We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remember, this is an Albergo, not a Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zi'Ntonio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Zi'Ntonio to your Saves list
Hotel Zi'Ntonio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Torricella 39, 84010 Scala, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Scala
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Remember, this is an Albergo, not a Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Just returned from 2 weeks in Scala and would recommend the Inn to all who enjoy the simple things in life well done.
Fabulous room with an unforgetable view, charming,helpful and amusing staff, mostly family I think. Simple food from a typical Italian menu prepared freshly and from local produce.
Excellent base for walking.Prices for extras such as beer and wine were reasonable and we met some wonderful fellow guests.
Any reasonable requests for things such as pool towels, internet access etc were immediately met with a friendly smile.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    37
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
78
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edington, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The Hotel Zi'Ntonio was a real find - family-run, welcoming and friendly with excellent service and staff who all went out of their way to make our stay hugely enjoyable. The food was very good and the views from the bedroom balcony, restaurant and pool of nearby Ravello and the sea are just wonderful. Scala's mountain-top location - about an hour on foot to the sea or 30 minutes by local bus - makes it an ideal spot for those who enjoy walking. The scenery and architecture of the whole surrounding area is quite stunning and while Scala itself is a quiet little town, it's a haven of tranquility to return to after a day spent exploring towns and villages along the beautiful coast. That said, we spent some interesting evenings watching various concert performances in the town square, one of which was televised. Our holiday was booked through Thompsons and we took advantage of a couple of trips by coach to see the ruins of Pompeii and Herculanium. Less strenuous days by the hotel's well appointed pool were enhanced by the picturesque cafe/bar and terrace, providing cool drinks and very reasonably priced lunches. The gala candle-lit meal there on our last evening was particularly memorable. A thoroughly enjoyable stay and a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston Lincolnshire, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed here for one week early September, travelling with Thomson holidays.

Despite arriving at 11pm, we were welcomed by a 3 course evening meal with wine. The cook had stayed up for us. We had a lovely week, Scala is a very small village about 2 miles away from the beautiful town of Ravello. There is a regular bus, but we always walked, sometimes 2 or 3 times a day, and it took about 25 minutes. Don't expect any night life in the vicinity apart from occasional concerts in the summer, but if you are looking for a quiet location, away from the hussle & bustle of the coast line, this is your place.

Scala itself is an excellent base for a walking holiday, you can get a walking map free from the tourist office in Ravello, but our holiday was enhanced by the Sunflower Amalfi, Naples & Sorrento walking guide which covered this area. Most walks consist of ancient footpaths with stunning views.

The hotel itself is very small and very friendly. It is very clean throughout, and rooms are basic, but contain decent quality furniture and a fridge which they didn't seem to mind us keeping our water & milk in. The bathroom contains a shower (no bath) with plenty of hot water. The walls are VERY thin; we could hear everything next door,above, and below. There is a lack of drawer space so bear that in mind when packing. There is no air conditioning, and the nights were cool enough to sleep with the window closed, as otherwise we would be kept awake by the church bells and the barking dogs.....Lovely views across to Ravello though.

Food was simple Italian cooking,, but was always very tasty, and the cooking smells from about 4pm whet out appetite for the coming evening. Wine was very cheap, at 4 euros for a carafe of decent local red, and I think 2 euros for the water. We were pleasantly surprised by the bar bill at the end of the week.

We were made so welcome by all staff whether being served at mealtimes, or by the young & elderly family members who appeared to live in the hotel.

I am giving this a 3* rating because that's what I feel it is, a good,small, clean guest house with good tasty simple food. I would come again if looking for another break on the Amalfi coast as there is so much to do and see in the area. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends or relatives.

Room Tip: All rooms have a valley view and face west, hence you get the moring sun on your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This hotel is amazing, the food is out of this world and the wine/beer is very resonably priced and the pool is fantastic, there is a review on here which states that the locals tend to use all of the sunbeds, well i can tell you that this is wrong there is plenty of room and plenty of sunbeds so please do not think that there is no room there is loads, the highlight for me is the food it really is good old home cooked Italian food and its THE BEST IN THE WORLD the hotel itself is kept clean to a very high standard and the lunch time snacks at the bar a very nice and cheap. the area of scala is pretty quiet and a bus over to Ravello will take about 5mins and cost about £2.00 if you want a little more to see but i found after sitting by the pool all day and after the 3 course meal i would just go down to the bar by the pool and have a few drinks and a chat, i will 100% be going back to this hotel ( tomorrow if i could :) ) Stefano the limoncello is very nice thank you and see you soon for some more Italian lessons from gaia sorry if i spelt it wrong room 321 thank you and see you soon

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We have just returned 31/8 from the zintonio and though we had a really good holiday the hotel was just a base as there isn't much to do at the hotel. First the good points the views from the rooms, pool and dining room are stunning, you look across the valley to Ravello. The rooms are small but kept spotless, no air conditioning but they do hire fans out and with the windows left open all night as there aren't any mosquittos sleeping is no problem. Food can be a bit bland, lots of fish/ seafood in pasta and fried cheese but although you can eat it its not reflective of the quality in the restaurants in Amalfi. Scala itself has only 2 bars and 2 shops its beautiful but there is nothing to do and you soon get bored sitting in the square. Buses run all day about 1 an hour to Amalfi, an all day ticket costs 7.20 euros but this takes you from Sorrento to Salerno and you can go on as many buses as you like in 24 hours. The bus stop is at the other end of the village about 600 metres walk. The hotel needs a revamp and perhaps something to do at night after the meal. Breakfast is adequate as long as you get down early a couple of times there was very little left for people if they came down after 9.00 and they dont put anymore out. Would I visit the area again yes definitely; would I go to this hotel no, there's nothing to do in the evening and the food just doesnt warrant being tied to the hotel every night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We arrived as a big group to attend a wedding. We found the staff very welcoming and friendly. As said previously the rooms were very hot at night so hard to sleep . The views are spectacular but be prepared for the steps! At least we least we came back fitter......... Overall we had a great week went down to the square or bar in in the hotel below which was just the ticket. A gorgeous part of the italian coast to visit and the hotel is basic but the overall friendless made up for the basic accomodation .

Room Tip: A basic rustic hotel family friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Way up in the mountains, this hotel in Scala is a little gem! just under 2 hours drive from Naples airport.A quirky up and down hotel with beautiful views of Ravello from every room and dining terraces. Our room was very nice, twin beds pushed together, wardrobe, desk, big comfy chair, fridge and tv but only Italian channels with occasional English dialogue.Nice roomy bathroom with bidet, shower w.c and sink, lovely white soft towels. Good sized balcony with table and chairs. The only thing missing was a chest of drawers!, we had to make piles of clothes in the wardrobe. Bedroom cleaned daily. No air conditioning but we didnt feel uncomfortable and it was very hot - mid August, the shutters did their job.Very quiet at night, we didn't hear anything except sometimes fireworks from the local fiestas. Breakfast was minimal, croisants, yoghurt, cheese slices, coffee, corn flakes and juice but adequate. Dinner was all freshly cooked, from 2 choices you chose at breakfast time. A pasta dish followed by meat or fish and desert, all very nice and served by the very friendly Antonio, reasonably priced wine and beers. Not much to do after evening meal, the terrace bar downstairs not open when we were there. The swimming pool was nice and had very useful changing rooms/toilets, but it was used by locals so you couldn't always get a sunlounger. There are buses to get you around, quite cheap,to Ravello,Amalfi and further afield. You buy the tickets at the Tabac in Scala village. The view is the best I've had in Italy,You look over the Ravine to Ravello, you feel you could reach out and touch the church there! just beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Zi'Ntonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zi'Ntonio

Address: Via Torricella 39, 84010 Scala, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Scala
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Scala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zi'Ntonio 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Zi'Ntonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zi'Ntonio Scala, Italy - Amalfi Coast
Zi Ntonio Hotel Scala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zi'Ntonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.