We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great affordable rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Salerno-Cava De' Tirreni

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Salerno-Cava De' Tirreni to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Salerno-Cava De' Tirreni
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Mazzini, 274, 84013 Cava De' Tirreni, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great affordable rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I've stayed at this Holiday Inn for one night, just a stopover while driving from Scily back to L'Aquila. This is a great place. You exit the highway and it's right there, check-in is a breeze and when you get to your room you're nicely surprised by it's ample size and comfort, the same you'd get to expect in Canada or America. Last but not least, it's coveniently priced. Can't tell how it'd have worked should I wanted to stay in the area, enjoying the Amalfi Coast, but for the purpose stated I couldn't have found a better place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    69
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
66
4
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lerici (Italy)
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Although not in the nicest location, this hotel is highly worth of being recommended. Right after the Cava de' Tirreni exit of the motorway, is also a good solution to split a long car trip to the south of Italy. Kind and efficient check-in. The personnel was collaborative for everything.
Standard Holiday-Inn rooms well maintained e properly cleaned. Good breakfast, including a cooked omelette or scrambled egg on request and fresh fruit.
The rooms on the side which faces the motorway exit are a bit noisy. I tried both sides, and it is better to choose the other side ( I think they have even chamber numbers). The view is ugly from both sides, but the acoustics isolation is much better

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed in this hotel twice: 2011 and 2013 (Last week of May) .The hotel is excellent with nice rooms ,free parking and a nice restaurant . The prices are very fair and we decided to take the half board - a very good deal.
It's a good starting point for "The Amalfi coast , Pompei , Sorrento and Capri . After one day trips we returned to the hotel for sleep and dinner that was quite nice.
The hotel is situated 10 KM from Piazza Concordia in Salerno , the parking lot (2 euro every hour) from this piazza you can take the ferry to Amalfi , Positano and other places on the bay , or to take the public bus (7.5 euro for 24 hours).The takes you to all the places mentioned with ease . As we chose May they were not very crowded (in June and July they are).
We recommend this hotel for the very good and helping staff.
H.Hasson , Ramat Hasharon , Israel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We visited Salerno for 6 nights in September and decided to stay here for the last 2 nights as the prices were extremely cheap and the proximity to the main road meant it was easy to leave early on the last day for a long drive up to Civitavecchia. I wish we could have stayed longer! This really is an excellent hotel. It is extremely easy to find and they have a largish car park with free parking. It is very modern and the entrance foyer/check in area was lovely and the lady who checked us in was friendly and spoke good english. Our room was great, large, very clean and comfortably furnished with a big bed. The bathroom was a decent size and with a good shower. Good wifi coverage (I think it was free! (Can't remember!) ) and surprisingly, our room had a lovely view. Fair enough, it overlooked the main road (which you can't really get away from) but look past this and you will see beautiful, green hillsides with little villages just waiting to be explored :)
The gym was again, surprisingly good for this level of hotel. It is very small but has enough equipment to keep you going for a few days and it was all brand new techogym.
We didn't eat in the hotel at all so can't comment. There was a small supermarket just over the road where you can get basics.
This hotel is THE hotel to stay in if you want ease of access to both the Amalfi coast and the other side of the peninsula (Sorrento etc....). I don't know what the buses are like around this area but it was very convenient with a car. It is also well placed for visiting places like Pompeii, Herculaneum and Vesuvius (all of which are absolute must see's!).
A indicator of a good hotel is if the weather is awful and you still enjoy staying there. It absolutely poured down with rain the 2 days we stayed here and it was a joy to come back to such a warm and comfortable hotel after a day sightseeing in the rain.
I very much hope to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for seven nights. It is very clean, large comfortable rooms, for Europe. The hotel is very quiet. The staff is very helpful answering all questions and very willing to help you plan your day and places to visit. They charge for wi fi in the rooms, but there is free wi fi in the lobby, which was wonderful to check in with family. It is set in a business section of town, but also has the convenience of restaurants and shopping all in walking distance. Right across the street is a wonderful coffee bar, restaurant and grocery stores. We walked into town a lot. There is a charming old town area full of wonderful shopping (very reasonable). The train station is within waling distance (without luggage) about 15 minutes away. With the train you have access to Pompei (30 minutes away), Salerno (15 minutes), the Amalfi towns and more. We used a taxi both ways to the train station because of luggage (10 Euros). I would stay here again if we returned to this area.

Room Tip: Third floor, not overlooking the main parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here recently whilst visiting the Amalfi coast. The hotel was clean and the staff were all friendly. The lady who checked us in, and subsequently checked us out a few days later, was very polite and knowledgeable and more then happy to help with any requests. The bar and restaurant are lovely. This hotel is just off the main road about 10km from Salerno, but there are regular buses and trains if you don't have your own transport. The rooms have recently been refurbished and have lovely bathrooms. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed here with my wife at the end of August. First off--the location is both good and bad, depending upon your needs. It is just off the A3 and next to a few modern commercial buildings so it lacks charm. However, its highway proximity enables you to quickly reach the Amalfi coast, Pompei and Naples without the hassle of driving through a town. Parking was free and plentiful and you can walk to a large supermarket down the road. A cafe, bank and pizzeria are right across the street.

The lobby is clean and modern and the staff very pleasant, even though English is not their forte. The restaurant offers a decent breakfast breakfast and is a nice, airy room with views of the mountains.

The rooms are not very big at all and the bathroom is basic with horribly weak shower pressure. In addition, the Air conditioning unit seems to have two degrees: freezing or off.

Still, the hotel was a good value and is a convenient base to explore the area. Incidentally, the town of Cava de'Tirreni has a very nice and active old center that is a 3-minute drive from the hotel. You will find nice shopping and eating options there without the super tourism of Positano and other crowded Amalfi coast towns.

If the hotel improves its shower pressure and air conditioning systems, it would merit an even higher score but for the reasonable rate of 80 Euros, I cannot complain.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor gives you a mountain view on one side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Salerno-Cava De' Tirreni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Salerno-Cava De' Tirreni

Address: Corso Mazzini, 274, 84013 Cava De' Tirreni, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Cava De' Tirreni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Cava De' Tirreni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Salerno-Cava De' Tirreni 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Salerno-Cava de Tirreni is a new IHG hotel only few minutes driving from the Amalfi Coast. Located near the Cava de Tirreni exit on the A3 motorway joining Naples and Salerno, it can be a starting point to visit the archeological sites of Pompeii, Herculaneum and Paestum (10 to 20 minutes driving), to climb on the Vesuvius (30 minutes driving) or to reach the Amalfi Coast (10 minutes driving), Sorrento (25 minutes driving) and the Cilento National park. Also close to the shopping areas in Salerno, Naples and the Vulcano Buono shopping centre near Nola. Nestled in a warm green valley, it is the ideal setting for a pleasant stay relaxing at our bar, exercising in our gym and tasting the typical flavours of our Mediterranean cuisine. With its 73 guest rooms, restaurant and bar facilities, 5 meeting rooms (2 to 150 seats) and free parking space the Hotel can easily accommodate meetings and events offering up-to-date technical equipment and LAN & WiFi High Speed Internet Access in all guest and meeting rooms. Priority Club Rewards and special programs for Kids and Business complete our offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Salerno-Cava De' Tirreni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Salerno-Cava De' Tirreni Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Salerno-Cava De' Tirreni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.