We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL HOTEL IN A CHARMING TOWN” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Romana Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Romana Hotel to your Saves list
Villa Romana Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Vittorio Emanuele 90, 84010 Minori, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Minori
North Carolina, USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL HOTEL IN A CHARMING TOWN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

This is a lovely hotel with the most accommodating staff. We spoke no Italian and got along fine. Every staff member we came into contact with was extremely friendly and helpful. The bathroom had beautiful tile work (pictures don’t do it justice!). Although the rooms were fairly plain looking, each day we returned to a spotlessly clean room. We loved sitting out on our room balcony in the evenings overlooking the charming town. The view from the veranda off the top floor was unbelievably beautiful with pretty much a 360 degree view of Minori.

We were full board guests so our accommodations included breakfast and dinner at the hotel restaurant. The restaurant provided a daily buffet breakfast that included hot items as well as cereals, breads, pastries, fruit, coffee and juices. The dinners at the restaurant were delicious, so much so that we never felt the need to go find dinner anywhere else the whole week we were there although there were several restaurants within walking distance. The food provided was abundant as we left over-stuffed every evening. The service in the restaurant was fabulous, absolutely the best ever. Each night a cooking demonstration was done showing us how they made a particular item on the dessert menu, and on our last night they presented us with all the recipes they'd demonstrated while we were there! Adding a bottle of wine to dinner ran 10-14 Euros and they would put your room number on it and save it for the next night if you didn't finish it.

The desk staff was so helpful in telling us about available tours and even made the arrangements for us by calling the various tour companies. We got picked up within a block of the hotel by the tour buses. This hotel location is centrally located for seeing all parts of the Amalfi Coast with tours to Naples, Mt Vesuvius, Pompei, Ercolano/Herculaneum, Capri, Sorrento, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. They even offered an all day tour to Rome that left early in the morning and returned about 10:30 PM.

From the hotel it was a short walk to the beach with all its sidewalk cafes, and pretty much a park setting with fountains, trees and benches. The townspeople hung out there every evening with their families and dogs.

Charming is the best one word description I have of this hotel, this town, and the atmosphere. We would not hesitate to stay here again, and definitely plan on returning.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    137
    41
    23
    23
See reviews for
73
160
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

I spent six nights at the Villa Romana and found absolutely no faults. A beautifully maintained hotel with very friendly staff. And although not all were at ease with the English language (I would have been upset if they were!), I had no difficulties in communicating with any of the staff members.
The hotel is pefectly situated as a central point from which to explore this fantastically scenic caostline.
Not an ideal destination for children, though!! A perfect location and hotel for an adult getaway.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

We have stayed in Italian 4* hotels in Sardinia, Florence and Venice and know what to expect. We were terribly disappointed with the Villa Romana. Yes, the staff were friendly and helpful, but that does not make up for all the faults, eg. Air Conditioning going off in the daytime (tough if you want a rest in your room in the afternoon with outside temperatures of 35 -40C) a safe which was merely an MDF door with a lock in the top shelf of the wardrobe (I could have opened it with a penknife) light bulbs not working in the bathroom, a mish-mash of wire and plastic hangers in the wardrobe, a delightful view of the laundry and dead flowers from our balcony, food that was a disgrace, particularly having regard to the fact that the hotel holds "Gourmet" events - apparently the same chef!
When we knew we were going to this hotel with First Choice, I phoned the hotel to try and make sure we had a good room. When we arrived, we had a small room overlooking the pool, with light bulbs not working, hangers as already described. The hotel moved us to a much larger and better room the next day, so no problems with that. There were no shampoos etc in the bathroom, as one can reasonably expect in a 4* hotel. When we mentioned this, a selection arrived. Why were they not in either room to begin with? Was the hotel trying to save money? Strange.
The pool area was small and merely adequate - useless if a reasonable number of guests wanted to use it.
Every evening there were two old ladies dressed in black, always sitting in the same seats in the lounge area. Obviously they were members of the owner's family, but nevertheless, they made the hotel appear to be a branch of the Adams Family! Except that around 9-9:30pm young kids appeared, running around, shouting and playing with the two old women (one assumes their grandmothers). None of this would be a problem in a small, family-run 3* hotel, but this is classed as 4*, even with its name and **** on the hotel's outside wall.
Not good enough First Choice - you need to sent inspectors on a regular basis to monitor standards.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

This was our hotel for a tour of the Amalfi Coast. Although we arrived late on a Friday night a meal was provided for us in our room. The hotel is situated a couple of minutes walk from the beach on a side road. We had a room to the rear of the hotel with a balcony overlooking the swimming pool which was excellent and very clean. Only problem was the shower unit which could have been bigger.

The hotel was ideally located for access to the beach / shops / buses etc. There are a number of restaurants in Minori but as the town isn't big all we're within easy walking distance of the hotel.

You can either use the local buses to visit other towns in the area or travel by boat to them or Capri etc. You can even hire a scooter if you feel confident enough on the narrow roads.

We found all the staff at the hotel friendly and helpful and would recommend the hotel to anyone planning to travel to the Amalfi Coast.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minori, amalfi, italy
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

Last minute get away with my son of nearly five? He loved it!! Italians love children and typically when he wanted attention they do not mind! Often by the pool in the mornings never crowded even though a small area. Loved the fact it was nothing grand and it was usually full of italians staying there. Beach a five minute walk! Loads to do and explore!!
Loved the fact no one was fluent in italian at the hotel - you had to make an affort! You were on holiday!! If one was desperate to speak english and we had booked First Choice we always had our rep who was lovely!! The only big disappoinment was the food often bland took for granted staying in a three/four star hotel in italy that the food would be impeccable!! If I ever stayed there again would be bed and breakfast! The hotel was usually very friendly and as I had a friendly little one who was always saying smiling and willing to chat to EVERYONE!!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

While I know vicg29 is entitled to his/her opinion, their review and 1 star is completely misleading for this hotel.

Like this reviewer we arrived late in the evening and the gentleman behind reception did not speak fluent English......which is kind of fair enough given that he is Italian and works in an Italian hotel?!?! Surely us brits are not arrogant enough to expect every person we come across outside the UK to speak English for us because we cant be bothered to learn other languages!? So to mark this as a bad point is pretty unfair. He sorted us out without too many issues and helped us out with a couple of problems we had after a few games of charades and pointing into a phrase book!!

The lift....yes its small...but its a lift - we were on the 4th floor, much rather squeeze in the perfectly working lift up 4 floors than walk? Again another random thing for a few people to leave negative comments about but in the entire week we were there it was totally fine!!

Bad reviews also mentioned the air-con going off - but when we were there it stayed on all night. Sometimes switched off during the day but was never really an issue.

Rooms - ok not swish UK 4 star but very very clean. Old bedspreads could do with changing but always fresh white sheets underneath.

We didnt have a problem at all with noise, and we have a 3yrd old daughter so we were in our rooms pretty early some nights and never noticed any problems.

Food - Some food was really good, some just ok - but never bad. Unlike a lot of half board hotels, the evening meal was a sit down affair with waiter/waitress service. You had a menu with 2/3 options per course (4 courses!) so there was always something to suit. We never had any problems with dodgy tummies either. Staff were lovely and service was great, and although majority of staff did speak english, Learning a few italian words always seemed to please them.

Pool and pool area was lovely sunbeds very comfy and always plenty of clean beach towels available to use.

All in all it was a lovely hotel. If your looking for a swish modern hotel on the Amalfi coast this isnt for you - and if that is what you want you need to atleast triple what you had planned to spend here. The amalfi coast is not cheap, but this little hotel is a good price and cant think of any reason to put you off going here, and my husband and I are well travelled and pretty picky about where we stay.

One word of warning taxis are extremely expensive in this area...and i'd recommend little ferries for exploring - the bendy roads can make you pretty ill!!

Dont be put off by the whiners not wanting to pay for 5 star but moaning when the 4 star doesnt offer thier usual luxury touches - this hotel is fine.

Hope this helps!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

I stayed at this Hotel as part of a Cosmos Tourama Holiday on the Amalfi Coast. Before going i had looked up the hotel on tripadvisor and became concerned due to some of the negative reviews/comments, but myself and my mum decided that it is only meant to be a base and would come to our own conclusions and we were so pleasantly surprised.

On arrival at the hotel we were delighted, the hotel is italian and traditional and is extremely clean. The check in was quick and easy. I do admit the lift is small but we fitted us both and our luggage in without problem and it always worked without problem. From an earlier review i noticed someone said it always said 'Occupato', but actually if it lights up with this it normally means it is coming for you. We had no bother with the lift and we stayed during one of the busiest weeks of the year and the hotel was full thourghout our stay.
Our room was so much bigger than expected, and we were so pleased to find air conditioning (which was free of charge and was on all night but did stop beteween 8am and 2pm, it would also turn off if patio doors were open) The room was lovely and cool because of this and at the times it was off most people are out anyway. We were in a room that was road facing, if you sat on the balcony it could be noisy but inside the room we couldn't hear a thing, and slept wonderfully. To be honest it was the hum of the air con in the room that was all you could hear at night. Our room was large but i did speak to another guest and her room did not sound as spacious, her room was facing the pool side of the hotel but she did say it was big enough for what they needed.

We were half board at the Hotel and my god the service was truly fantastic, the staff were lovely and friendly and would do anything for you. Breakfast was the usual continental food (with lost of pastries) but if you wanted something specific and cooked like an omlette or fried eggs they would do it for you. Dinner was a 4 course meal with a set menu, you would get 3 options for each course and again they would adapt the dishes to suit your needs. They would start with a salad dish, then a pasta dish or soup, then the main which would be a meat, fish or something with cheese and then of course dessert. The only downside at evening meals was that drinks were not included, we enjoyed the food but if your were fussy and preferred plain chicken and chips it might not be the menu for you.

The swimming pool was fab and well needed on the hot days to cool off. As said earlier the hotel was full but we never had problem getting a sun bed by the pool. There was also a higher terrace accessed by the pool which was nice for some privacy and also up the stairs after level 4 is an excellent roof terrace that overlooked the town and gave views of Ravello in the hills. This terrace had sunbeds, chairs and parasols and was a hidden gem as i never saw anyone else up there and it was quite peaceful. We also loved sitting up there at night to watch the world go by. My only dissapointment with the hotel was that they did not make better use of these terraces, as the roof did once have outside showers and splash pool to cool off but it was not in use during our stay.

Minori is a small town on the amalfi coast with a handful of shops bars and restaurants. The seafront is well kempt and makes for a nice evening stroll and the beach was also ok. There were boats that took you to other towns from the seafront and the buses were quite simple to use and were regular enough although could get crowded, luckily they had air con. We were extremely pleased we stayed in minori as we felt it still had charm and a proper italian feel, we walked to Maiori (the next town) which is slightly bigger but did not feel it had anymore to offer and was more modern.

Overall we had a magnificent time and i would most definately like to return to Minori and the Villa Romana hotel in the future. The Cosmos tour was well worth it and we got to see all of the Amalfi coast. I would recomend to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Romana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Romana Hotel

Address: Corso Vittorio Emanuele 90, 84010 Minori, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Minori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Minori
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Romana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Romana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Romana
Villa Romana Hotel Minori, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Romana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.