We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marlene fantastic views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Margherita Villa Giuseppina

Save Saved
You added La Margherita Villa Giuseppina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Margherita Villa Giuseppina
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   Via Torricella, 84010 Scala, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Marlene fantastic views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We went to villa giuseppina on 15/aug for one week the views are fantastic you can see the square in Ravello from the balcony the staff are so friendly and helpful Cecilia and Carla are really nice and All the staff at La Margeritta everyone was lovely food good as well it is very peaceful after being in Amalfi and very hilly great if you are fit.But we had a lovely time thanks to all.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    25
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
20
74
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from staying in Villa Guiseppina in Scala, the hotel is situated in a lovely village and all the locals and staff are very friendly. There is and excellent view of Ravello and the surrounding hilltops. Our room was really to small for three people, a double with a put up bed squeezed in the corner but were advised this was a big room. The shower was very cramped and so was the balcony . The room was cleaned daily and the towels were changed but bedding not changed during our weeks stay.The reception desk frequently was left unattended with keys just hung up for anyone to take which was a bit worrying as there are no safes in the rooms.Breakfast if you want anything different than bread rolls or croissants for breakfast there is extra charges,however on our last day they provided us with an early breakfast due to an early flight home.I bought my own cereal and took that to breakfast during our stay. We also bought our own water in the local shops as the hotel prices were 4 times as much and due to the heat we went through a couple of litres a day. We loved walking the local area and down to Ravello and Almafi but I would like to say it is very hilly and the roads have lots of bends in them with very few footpaths so it can be quiet a task if you are not very fit. There is a bus service which is reasonable priced.The pool area was extremely crowded whilst we were there with a struggle to find a sun bed or chair, it seems that other people who are not staying at the hotel use the pool too. We ate at la Margherita hotel in the village as we were half board the meals there were good and filling.there is only another two places to eat in the village, but plenty of dinning available in Ravello, which is half an hour walk away. We made the most of our holiday in Scala and enjoyed our time there it is a beautiful area and worth a visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 6. This had a panoramic view and overlooked the pool area. No wifi in room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from Villa Giuseppina after a 10 night stay. The staff are wonderful and cannot do enough for you. Very helpful with information on the surrounding area, walks, buses, places to visit, etc. Carla, Cecilia, Catarina,Maria, and all the staff were so friendly, thank you. Breakfast is served in this hotel with views across the hillside, whilst the dinner on an evening is taken in La Margherita which is a short walk into the village of Scala. Choice of 3 courses and on my Birthday they did a special menu, which was excellent. Again the staff here are very friendly and the menu was varied each evening we were there. The hotel has a pool and a bar with terrace with spectacular views across the valley to Ravello and down to the coast. Our room was quite small and basic but fine for the time you spend in your room. Our balcony was only small too and on the side of the hotel which would have been nicer if it had a front facing view. The towels and bedding were changed lots and the room was cleaned daily. Would recommend this hotel and we will come back again but maybe not in August due to how hot it was and how busy Amalfi was. Nice to get back to Scala after a busy day sight seeing for the peace and quiet.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony and facing Ravello at the front of the hotel. Bear in mind there are lots of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel Villa Giuseppina is located in Scala, a quiet and tranquil little town in the mountains above the Almalfi coast. Scala has a pharmacy, a few stores and several restaurants. The main sight in town is San Lorenzo Duomo. Around Scala, there are hiking trails to nearby villages or towns including Ravello.

The hotel has stunning views — you can see them from guest rooms that have balconies, from the breakfast terrace, the bar, and around the swimming pool. The panorama of Ravello across the valley and the surrounding hills is spectacular especially at sunset -- 5-star for its lovely views.

The spacious lobby has comfortable sofas and nice furnishings; the swimming pool outside is very clean and well maintained. Parking is available for hotel guests who have cars.

Although the double room we had is small and basic, it has a big balcony where we could relax and enjoy the beautiful views. The bathroom is tiny and it is easy to bump into the corner of the shower door or the rim of the toilet and bidet. There is no safe and wi-fi in the room. Wi-fi is only available in the lobby and the connection is slow and intermittent.

Breakfast is average. To my surprise, decaf expresso and cappuccino were available and they were good.

We hardly saw any staff at the front desk during our stay. With all the room keys hung on a shelf behind the empty desk, guests might pick up the wrong keys and whoever passed by could help themselves with the keys. Even though there is a video camera in the lobby, with no one at the counter, it can be a security concern.

The staff were very welcoming on our arrival. But when I asked about restaurant information nearby other than La Margherita which is run by the same family from our hotel, the lady at the front desk ignored my question and only suggested their bar for good food.

One evening we ordered a pizza and a salad for snack at the bar— they were disappointing and overpriced. The pizza looked like it wasn’t freshly made and had been re-heated; the green salad with tomatoes looked boring, limp and was not appetizing.

There are two restaurants that we tried within walking distance from the hotel — Calavieri on the square (very good food), and La Margherita (food was good but not refined).

The hotel has only one small elevator in the lobby, it was very slow, and it doesn’t go to the top floor. On our floor, we have the elevator, and a staircase which only goes up and not down. If the elevator is not available, guests on our floor have to go up one floor on the staircase and take another set of stairs to go down two floors to get to the lobby and bar area. It is like a maze and a bit confusing.

Overall, in my opinion, the hotel deserves 3 stars.

Room Tip: room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I recently returned from 2 weeks on the fantastic Amalfi coast. We stayed at the family owned and run Villa Giuseppina and from the moment we arrived we felt like friends. All the staff (many of them family members) were very welcoming and made our stay thoroughly enjoyable. We chose the half board option offered by Citalia and took our dinner at the La Margherita restaurant which is also owned by the family. The food was good but perhaps a little basic but the service and atmosphere more than made up for that!! Once you realise that if you don't fancy what's on the menu they will happily serve something else it only gets better. The hotel and restaurant are in the lovely old village of Scala which is very peaceful and has cobbled streets and is high above the coast road directly across the deep valley from Ravello. We had lovely views from our room both down the valley to the sea and across to Ravello. Although we hired a car from the airport, we also used the local bus service which is pretty good for exploring.
During our stay there was an open air concert in the village of Minuta (a stroll away) - it featured Enzo the owner of our hotel and was a brilliant addition to our holiday. There are lots of old pathways to explore for the able bodied and in all its a beautiful area - but you must be prepared for steps and slopes!! I would go back tomorrow!!!

Room Tip: All rooms have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have just returned from a 7 day stay in the Villa Guiseppina, which is exactly as described by other reviewers. It is a small hotel located in Scala up in the hills with spectacular views. We were fortunate to arrive in time for a spectacular firework display perfectly viewed from the Hotel. It is as described out of the way but is clean comfortable ( beds and pillows were a little hard but I like that) others may not if a little basic and has a pool. The staff are wonderful and cannot do enough to help you, nothing is too much trouble. We had bed and breakfast although the breakfast is basic it is adequate and is served on a veranda with lovely views. We did eat lunch and dinner a few times and can vouch for previous reviews, no non-sense home cooked Italian food nothing fancy but very good simple fare. Cicilla and Carla were stars and recommended a few restaurants to eat out in Ravello which we thoroughly enjoyed. There is a pool and loungers although there were only 10 loungers for 21 rooms so many went down early to reserve them. Beer and alcohol were reasonably priced. We fortunately had hired a car so were not trapped and visited much of the surrounding beaches and towns. However beware the roads are atrocious and the driving habits of the Italians is as you have probably heard. If you are giant hearted or a nervous driver do not drive lol. Also there are lots of steps everywhere so if you have difficult walking its not for you. The only irritation was there was no wifi in the rooms and it was available in the reception area but was pretty slow and useless tbh. All in all a peaceful typically Italian friendly warm hotel, a bit out of the way and in no way touristy.

Room Tip: Ask for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Recently returned from a family holiday. Arrived late at night and to our surprise were greeted with a pre-prepared meal. Breakfast is served on a verranda overlooking Ravello and the surrounding valley - great views - breath-taking to be more precise. The hotel staff are all absolutely charming and cannot do enough to help. Particular mention should be made of Maria, Carla and Cecilia. The pool area is comfortable and not too crowded, even allowing for the sunlounger reserver brigade. There is no need to do this to get a spot. The hotel only has 21 rooms but space around the pool for way more. We did half board but took lunch in the restaurant a few times. Great food. The evening meals are served in the restaurant 400m away. Straight forward no-nonsense Italian cuisine. Again the restaurant staff cannot do enough to please. Scala itself is quite a small provincial town which was fabulous to escape to, after the hustle and bustle of Amalfi and Positano. I would happily return to stay and plan on doing so. The rooms are basic but comfortable and spotlessly clean. Come with an open mind and be prepared to relax. Scala is not the place to stay if you are looking for a touristy experience, but I would strongly recommend it, if you want a retreat in the hills with great views, good on site cuisine and an authentic Italian experience. Would recommend walk to Ravello (20-25 mins) and Amalfi (60-70 mins) and a boat trip around the coastline. Amalfi is the hub for all transfers. Get the bus back from Amalfi after the walk down the mountain.

Room Tip: Suggest getting a room facing the pool and Ravello. The coast is only visible for a small part of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Margherita Villa Giuseppina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Margherita Villa Giuseppina

Address: Via Torricella, 84010 Scala, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Scala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Scala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Margherita Villa Giuseppina 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly built, with every modern comfort, the Hotel "La Margherita - Villa Giuseppina" is situated in Scala the heart of the Amalfi Coast, between Amalfi and Ravello.Open the whole year round. All rooms with private shower and balcony. Central heating. Large terraces for sunbathing. Swimming pool and solarium. Family management. Very reasonable prices. Excellent cooking. Own parking ground. us connections during the day. The hotel is situated in a prticulary quiet position, away from the traffic noise. It is the right place for a perfect stay and relaxing holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your La Margherita Villa Giuseppina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Margherita Villa Giuseppina Hotel Scala
La Margherita Villa Giuseppina Scala, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Margherita Villa Giuseppina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.