We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Scapolatiello

Save Saved
You added Hotel Scapolatiello to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Scapolatiello
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Risorgimento 1, 84010 Cava De' Tirreni, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Although it was cold outside this hotel provided a good base for our tour group. The rooms were comfortable although the tiled floors were a bit cold in January but the main rooms had warming fires. The food was generally good apart from one evening meal which was average. The staff are excellent and very helpful. The drive up the hotel is a bit bendy so we were glad our driver was doing it for the four nights we were there. The gardens and terraces looked inviting even in the winter and I imagine in the summer they are super.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    71
    21
    9
    2
See reviews for
31
92
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of a walking trip, and it was a wonderful way to start. The hotel collected us from the train station and it was about a 5-10 minute uphill drive - you wouldn't want to walk it. The taxi squeezes through a tiny street and deposits you at the door of the hotel.

Reception staff were very helpful, and our room was a mini-suite. It had the main bedroom and a small anteroom with a balcony off it with nice views over the valley. The management gave us a small bottle of prosecco and some tasty nibbles, and it was a perfect way to start our holiday, sitting on the balcony with a glass of wine.

Our holiday included the evening meal which we often don't enjoy as so often it consists of a set meal of second quality which you almost feel obliged to eat because it's included. Here, they give you the full menu and you can choose as much or as little as you want without restriction. And the food was absolutely excellent. Two of us with three courses on two nights, almost everything was perfect.

Others have mentioned the terraced gardens which are pleasant to sit in and read, and the nice pool. About the only negative was that if you wanted a drink in the garden, it was not easy to find someone to serve it to you.

All in all, this hotel is a lovely, quirky get away - not absolutely pristine but with a real feel of Italy and very nice food. If you want Four Seasons/Marriott and night life, don't go here but otherwise come here and enjoy a slower pace of what feels like typical Italy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Tucked away in a steep wooded valley of the Lombardi mountains this is a favourite spot for Italian couples to celebrate their marriage. It oozes romance, has good, genuinely home cooked italian food, warm friendly staff and glorious views. THe terraces and public rooms are a delight and there is a large, elegant swimming pool, covered in winter, though not heated.

The hotel rambles around the hill side with a wide variety of rooms. Ours was comfortable but not large and the bathroom had the tiniest shower imaginable. But a balcony with a glorious view made up for the slight discomfort of soaking the bathroom every time we wanted a wash. Being out all day we did not feel strongly enough to ask for a change. Friends unhappy with the room they were allocated found the staff more than helpful in offering a variety of other rooms until they selected one more to their taste.

The food varied from good to excellent, prepared from local ingredients and local recipes. Neopolitans are famous for their ice cream but we have never had any as good as at this hotel. Walnuts, chesnuts, plums, bananas all filled with ice cream or sorbet made from the appropriate fruit,exquisite!

The hotel is a bit off the beaten track and it is probably not ideal for children. But it is a perfect location for walking holidays or for visiting Pompeii, Herculaneum, Naples and even Paestum. The main local town is too far for an evening stroll and not particularly attractive. But the location and facilities of the hotel are so comfortable that we felt little desire to stir outside once we had returned from a day's site seeing. For those who like places of historic interest, just ten minutes down the road is the eleventh century monastery, a place of worship, teaching and learning from 1011 to the present day. The great abbey church and museum can be visited but hours are limited so its worth checking before you go.

Room Tip: The Abbey bells can be a bit loud in some parts of the hotel so if you are a light sleeper best to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I booked this hotel based on two things - price on Expedia and the fact they had a pool. We were spending 2.5 weeks in Italy and I decided one week away from the hustle and bustle was the way to go. I couldn't have been happier with our stay. An older, more local hotel (the nameplate outside the door is stamped with 1821), there's no gym, no concierge, and WiFi coverage was spotty (and, broken for a few days while we were there) but they make up for those few issues everywhere else.

Our room was spacious with a nice balcony. The bathroom needed an update, but everything worked brilliantly. There was even AC in the room, which did come in handy in the evenings.

The staff was kind, and though English wasn't spoken by everyone, they did their best to help us as much as they could. We spent many afternoons lounging at the pool, and the man in charge of the pool (Giovanni) was helpful and gracious. By the third day, he'd see me walking in and go grab me a towel and chair before I even asked. The view from the pool was incredible - green mountains and blue sky. It was bliss.

The grounds for the hotel are well maintained and peaceful...so, so peaceful. Beautiful flowers and greenery with a sprawling seating area. This, coupled with the views from the terrace, made it all was sublime.

The restaurant was nice and we had breakfast there every morning, dinner twice. This secluded part of Cava De'Tirreni isn't the most happening place on earth, but there are four restaurants within walking distance. We ate at three of the four and those we tried were affordable and tasty (and, as a bonus, wine and beer were quite inexpensive :-).

This felt like authentic Italy. Every night, people would congregate and sit on the wall, or in the local park, or in front of the hotel, chatting, having a drink, catching up, and watching children play. We felt like the only tourists for miles, and that was one of the many charms of staying here.

Final detail - the hotel is a wedding Mecca. During our stay, there were three weddings held. But, it didn't disturb us at all...the hotel is set so weddings are held below the regular area where guests are. It was fun to look down and see families feting newlyweds from the terrace.

If you're looking for something out of the ordinary while in Italy, Hotel Scapolatiello is it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. They cost a little more, but you'll be glad you did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I guess you can only be lucky a few times, but I was in the centre of festivities when the village where the hotel is on the square celebrated it's 800th years and 10,000 people visited and we were lucky to be guests in the honeymoon suite. On top of a hill with gorges around and churches built into the cliffs you can't get a more scenic location to lounge by the pool and eat overlooking the lombardi mountains. I felt like a 30s gentleman stopping off to write a novel on a grand European tour?
Ps I drove a Mito to manage the hills and use it as a base for Naples and Amalfi coast.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I have to say that this is easily the best place I have ever stayed! I first went here with a tour group as part of an archaeological trip to Pompeii and Herculaneum (2003). I would never have considered staying so remotely if not been brought here. I liked it so much that I decided to share my experience with my husband by going here for my honeymoon 7 years later (2010). He too was bowled over! The views are second to none, the staff are so friendly gene if they don't understand english very much. To be honest this was part of the charm and really it was my role to speck Italian in my view as I was the traveller after all. My pigeon italian was accepted with a smile and not made little of thankfully. The food was gorgeous and the coffee just superb. It has taken me this ling to write a review as I am now only getting to grips with trip advisor!

Room Tip: As for a junior suite. Well worth it and not so expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, NJ
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This hotel is set just off the coast in the mountains, minutes from the Amalfi coast. It is very picturesque. Beautiful grounds/gardens to walk around and see and a nice pool area (that closes very early, 6pm). We stayed in a 2BR/2BA apartment next to the hotel which was very nice and extremely reasonably priced (under $200 per night), unheard of in summer in this area for such a nice place.

The only thing holding this place back from a better review is the lack of helpfulness of hotel staff/concierge in arranging activities. We couldn't find the concierge at the hotel (ever). Thankfully I had family in the area to help us arrange things. If you are English speaking be prepared for challenges.

I would still recommend this hotel as a great option for visiting the area. It is very convenient to travel to Vietri (best ceramics in the world), Amalfi, Salerno (ferries to Amalfi/Positano/Capri), Pompeii and Paestum.

Don't miss La Foce restaurant just up the mountain from the hotel. Lots of great places nearby to eat and get Gelato. The town of Cava de' Tirreni is a great place to walk around as well.

Bonus for this resort is the free fenced parking about 200 meters down from hotel.

Ciao!
Rob

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Scapolatiello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scapolatiello

Address: Piazza Risorgimento 1, 84010 Cava De' Tirreni, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Cava De' Tirreni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cava De' Tirreni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Scapolatiello 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Scapolatiello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Scapolatiello Cava De' Tirreni, Salerno, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Scapolatiello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.