We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maison Raphael

Save Saved
You added Hotel Maison Raphael to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Maison Raphael
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nazionale 56, 84010 Minori, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Minori
Oldham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We have just returned from five nights at this hotel, and whilst I agree in principle that it is clean, we feel it did not live up to the reviews we have read.....
Firstly, I attempted to contact the owner twice by email before we arrived asking to be collected from Naples airport...No reply from either attempt so we decided to make our own way there on public transport.
No problems with that. Bus from the airport to the rail station 4 euros. Train to Salerno, 4.10 euros and then a bus to Minori 4.10.

When you get to Minori, the bus drops you off at the pier. You then have to follow the main road (only one main road in Minori) up the steep hill to the hairpin bend and the hotel is there.
You then have to climb 23 very steep steps(no lift) to get to the reception..

No champagne and orange juice for us. No refreshment offered at all.

We were then shown to our room (201) which was clean and very well equipped with a fridge, wall safe and air conditioning. The balcony was microscopic, you could just fit two chairs on it.

We asked Antonio's son to arrange trips to Pompei & Vesuvious 40 euros each
and also a day trip to Capri on the ferry.
They later tried to charge me 90 euros for the Pompei trip...Be careful !!!!!!!!!!!
Pompei was brilliant and well worth the visit.

On the day we went for the ferry to go to Capri, they threw us off the boat saying we hadn't paid!
We immediately went back to the hotel where we were told that all they had done was reserve a place and it was up to us to pay. We presumed (rightly or wrongly) that we would pay the hotel at the end of our stay for the trips they had booked for us. Nice if they had explained that in the first place!! Luckily, the day wasn't ruined as we managed to catch a later ferry.

One morning we woke up to find dog dirt on the floor outside room 205.
Not nice!

We also visited the roof top terrace one afternoon. Lovely views but we were unable to find one chair to sit on that wasn't broken. Although we did use the chairs we had to be extremely careful.

Would we stay there again? No chance!

Would we recommend it? No, not at all. Very disappointed

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    30
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
45
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehorse, Yukon Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Even before arriving at the hotel we had a number of correspondences with Antonio and Raffaele who always made us feel like the most important guests they had. We had arranged for a pick up in Naples and Raffaele arrived on time and gave us a great tour of the Amalfi Coast on our way to the hotel. We were met there by Antonio who met us on the street and welcomed us. We were given a glass of champagne and orange juice and then shown to our room. We had also arranged for a lunch to be ready for us and we were not disappointed. Our balcony was beautifully decorated and the lunch, prepared by Antonio's wife, was delicious. As an added touch they gave us an arrangement of flowers and a bottle of champagne to congratulate us on our anniversary. At this point we thought the super service was just for our arrival and anniversary, but this amazing staff gave us nothing but incredible attentive service with a smile the entire 5 days we were there, from the complimentary breakfast to the late night greetings as we arrived back from our day and evening adventures and at all times in between. Although the hotel is located on a busy street corner the sound proofing in the room basically cut out most sounds so we had a peaceful and quiet sleep each night. We highly recommend this hotel! Great value, perfect service, comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Good well run very friendly hotel. Owner Tony and his son Raphael extremely helpful and allways bright and cheerful in the morning. Very clean. Free WIFI. This is a small hotel but is ideal as a base for amalfi, Pompei and further along the coast. I had a car and I am used to driving on the continent, but I would recommend you travel along the coast by ferry or the regular buses, sit on the sea side of the bus for the view. this way the car driver does not have to watch the road as the bends and the drivers are Lets just say completely off the wall. Minori is a small, friendly,very family orientated town. I would recommend this as a value for money hotel

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I travelled to Minori with my two teenage sons at the end of June and stayed in the Maison Raphael for two weeks. I found the location good as it had great access for buses, walks etc. We were in a fairly basic but adequately furnished triple room with a stocked fridge and a small balcony overlooking a fairly busy road but we didn't find traffic noise to be an issue. As mentioned in previous reviews the bathrooms could do with an update or facelift of some form but again it didn't spoil our stay and was perfectly serviceable. The rooms were cleaned daily and to a good standard. The most memorable thing about this B&B has to be the staff, Antonio the owner, his son Raphaele and the night porter went above and beyond to ensure their guests got the most from their stay. I found them all to be friendly attentive, cheerful and always willing to help.
In my opinion this was a very good value place to stay and a great base to explore the Amalfi coast, Pompeii etc
We had a wonderful stay in Minori and enjoyed our time in Maison Raphael, we would recommend to friends and family :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed at Maison Raphael for three nights in late May and were delighted with our choice. Not only is Minori a great base to explore the Amalfi Coast, the (quieter) town of Minori itself is pleasant to come back to after day trips to busy (and touristy) Amalfi, Positano or Capri. And staying at Maison Raphael made it all the more enjoyable. The room was impeccably clean and the owner Antonio, his son Raphael and his employee who looked after breakfast were all extremely friendly and helpful with recommendations on how to get around and what to see. (We first thought we would rent a car to visit the coast but in the end were happy to have relied instead on the convenient bus service - Maison Raphael is located just a few steps from the bus stop.) We would certainly stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We came to Maison Raphael for a summer holiday in july and after ten nights in this friendly place we left completly satesfied. Antoni and his staff is fantastic, helpful, funny and great people! Go there and you have a brilliant time! Thank you Antoni, Raphael and Gaetano. You should be copied by everyone..../ Per, Ann-Louise and Daniel

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I would really recommend this place to stay - the owners cannot do enough to help you. Antonio and his son speak very good English and are full of recommendations. There are a number of steps to get to the reception but there was always someone on hand to help our friend who had just had an operation on her knee. The rooms are fairly simple but clean and have everything you need. Ours had a fairly large balcony with views over Minori. There was a mix of people staying in the hotel - several older couples, mums and daughters and we were a group of 6 friends (late twenties / early thirties). Everybody comes together for breakfast on the terrace in the morning and in our case, we were grateful for the flexibility with breakfast timings! Even when some people came downstairs half an hour after the end of breakfast, they were still served with a smile! I would definitely go back and highly recommend this place to anybody looking for a small, friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Maison Raphael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maison Raphael

Address: Via Nazionale 56, 84010 Minori, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Minori
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Minori
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maison Raphael 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Maison Raphael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maison Raphael Minori, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maison Raphael, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.