We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel in stunning location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zi'Ntonio

Save Saved
You added Hotel Zi'Ntonio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Zi'Ntonio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Torricella 39, 84010 Scala, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Scala
Glasgow
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel in stunning location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

Just returned from our second visit to the Zi'ntonio. The hotel is small, family-run and a great base for walking and touring along the Amalfi coast. All rooms have fantastic views from their balconies. looking across to Ravello and down to the sea. They are immaculately clean and well-maintained - spacious and comfortable rather than palatial. Choice at breakfast has been improved, but it's still a fairly basic continental affair. Dinner, though, is very good: expect Italian home-style cooking with interesting variety and cheap local wine! Service is friendly and faultless. Guests are made very welcome, and the atmosphere is informal and relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    32
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
65
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

I stayed for a week in July, the staff were absolutely lovely and welcoming and very helpful with my faltering Italian.
The hotel is in the most beautiful spot, jaw dropping views from every corner. Sweet little pool which was necessary when returning from strenuous hikes up and down the many stairs and hills.
The food was really very good indeed, and served with great charm and patience by Antonio on the beautiful little terrace with its panoramic vistas.
A great spot for reaching all the local attractions without having to put up with all the noise and people at the end of the day. There is a bus which goes from outside the hotel but there are more frequent ones from the village further down the road. When returning from Amalfi ask the driver if he is going to Minuta - if he is you can get the but to right outside the hotel. If he is only going to Scala it is a short walk back from the village, made easier if broken by a short visit to the bar in the square!
A truly lovely place, would recommend to couples or lone travellers. teenagers and small children would probably like the pool but not much else as there isnt much night life. But if you want to party it is easy to get the buses to Amalfi, atrani or Ravello.
Buy several 24hour unico bus tickets and you will be hot to trot.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariager, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

It´s a nice and small hotel. As for the restaurant: Breakfast is no good, but lunch or dinner is okay. What makes it so great is that it is close to Ravello!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

We stayed for 2 weeks and loved the location. Our room and bathroom were ok - clean, sheets and towels changed regularly - but it was the view from the balcony which made it special. We could sit there and just gaze across to Ravello - a fabulous view at any time of day.
The hotel seemed to be a bit of a maze with one section not complete. The pool was nice and had a reasonable sized terrace with sufficient sunbeds. I suppose the food was ok but we found the breakfast very boring. It was laid out on the individual tables and every day it was exactly the same - orange juice, a yogurt each, a roll each, a croissant each and a dish with individual packets of butter, jam, Nutella, honey - everything was sweet and I longed for something savoury like ham or cheese. Dinner was 3 course, waiter service with a choice of pasta dish for starters and choice of main course and a dessert. Although it was always very nice there was a shortage of fruit and veg in spite of an abundance of fruit and veg in shops and markets. Whenever I've been in Italy before there has always been a salad buffet.
We did a lot of walking and came home feeling very fit! We walked from Scala to Ravello, Amalfi, Minori and Maoiri and also up into the hills above Scala - fantastic views. Walking down to all those places is quite hard going down lots of steps and if you don't get the bus back - we didn't - it means you have to walk back up hundreds of steps but we really enjoyed it! We only used the bus to go further afield and a boat to Positano. We were a little disappointed that it wasn't really feasible to get to Pompeii or Herculaneum under our own steam and the organised excursions were quite expensive and only allowed a couple of hours there anyway. We will go back and stay in Sorrento sometime so we can visit these sites using the Cirumvesuviana railway.
All in all though, we enjoyed this area very much and the hotel was a good base.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2009

One of the best places I've ever been. Absolutely great, especially if you're seeking a relaxing trip to one of most beautiful places in the amalfitan coast.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south west
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2008

Stayed here in mid September for just one week-lovely hotel with very friendly family-nothing too much trouble-although no evening bar as such if you ask to sit in one of the rooms or out on the balcony you can order drinks no problem-the wine is remarkably priced and the house wine is good-we loved that it was small hotel-the food was good-the most amazing view across to Ravello-for us the area was a little too quiet for any longer stay than a week-a week enabled us to recharge our batteries-but any longer we would have been completely horizontal as Scala is as described an extremely quiet unspoilt place-after our meal in the evening we would wander down to the little cafe in the church square and enjoy a few drinks-however the weather was not good for the best part of our stay and although we persisted in sitting outside it was very chilly!-would recommend going much earlier in the year for a chance of settled weather as when we asked if the weather was usual for the time of year we were told yes-Ravello is beautiful-didn't get to one of the concerts as at this time of the year the events are held indoors not in the gardens as we thought-took the bus down to Amalfi from Scala-but after being up in Scala found Amalfi too commercialised and far too busy/noisy. If you are looking for somewhere to rest your busy mind and recover from your busy life then this would be a good place for you. A bonus is the road you come in on from the airport along the amalfi coastline-absolutely breathtaking!

  • Liked — view of ravello
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2007

We stayed a week at the Z'Intonio in late September 07. The hotel is small and family run. The room was larger than I expected with a lovely bathroom, all very clean and comfortable and a wonderful view over the vally to Ravello from the balcony which had a small table and 2 chairs. Evening meals were good (if you like pasta especially) but fairly plain. The house wine is good and very cheap. Breakfast was simple continental and always the same - the only variation a different flavour yoghourt! All the staff were very helpful and friendly. Scala is a quiet village with just a couple of hotels and bars and a few shops. The bus service to Amalfi and back is good and there are lots of walks with stunning scenery all the way. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Zi'Ntonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zi'Ntonio

Address: Via Torricella 39, 84010 Scala, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Scala
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Scala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zi'Ntonio 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Zi'Ntonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zi'Ntonio Scala, Italy - Amalfi Coast
Zi Ntonio Hotel Scala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zi'Ntonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.