We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a new experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zi'Ntonio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Zi'Ntonio to your Saves list
Hotel Zi'Ntonio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Torricella 39, 84010 Scala, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Scala
Newquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“a new experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed here as a couple in late May for two weeks. On arrival the Manager seemed shall I say enthusiastic in telling us about keys ,a safe etc in a forthright manner.As we got to know him we liked him more.This is not a Hotel for luxury but is clean and cosy having twenty one rooms,some quite small we had a larger room, so It might be worth a request on the top floor with amazing views of Ravello.The dining room had only sixteen guests and quite compact so we understandably made new friends quickly.
The food got better after about the third day we were may be coming into the summer season as the pool became filled and open then.This is an Italian family run hotel and Antonio made the dining fun with his friendly way.Amalfi resort can be reached on foot via Atrani in around one hour pleasant walk and Ravello is about thirty minutes away across the valley and on to two more resorts down many steps and a bus back is advisable from a simple to use bus service with tickets purchased in many shops.The hotel and village of Scala is very relaxing with friendly locals who all say hello (bonjourno).Many walks are available for the so inclined. Cash is only accepted but there is a cashpoint a quarter of a mile away in Scala,Wine is produced in the hotel by Gino at four or eight euros a jug depending on half or one litre size and is quite pleasant and meals are chosen the previous evening.If you like TV on holiday this is a problem as only Italian is available unless you do a course before you go!!
Don,t expect nightlife but the pool bar and believe it or not disco should be opening soon with Gino,s handywork but be enthralled by the views in this amazing location .Enjoy

Room Tip: All rooms face Ravello but top floor after talking to other guests seem to be the best. sun stays...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    37
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
78
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
midlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Having just returned from the Zi,ntonio I was going to do a full review but will just advise anyone considering staying there to read "streets 585" review for the most detailed and accurate review to date.I would have liked a little more variety in the menu "salad,veg etc " or even a pizza.
If like us you enjoy walking, this has to be one of the best hotels to stay in the area with lots of excellent local walks. I would not recommend the café in the square -definitely overpriced but the little shop by the post office is excellent value 3euros for a litre of reasonable local wine and will do you a massive baguette various fillings for 2 people at 4-6euros.The new local bus service in the village is also excellent value for 80cents and the owner/driver is really friendly, as are most of the locals.We will certainly use the ZI,NTONIO if we return to the Amalfi Coast.

Room Tip: Rooms 319 -321 have the best balcony,s and the sun for a little longer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Okay....this is a small family run Italian Albergo set up on a hillside that gives you beautiful views over the valley to the historical town of Ravello. I can only presume that some previous reviewers have booked the wrong holiday in the wrong hotel as they complained about 'Church bells ringing, Dogs barking, Too many steps, Too remote and (yes folks) too much Italian Food'
If you want nightlife...please go to Magaluf or Benidorm. This is not for you. This is a hotel that is authentic and very much local in nature. A real 'Italian Job'
Rooms...basic but cleaned every day by lovely ladies. Perfectly adequate if you are out and about most of the day.
Food...Choice of two courses and a dessert every evening (but a good feature is that they will cook you the same menu for lunch if you wish to swap over) It is typical italian fare...pasta dish followed by fish or meat and a nice tiramisu or similar. Cooked by one of the smallest 'mature' ladies you will ever see. breakfast...I missed the odd bacon or egg but a nice continental style selection with fresh baked items every day apart from Sunday.
Facilities... we were disappointed that the pool was empty when we were there...not a great problem apparently...they arranged for us to use their 'cousins' pool and sun terrace next door. No tea/coffee facilities in rooms so take your own if you can. Lots of hot water on tap to try to bathe away the aches and pain of the mountain trekking and climbing up and down many, many steps.
Staff....top notch. Friendly and helpful in a very genuine sort of way. About five generations of one family all buzzing around during various times of the day. You might find them a bit familiar of you are used to being a bit more distant or formal, but we found it great and they did all they could to make people happy.
Conclusion...
'DO GO HERE' if you want good but basic accommodation, authentic food, family atmosphere, absolutely beautiful views and mountain sides, small village just down the road (Scala down the hill and the lovely Minuta just up the road) but beware of how much they charge you in the local bar/cafes...we were 'done' a bit so ask how much beforehand...not very British, but necessary - (get very cheap bottles of Peroni Nastra Azuro from local supermarket) and an immersion into something like a genuine italian community.
'DO NOT GO HERE'...if you want nightlife, sun,sea and sand, all inclusive mountains of food and drink, if you don't understand that dogs bark in the countryside, bells do call people to mass, italian do eat Italian food, don't like steps or expect 5 star luxury. 'Now you know eh???'.....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here in June this year on a package from Thompson. We got a well priced last minute deal which we were very happ with. On arrival at the hotel we were told that dinner is served at 7:30. When I questioned this, I was ignored. Not only that, we had to decide what w wanted to eat at breakfast on the same morning. Not something we are used to or want to do again.

The room was spacious with a decent sized balcony and a view over Ravello to rival none. The hotel was clean and tidy and the pool area very neat, although over populated at the weekend! It's difficult to fault this hotel but the eating arrangements did not suit us and is not according to the normal way of things in Italy. Matbe that's just us but it lead us to stay elsewhere for the last night of our trip!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Having stayed here for a week in September we can honestly say the staff were second to none, and the views over Ravello were indeed fabulous. Our room was ok and had the benefit of the rising sun in the mornings.
The pool was freezing and the sun went off it at around 3pm each day but that did not stop us really as we tended to go for walks in the afternoon. It would be in order to say here that we agree with many posts made regarding mobility, as if you do have a problem walking maybe this is not the hotel for you (many steps) The hotel is pretty remote with little or nothing to do at night although we, along with some other guests did ask if the "bar" (by the pool) could be opened so as to get maybe pre and after dinner drinks...... it was and we found to our delight that it was particularly pleasant to sit there after dinner and have the excellent service from a young man (Sebastian I think? sorry if it's wrong) who not only served the drinks (quite reasonable) but bought us trays of "nibbles" etc. This made what would have been a dull evening with nothing to do into a very enjoyable one along with some other nice guests who were staying there at the time.
If you like Pasta and aubergines ( I hate aubergines) then you will be at home here as this was on offer every night for either starters or mains or both the week we stayed. My wife and I both enjoy pasta but not every night!! it would have been nice to have a change?
The capo cameriere in the dining room was hilarious he is also a Napoli supporter and they were top of Serie A at the time so he was really on form!
We would say that overall that everone was very friendly but the location of the hotel leans towards walkers and someone who wants to chill out totally.

Room Tip: Take lots of reading material
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

this hotel is in an excellent location for sightseeing and walking.The hotel is small our bedroom was quite large with a fabulous view over Ravello,the sun rises directly in front of the
rooms quite a lovely sight to wake up to.If you don't want to walk as much there are local buses to take you anywhere along the coast.
However,if food plays a great part of your holiday and you like pasta then you will be ok.Not much choice and rather bland.There is a great pizza place not too far The Penguin,the food is fantastic.

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony ,top rooms may be a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Just returned from 2 weeks in Scala and would recommend the Inn to all who enjoy the simple things in life well done.
Fabulous room with an unforgetable view, charming,helpful and amusing staff, mostly family I think. Simple food from a typical Italian menu prepared freshly and from local produce.
Excellent base for walking.Prices for extras such as beer and wine were reasonable and we met some wonderful fellow guests.
Any reasonable requests for things such as pool towels, internet access etc were immediately met with a friendly smile.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Zi'Ntonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zi'Ntonio

Address: Via Torricella 39, 84010 Scala, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Scala
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Scala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zi'Ntonio 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Zi'Ntonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zi'Ntonio Scala, Italy - Amalfi Coast
Zi Ntonio Hotel Scala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zi'Ntonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.