We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel excellent staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Salerno-Cava De' Tirreni

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Salerno-Cava De' Tirreni to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Salerno-Cava De' Tirreni
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Mazzini, 274, 84013 Cava De' Tirreni, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for seven nights. It is very clean, large comfortable rooms, for Europe. The hotel is very quiet. The staff is very helpful answering all questions and very willing to help you plan your day and places to visit. They charge for wi fi in the rooms, but there is free wi fi in the lobby, which was wonderful to check in with family. It is set in a business section of town, but also has the convenience of restaurants and shopping all in walking distance. Right across the street is a wonderful coffee bar, restaurant and grocery stores. We walked into town a lot. There is a charming old town area full of wonderful shopping (very reasonable). The train station is within waling distance (without luggage) about 15 minutes away. With the train you have access to Pompei (30 minutes away), Salerno (15 minutes), the Amalfi towns and more. We used a taxi both ways to the train station because of luggage (10 Euros). I would stay here again if we returned to this area.

Room Tip: Third floor, not overlooking the main parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    66
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
32
59
4
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here recently whilst visiting the Amalfi coast. The hotel was clean and the staff were all friendly. The lady who checked us in, and subsequently checked us out a few days later, was very polite and knowledgeable and more then happy to help with any requests. The bar and restaurant are lovely. This hotel is just off the main road about 10km from Salerno, but there are regular buses and trains if you don't have your own transport. The rooms have recently been refurbished and have lovely bathrooms. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed here with my wife at the end of August. First off--the location is both good and bad, depending upon your needs. It is just off the A3 and next to a few modern commercial buildings so it lacks charm. However, its highway proximity enables you to quickly reach the Amalfi coast, Pompei and Naples without the hassle of driving through a town. Parking was free and plentiful and you can walk to a large supermarket down the road. A cafe, bank and pizzeria are right across the street.

The lobby is clean and modern and the staff very pleasant, even though English is not their forte. The restaurant offers a decent breakfast breakfast and is a nice, airy room with views of the mountains.

The rooms are not very big at all and the bathroom is basic with horribly weak shower pressure. In addition, the Air conditioning unit seems to have two degrees: freezing or off.

Still, the hotel was a good value and is a convenient base to explore the area. Incidentally, the town of Cava de'Tirreni has a very nice and active old center that is a 3-minute drive from the hotel. You will find nice shopping and eating options there without the super tourism of Positano and other crowded Amalfi coast towns.

If the hotel improves its shower pressure and air conditioning systems, it would merit an even higher score but for the reasonable rate of 80 Euros, I cannot complain.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor gives you a mountain view on one side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I loved this hotel as it away from all the hustle and bustle of tourists. There was a really lovely receptionist Clementina. She gave us timetables as we chose not to drive and lots of info on local areas. She also asked about our trips etc. We felt very welcome by her. The other staff were very nice too. I felt I could not get enough travel info for the Cilento area prior to travel as so much of the info on the inetrnet is on amalfi. Luckily Clemintina managed to get us bus and train schedules that let us plan ahead.

There are regular trains to Salerno. The station in cava is about 15 mins walk to the hotel or a there is a bus nearby which takes you to either Cava or salerno station. We did not feel we needed a car. I know people keep saying you need a car to stay here, if you dont mind walking, its an excellent base . The bus to Salerno costs 1.20 Euros these are valid for 90 minutes.

Its a great place to stay as you can travel to the Cilento National Park area where the beaches are nice and very clean. I prefered this area to the Amalfi area as it is less touristy and has stunning beaches. I say this coming from a stunning beach area in Asia.

You really got a feel for local life here. Unfortunately I did not get much time to explore Cava.
Though I wish I had.

There are local supermarkets and loads of eating places including a lovely pizza place en route to the station. It was cheaper to eat here as it seemed to cater to the locals the quality was better too. On saturday evening families were strolling and eating out it was a realy pleasant atmosphere.

The room was great. I fell asleep each night the minute my head touched the pillow and did not wake again till morning. It was so quiet. Of all my travels and satying in Holiday Inns this was a true gem.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The hotel is nice, the rooms are comfortable, the service is quite good. The only real drawback is that the local area is not interesting at best, and a bit dodgy at worst.

As long as you have your own car and want to tour Amalfi and/or Pompeii, it is a good base camp, just off the motorway.

As frequnt chain guests, we got free WiFi, which was fast and easy to use.

Once the kitchen closes (at 10 pm I think), your options for local dining are quite limted.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel when traveling the Amalfi Coast. Not sure why I picked it instead of one in Salerno but glad we did. Salerno is in most parts a sleazy dump and one feels quite uncomfortable there. Cava De tirreni is a lovely small town some 10 minutes drive on the autostrade from the port of Salerno from which both the Sita bus and ferries travel to amalfi and the other villages going as far as Sorrento. The hotel is only 100 m from the freeway exit (no traffic noise whatsoever) - the rooms are small but clean and well appointed. The staff were exceptional going out of their way many times to find out information for us and to make sure our stay was comfortable - nothing was too much trouble. Exceptional value and would highly recommend if you are driving in the Salerno area. Only negative - no coffee/tea facilities in the room.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawton, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Cava De'Terreni was a quaint little town located just a few minutes inland from the Amalfi Coast. It was about 15 minutes from Salerno and maybe 35 minutes from Amalfi. The Holiday Inn was about 1 year old back in April 2011. It is close to the Autostrada exit and about a 10 minute walk from the center of town. We were driving to the Amalfi coast at night and recognized the sign for a hotel – our friends were staying in Ravello, but we decided to stay here for the night and drive the coast in the morning.

WOW, I am so glad we did…the drive during the daylight was magnificent. It was so beautiful driving along the cost – a bit scary at times, but scenes I will never forget.

Back to the hotel – over super nice and very friendly and accommodating staff!

Room: The room was nice, and large. The bed was in one part of the room and a smaller part with a changing area and the bathroom. The bathroom/shower was large and spacious – which is sometimes hard to find in Italy. 100% enjoyed the room. One down side - this is not the location if you are looking for a view - just for the EASY location!

Food: We were just there for breakfast. The staff was accommodating to sever what they could – I ordered an omelet and they made it to order. Lots of pastries also offered.

We went into town to a great restaurant, recommended by the hotel staff. It was delicious. Only 1 waiter in the entire restaurant spoke English, but we made it through dinner without a problem! They were so nice and wanted to be sure we had a great time! The restaurant was definitely a local establishment – not many tourists…but we find those are the best ones!

We had a wonderful time and I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again – and I know cliché that we stayed at a Holiday Inn in Italy!

Room Tip: Super easy location to get in and out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Salerno-Cava De' Tirreni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Salerno-Cava De' Tirreni

Address: Corso Mazzini, 274, 84013 Cava De' Tirreni, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Cava De' Tirreni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Cava De' Tirreni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Salerno-Cava De' Tirreni 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Salerno-Cava de Tirreni is a new IHG hotel only few minutes driving from the Amalfi Coast. Located near the Cava de Tirreni exit on the A3 motorway joining Naples and Salerno, it can be a starting point to visit the archeological sites of Pompeii, Herculaneum and Paestum (10 to 20 minutes driving), to climb on the Vesuvius (30 minutes driving) or to reach the Amalfi Coast (10 minutes driving), Sorrento (25 minutes driving) and the Cilento National park. Also close to the shopping areas in Salerno, Naples and the Vulcano Buono shopping centre near Nola. Nestled in a warm green valley, it is the ideal setting for a pleasant stay relaxing at our bar, exercising in our gym and tasting the typical flavours of our Mediterranean cuisine. With its 73 guest rooms, restaurant and bar facilities, 5 meeting rooms (2 to 150 seats) and free parking space the Hotel can easily accommodate meetings and events offering up-to-date technical equipment and LAN & WiFi High Speed Internet Access in all guest and meeting rooms. Priority Club Rewards and special programs for Kids and Business complete our offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Salerno-Cava De' Tirreni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Salerno-Cava De' Tirreni Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Salerno-Cava De' Tirreni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.