were very helpful, and our room was a mini-suite. It had the main bedroom and a small anteroom with a balcony off it with nice views over the valley. The management gave us a small bottle of prosecco and some tasty nibbles, and it was a perfect way to start our holiday, sitting on the balcony with a glass of wine.

Our holiday included the evening meal which we often don't enjoy as so often it consists of a set meal of second quality which you almost feel obliged to eat because it's included. Here, they give you the full menu and you can choose as much or as little as you want without restriction. And the food was absolutely excellent. Two of us with three courses on two nights, almost everything was perfect.

Others have mentioned the terraced gardens which are pleasant to sit in and read, and the nice pool. About the only negative was that if you wanted a drink in the garden, it was not easy to find someone to serve it to you.

All in all, this hotel is a lovely, quirky get away - not absolutely pristine but with a real feel of Italy and very nice food. If you want Four Seasons/Marriott and night life, don't go here but otherwise come here and enjoy a slower pace of what feels like typical Italy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayellbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Tucked away in a steep wooded valley of the Lombardi mountains this is a favourite spot for Italian couples to celebrate their marriage. It oozes romance, has good, genuinely home cooked italian food, warm friendly staff and glorious views. THe terraces and public rooms are a delight and there is a large, elegant swimming pool, covered in winter, though not heated.

The hotel rambles around the hill side with a wide variety of rooms. Ours was comfortable but not large and the bathroom had the tiniest shower imaginable. But a balcony with a glorious view made up for the slight discomfort of soaking the bathroom every time we wanted a wash. Being out all day we did not feel strongly enough to ask for a change. Friends unhappy with the room they were allocated found the staff more than helpful in offering a variety of other rooms until they selected one more to their taste.

The food varied from good to excellent, prepared from local ingredients and local recipes. Neopolitans are famous for their ice cream but we have never had any as good as at this hotel. Walnuts, chesnuts, plums, bananas all filled with ice cream or sorbet made from the appropriate fruit,exquisite!

The hotel is a bit off the beaten track and it is probably not ideal for children. But it is a perfect location for walking holidays or for visiting Pompeii, Herculaneum, Naples and even Paestum. The main local town is too far for an evening stroll and not particularly attractive. But the location and facilities of the hotel are so comfortable that we felt little desire to stir outside once we had returned from a day's site seeing. For those who like places of historic interest, just ten minutes down the road is the eleventh century monastery, a place of worship, teaching and learning from 1011 to the present day. The great abbey church and museum can be visited but hours are limited so its worth checking before you go.

Room Tip: The Abbey bells can be a bit loud in some parts of the hotel so if you are a light sleeper best to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Felicity459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cava De' Tirreni
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Salerno-Cava De' Tirreni
Holiday Inn Salerno-Cava De' Tir...
#1 of 5 in Cava De' Tirreni
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
1.5 mi away
Victoria Maiorino
Victoria Maiorino
#4 of 5 in Cava De' Tirreni
4.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Pineta  Ristorante Castello
Hotel Pineta Ristorante Castell...
#5 of 5 in Cava De' Tirreni
3.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Diecimare
Hotel Diecimare
#2 of 5 in Cava De' Tirreni
4.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
6.9 mi away
Novotel Salerno Est Arechi
8.8 mi away
Vea Resort Hotel
Vea Resort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mercato San Severino
4.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scapolatiello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scapolatiello

Address: Piazza Risorgimento 1, 84013 Cava De' Tirreni, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Cava De' Tirreni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cava De' Tirreni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Scapolatiello 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Venere and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Scapolatiello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Scapolatiello Cava De' Tirreni, Salerno, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing