We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, friendly hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Maiorino

Save Saved
You added Victoria Maiorino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Victoria Maiorino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Mazzini 4, 84013 Cava De' Tirreni, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Charming, friendly hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

I gave this review some thought as although we had a lovely stay the hotel might not be to everyone's taste. Firstly the staff should be mentioned, always stopping to say hello, nothing seemed too much trouble, they regularly printed off timetables for trains and boats, it had a very family feel to it. The breakfast was extensive, again with the personal touch. We were also upgraded to a suite, a lovely two room suite with balcony, comfy bed and excellent wifi. Overall though its an old hotel, which could do with a few touch ups. The bathroom (shower and toilet) could be improved, but it didn't really detract from the old charm of the place. We used it as an alternative base to visit Pompeii (20 mins) on the train from Cava. The town is itself is surprisingly busy, with lots of interesting stores. There is a great pizza place (real pizza oven) turn left out of the hotel, walk for about 100m it's on the left. 4-5 Euros, great dinner.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    30
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
19
26
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Although a little difficult to locate because the hotel fronts on a pedestrian mall, we were delighted with the accommodations and staff. They were very helpful and gracious.. Beautiful peaceful room draped in whites. The dinner of veal and vegetables was superb! Conveniently located near the ancient town plaza. Lovely lovely

Room Tip: Might ask for a certain mattress if you like more plush. Loved the bidet. Shower tiny but no complai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We were delighted with our experience at this hotel. Firstly we were upgraded to a suite, which was very comfortable and had excellent WiFi. At dinner in the spacious restaurant, we were treated to a complementary extra course, and an after-dinner limoncello. At breakfast a table was marked with our names on it, and they accommodated our cooked breakfast preference that was not on the menu, and proactively offered this for the following days we stayed.

The hotel has a real family atmosphere, and no requests were a problem. Most staff spoke English, but if not, quickly another helped out.

We also found the location excellent for visiting the Amalfi Coast, and Pompeii / Herculaneum, plus the shops in Cava are surprisingly good.

We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Gorgeous hotel. Friendly, helpful English speaking staff. Good restaurant with good breakfast selection. We were upgraded to a full suite at no charge due to quiet tourism time. The wi-fi works well in the rooms (rare in Italy). We would definately return to this hotel. Cava de Terrini is a relatively quiet but busy little town with a top class beautiful shopping strip which starts right at the hotel door.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stromness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here in October very much, and are more than happy to recommend here as a great place to stay. The rooms were very nice and spacious, bathrooms neat and clean. the staff very polite and friendly and always ready to give good advice on any questions we had. Breakfasts were very good with plenty of choice on the cold buffet table, friuts, meats breads pastries etc. We also ate here on two nights and enjoyed very good meals, i really recomended the mixed grilled meat platter. The hotel is very close to the train station which is a good way to travel around this part of Italy and is excellent value for money. We also enjoyed walks along the main shopping streets and the Squares are nice places for a sit and a relaxing drink.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very beautiful hotel and welcoming reception. Nice garden out the back for drinks in summer. Good location, just a short walk from the station and the shops/bars. Nicely decorated room, very clean. I had a good nights rest. Gorgeous breakfast. The original character of the building has been retained rather than making it too modern inside.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights on business and it was a very relaxing, elegant hotel. The rooms are comfortable and the staff are great. The breakfast is also good, with quality fruit, juices, cakes, ham and cheese. I thoroughly recommend this hotel. Also the location is excellent, right in the middle of the town and not far from the station.

Room Tip: You can ask for a balcony, which overlooks the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria Maiorino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Maiorino

Address: Corso Mazzini 4, 84013 Cava De' Tirreni, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Cava De' Tirreni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Cava De' Tirreni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Maiorino 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Victoria Maiorino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Maiorino Cava De' Tirreni, Salerno, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Maiorino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.